We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Covent Garden Hotel

Save Saved
You added Covent Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Covent Garden Hotel
10 Monmouth Street, London WC2H 9HB, England (Camden / Primrose Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 1,071 hotels in London
Stockholm
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“A gem of a hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Had a 3-night stay at this hotel, fantastic staff, wonderful rooms and perfect location within walking distance of Soho and many great restaurants and shops. Being charged £20 a day for the Internet in such a pricey hotel is always a downer but not much else to complain about. Wonderful staff as well. Super comfy beds.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    416
    67
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
73
184
34
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Only dropped in for lunch on Sunday and can't wait to find an excuse to stay, staff were ever so helpful even with 5 children they satisfied each one, food was perfect. Only problem was no where to change a nappy however this didn't detract from the fabulous experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

I stayed only part of my trip in this hotel as I joined my husband at his hotel for his business trip. I was amazed how his hotel was only $75 USD cheaper but was so underwhelming. This hotel is not inexpensive but it is a great value compared to other London hotels in central locations.

There is no where else I want to stay my next trip. They really notice the details. The staff are very respectful and attentive. The restaurant in the hotel is really lovely. The guest lounge put things over the top for me.

The location is also wonderful.

Loved it! I would take it over a Four Seasons any day!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I won't write a long review - stayed 4 nights in a suite as it was a special birthday plus 3 more rooms for family and had a family & friends lunch in the private Blue Room - absolutely wonderful stay - ranks alongside and above the best hotels we have stayed in around the world - excellent, professional and happy staff who go out of their way to please from check in to check out - yes it is a bit pricey but you get more than you pay for - lovely room, super decor especially in the calm residents only first floor lounge and library, plus the Chef is top notch - and the surrounding area is lively, safe and clean.

Room Tip: Suites are pricey but massive and worth the extra - Superior rooms are also large and good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed at the Covent Garden Hotel for 2 nights. We had a deluxe room which was very comfortable and spacious. It was quiet (street noise was not a problem) and had good lighting. The hotel is just a few minutes walk to Covent Garden, China Town, really everything in the West End. The hotel also has a good gym.

However, we discovered that the hotel does not have non-smoking rooms. The first room that we were given smelled so bad that we were going to change hotels but the staff found us a room that did not smell of smoke so we remained and enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: They do not have any designated non-smoking rooms so be careful when choosing a room if you are both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

we stayed in 305 on a rainy sunday evening. the room was huge as was the bed. bathroom absolutely sybaritic. dinner downstairs: delightful service with a view of cobbled street straight out of my fair lady. too short, should have stayed a week and explored the area as well as enjoying the lovely library.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherton, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

If you like to go to the London theater in the West End, the location of the Covent Garden Hotel is nearly perfect. On this three night trip we went to the theater each night and were able to walk to all three shows from the hotel. We like the location in the heart of London, and like the pleasant rooms and quiet service. The beautiful library on the first floor is a plus, as is the adjoining honor bar. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Covent Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Covent Garden Hotel

Also Known As:
Covent Garden London
Hotel Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel London
Covent Garden Hotel London, England
Address: 10 Monmouth Street, London WC2H 9HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill , Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in London
#19 Family Hotel in London
#42 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Covent Garden Hotel opened in April 1996 but the building dates back to the 1890’s when it operated as a French hospital. It is located in Monmouth Street, a charming cobbled street in the heart of the theatre district and surrounded by interesting boutiques, restaurants, cafes and bars. Covent Garden Hotel is "a quirky modern take on traditional English style." The hotel's interior has been dramatically designed by owner and design director Kit Kemp, and reflects her personal attention to detail. The ground floor is just like a stage set. A quietly bustling lobby leads into Brasserie Max, the hotel’s bar and restaurant. Up a sweeping stone staircase and into a sumptuous wood paneled drawing room and library, each with a log burning fireplace, quirky furniture and vivid upholstery. Downstairs there is a gym, private event space and a screening room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Covent Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Covent Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.