We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located and comfortable but beware if you don't smoke” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Covent Garden Hotel

Save Saved
You added Covent Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Covent Garden Hotel
10 Monmouth Street, London WC2H 9HB, England (Camden / Primrose Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 1,075 hotels in London
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Well located and comfortable but beware if you don't smoke”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed at the Covent Garden Hotel for 2 nights. We had a deluxe room which was very comfortable and spacious. It was quiet (street noise was not a problem) and had good lighting. The hotel is just a few minutes walk to Covent Garden, China Town, really everything in the West End. The hotel also has a good gym.

However, we discovered that the hotel does not have non-smoking rooms. The first room that we were given smelled so bad that we were going to change hotels but the staff found us a room that did not smell of smoke so we remained and enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: They do not have any designated non-smoking rooms so be careful when choosing a room if you are both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    448
    71
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
76
195
36
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

we stayed in 305 on a rainy sunday evening. the room was huge as was the bed. bathroom absolutely sybaritic. dinner downstairs: delightful service with a view of cobbled street straight out of my fair lady. too short, should have stayed a week and explored the area as well as enjoying the lovely library.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherton, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

If you like to go to the London theater in the West End, the location of the Covent Garden Hotel is nearly perfect. On this three night trip we went to the theater each night and were able to walk to all three shows from the hotel. We like the location in the heart of London, and like the pleasant rooms and quiet service. The beautiful library on the first floor is a plus, as is the adjoining honor bar. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights on a short business trip to London. A hotel that has everything one would expect at this price point. When you are paying 900 euro a night for a suite before extra's, service, atmorphere and surroundings didnt disappoint. I can't say much for the food, there are better places in the area to eat. Hawksmoor steakhouse is literally 2 minutes walk out the front door. Best steak in London. It is mainly rich business men and aging rock stars staying here. The staff were discrete, polite and well trained.

Room Tip: The rooms are far more spacious than they look in the photo's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I don't say this lightly, but the Covent Garden Hotel is one of my very favorites, in London, in Europe, anywhere. I'm going to tell you why, then I'll weigh some potential downsides, but those are determined by what you're looking for. Sure, this hotel has a great location. It's down a relatively quiet street across from a phenomenal little French restaurant Mon Plaisir which has been around since the Norman Conquest (joke) and uses an actual rooster in their coq au vin.

The British Museum is within easy walking distance, booksellers, Covent Garden, theatre, shopping...there's a lot that's in arm's reach. But even if it wasn't you'd have no trouble finding it. The concierge service at this hotel is the best. They are resourceful, incredibly responsible, attentive, kind and that is the tone of the establishment in general--but in a concierge it is invaluable. Tickets for a sold-out show? Reservations at an impossible restaurant? No problem.

Also, room service is impeccable, the offerings both of tea, the brasserie, cocktails...they are reliably excellent as is the stellar breakfast (I hate juices but who can turn down a raspberry lychee smoothie?). The staff is attentive without being burdensome.

In terms of setting, the rooms are beautiful. Not 'huge', but this isn't a Mariott in Des Moines (though there's nothing wrong with either, but it's just an entirely different setting with different space available). No, the rooms are charming, "well-appointed" as one says. The furnishings for each room take up a slightly different theme. Some are 19th century England, some a bit more modern. So take care on choosing a room that best suits your tastes. They are all excellent, but if you research them (or call and ask the front desk), you'll be even happier, I think. Also, the drawing room is an oasis. Lofty fireplaces, a library with tomes lining the walls, an "Honesty Bar" that is stocked with all sorts of things. This is a great place to socialize, relax if you've arrived too early for your room, take tea, have a cocktail or a nightcap.

I'm trying to think of downsides as I promised, but I haven't any, really. No maid has been a nuisance, no concierge failed me, no room was less than in top shape. Okay, I've had trouble getting a reliable recommendation for Indian food. There, I said it (though one concierge took heart and sent me to a place that was a 25 minute taxi ride away. A little out of the way, but it was the best Indian food I've ever had). Also, the brasserie downstairs gets very crowded, but that's only an issue if you need to have a meal at the hotel in the restaurant for some reason. And you can always get a reservation. There will always be a way of securing a place for yourself--you just might get acquainted with the elbows of others.

Many people in the entertainment business flock here --I've spotted J. Dench at tea--but that's not why I come, obviously. If you want excellent service, revitalizing rooms and a place to stay that is unparalleled for its balance of charm and sophistication, you'll want to come here. I love it and I know that affection is held by many on the subject of this graceful, delightful place.

Room Tip: Ask the front desk *in detail* about the available rooms. It is impossible to tell you of a 'be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nueva Andalucia, Spain
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Having had the good fortune to have visited this very special hotel on a previous occasion, thinking of somewhere to stay in London on a rare 'escape' from the kids was an easy decision. The warmth of welcome, understated yet immaculate service, fabulous interior (and exterior) design combined with first class restaurant and bar and sumptuous bedrooms all adds up to an experience beyond compare in London in our experience. If life is kind we'll be back. If not, then the memories will endure.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed for 6 nights from the 5th October through to the 11th. This was our 3rd visit in 3 years and we were very excited about staying here again. It's a lovely feeling walking through the doors of this stunning hotel and we were warmly welcomed back and up into our beautifully decorated Deluxe room within minutes.
Our room was so comfortable and relaxing and after a very long flight from Australia it was heaven. The beds are unreal!

The Brasserie Max is a great place to eat and has a great atmosphere. The breakfast's we had each morning were fantastic and the service was always top notch. A very big thank you to Lena for looking after us each morning, her service was great and her happy personality is fantastic! We also enjoyed a couple of lunches and a dinner and the food was excellent! The staff that looked after us were brilliant!
This hotel oozes comfort, style and class but it's the staff that make it feel so warm. The service here is excellent! The Reception staff are very friendly and helpful as are the Doormen who always greet you with a warm welcome when you step inside. The Housekeeping staff go above and beyond to keep your room comfortable and spotlessly clean.
The hotel is in a great location with the West End on your doorstep and wonderful shopping in the area as well.

Thank you Helle Jensen and Nicola and the wonderful team for helping to make The Covent Garden Hotel the best in the Universe!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Covent Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Covent Garden Hotel

Address: 10 Monmouth Street, London WC2H 9HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill , Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in London
#16 Romantic Hotel in London
#27 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Covent Garden Hotel opened in April 1996 but the building dates back to the 1890’s when it operated as a French hospital. It is located in Monmouth Street, a charming cobbled street in the heart of the theatre district and surrounded by interesting boutiques, restaurants, cafes and bars. Covent Garden Hotel is "a quirky modern take on traditional English style." The hotel's interior has been dramatically designed by owner and design director Kit Kemp, and reflects her personal attention to detail. The ground floor is just like a stage set. A quietly bustling lobby leads into Brasserie Max, the hotel’s bar and restaurant. Up a sweeping stone staircase and into a sumptuous wood paneled drawing room and library, each with a log burning fireplace, quirky furniture and vivid upholstery. Downstairs there is a gym, private event space and a screening room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Covent Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Covent Garden London
Hotel Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Covent Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.