We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't miss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Portrait Gallery

National Portrait Gallery
St. Martin's Place, London WC2H 0HE, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )
020 7306 0055
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 853 Attractions in London
Type: Art Museums, Museums
Activities: Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This world-famous museum houses portraits of noted Britons from the Tudors to the present day.
Israel
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“don't miss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I am so glad someone recommended this musem as I loved going through it and looking at all of the art work and potraits.
Don't miss!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    952
    407
    92
    10
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

What a beautiful place to go to. I'm not a great fan of gallery's but this one was lovely. I did choose the parts I wanted to see so didn't stay to long. Other people taking photos (right in front of the No Photography sign) did spoil it a little but an attendant did speak to them quickly (they thought because they were on a hen party it didn't apply to them!) a lovely place to visit all in all

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
92 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Often overlooked”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The permanent collection is free and features portraits of worthies from the present and past. Some will be familiar others less so. There is the new portrait of Kate M too. There are temporary exhibitions ; currently there are fabulous photos by Man Ray ( for which there is a fee) and an amazing collection of portraits of native American Indians ( free) which is a real eye - opener. The restaurant on the top floor is OK but it is far better to go opposite to the crypt of St Martins in the Fields for a coffee of try Terroir down the road that leads to Charing Cross. This is a good wine bar with food from the Languedoc. Alternatively try Champagne Charlies in the Arches at the back of Charing Cross, off Villiers Street.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Must see for Art lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This place is just behind the National Gallery. It has some really beautiful pieces, highly recommended is the guide of highlights that takes you back from the Tudor's up until recent times.
Andy Warhol's Joan Collins is a knock out. The gift shop is lovely and you can browse forever in the bookshop downstairs.
Until September 2013 you can see the first official portrait of the Duchess of Cambridge, the detail in the painting is beautiful, worth the visit.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
77 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“An excellent gallery: one of the greats.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

I visited this gallery with a friend in May 2013. I can't believe I'd never visited before!
The Tudor section is unbelievable; every painting which you immediately associate with the major players of that time (Elizabeth I, Anne Boleyn, Francis Drake etc.) is here for you to look at.
The Twentieth Century section is also stunning, with wonderful paintings of Churchill, the royal family (when the Queen was just a princess) and Wallis Simpson, to name but a few.
The contemporary paintings are interesting, with the paintings of Princes William and Harry, and the first official portrait of Kate Middleton (which I personally wasn't keen on) standing out in the collection.
This gallery is a must when in London.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Portrait Gallery also viewed

 

Been to National Portrait Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Portrait Gallery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.