We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kensington Wine Rooms

The Kensington Wine Rooms
127 - 129 Kensington Church Street, London W8 7LP, England (Chelsea)
+44 20 7727 8142
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Kensington Wine Rooms is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,995 of 18,003 Restaurants in London
Price range: $16 - $62
Cuisines: European, Bistro, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Stavanger, Rogaland, Norway
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We booked this restaurant after we walked past in on the way to portobello road, because it looked nice and menu interested us.

Food and wine it didn't disappoint us at all, great food and wine.

Staff was okay and friendly, but didn't seem to know to much about wine. And they should get some other glasses, so not all wine go in the same ones.

Interior and atmosphere was fantastic

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    38
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Decent food, reasonably priced, the rare steaks were rare, helpful staff, well worth a visit; a tad noisy, but I suppose that equates to a cheerful atmosphere, and happy diners/drinkers

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very, very impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

A very small place but well worth a visit. I hadn't even realised that there was a restaurant at the back and had only previously been to the front wine bar. I loved the fact that you can have a glass of a suggested wine to go with each course, fitting in with the fact that the place does a lot of wine tastings as well as being a wine bar and restaurant. This is what we did and it added a really interesting element to the meal. What was most impressive though was the quality of the food, which really was a revelation. I simply wasn't expecting such wonderful food, so beautifully presented. The service is really friendly and attentive as well and the room, though small, is comfortable and chic. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A must if you enjoy wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

From the moment you walk in you get the feeling that this is a great place with a casual and social atmosphere. All the staff were helpful and very knowledgeable about the wines on offer. We had some great help and advice from Oliver, who helped explain the extensive wines on offer whilst also introducing us to some of the other wines that were available to buy.

For something quite different to other establishments, the concept is straight forward and easy to get used to: loading money onto a card (performed by the staff), which you can then spend at your leisure at any Enomatic wine dispensing machine, offering a vast selection of wines from all over the world. You have the option to either sample the wine first, and then have a medium or large glass (all at varying costs)

The food was also very good, a nice selection is available ranging from a Tapas menu or something more substantial if needed. The Cote de boeuf really was exceptional and should be considered when thinking about a dish to share.

Overall a really great place, and one I plan to revisit more than once throughout the festive season!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Unique Wine Tasting Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Let's just start by saying that this isn't a cheap experience. You can taste some very expensive wines with moderate outlay, but the range is excellent. I visited this venue with a friend who is also a wine-lover and we both had a most enjoyable evening. The concept is that you purchase a card and load this with the amount you wish to spend, and then select wines from a variety of bottles that are held in what can only be described as the world's best vending machine. You can choose from a small or large glass, or simply a taste and the price is displayed based on the price of the wine. Prices ranged from £1 up to £5.50 for tasters but the fact that you can choose small tasters of some very expensive wine allows you to experience these wines without the risk of investing huge sums. Needless to say, we enjoyed this part of the experience very much.
We also decided to have a meal and chose the most expensive item on the menu, Côte de boeuf, sautéed tats and green beans for two to share. This was probably the best steak we had ever had, cooked to perfection. The people working in the restaurant were able to recommend wines based on our tastings, and were even able to suggest wines to compliment our lovely steak. Being able to have a small taster of certain wines allowed us to experiment until we found our own preference, at which point we bought a full glass.
The staff were exceptionally friendly, and we even spent a great portion of our time here talking to the manager who was more than happy to talk fine wine and gourmet food.
We had only planned to have a meal and maybe a couple of glasses before returning home, but instead we ended up spending the entire evening having a thoroughly enjoyable time.
As I mentioned, it's not a cheap night out, but you can spend a lot less than we did. Saying that, being able to indulge once every so often is one of lifes great pleasures. I can say without hesitation that I will be back to sample some more excellent wine and food from this fantastic venue.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kensington Wine Rooms also viewed

 

Been to The Kensington Wine Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kensington Wine Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.