We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here. That's all i need to say.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hide London

Save Saved
You added The Hide London to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hide London
230 Hendon Way, London NW4 3NE, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 1,054 Hotels in London
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Stay here. That's all i need to say.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Wow, upon arrival all the way through the stay it has been amazing. First of all location, it is literally a 5 minute walk from Hendon Central, just leave the station and turn left and you'll find it. Really easy to get to- just don't trust google or apple maps as it puts you on the wrong side of the road next to the pub and you end up in the residential area looking lost.

We were greeted by the lovely man on the desk who was amazing in the fact that as they'd changed the hotel rates (to lower than what i agreed to pay) he'd knock the difference off my bill...what a start! But then, more surprise, along with the usual hotel bits of breakfast times etc...he took my bag and walked us to our room.

Everything is clean, crisp, modern and with purpose. The bed is the comfiest bed, and the shower, both powerful and hot.
You don't need to take any toiletries! All supplied by l'occitaine (sp?) there was shower gel, shampoo, toothbrush kit, shaving kit, nail kit, slippers, shower cap etc etc. All incredibly well thought out for business travellers perhaps... either way i got excited. The only 'drawback' (only for some) is that the only brightly lit mirror is in the bathroom, and to dry your hair you need to sit on the floor by the wardrobe (as the dryer is connected in there). Not a problem for me, but maybe for those who prefer a dressing table. But there is a seat and small table provided next to it, near plug sockets too should you so wish to move over there.

Free wifi, yay, fully air conditioned (not necessary as its january, but great in the summer i bet)..but one of my favourites..blackout blinds, and of course plug sockets by the bed (awesome when mobile phone is also your alarm)

Greeted with a plate of guilian chocolates and complimentary drinks in the fridge (that were replaced free of charge the next day). Everything was a delight.

Breakfast was impressive. There is a vast variety of choice, from fresh fruit, cereal, pastries to the more eclectic varieties of cheese and meats for the more european palette.

The staff were exceedingly helpful, and the little touches (such as the tea being fortnum and mason) made you feel like you were staying in pure luxury for a bargain and only 20 mins tops to the centre.

Will definately be returning, and will recommend it to you all

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    147
    26
    4
    4
See reviews for
46
386
34
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Okay a nice little bijou hotel but honestly what is it with everyone? I have spent time in hundreds of hotels due to my work and personal trips but cannot understand why this is so high up in the London ratings. It is right on the outskirts of London, and for the right customer who wants free parking for the day and then spends 30 minutes taking the tube into zone 1, it is fine. But I can stay at a central zone 1 hotel, with the convenience of walking to my hotel and paying the difference for a car park space and congestion charge. I just do not want to commute at the end of a nice evening or day of shopping/trips all the way back out to Hendon Central station!
The clerks are all friendly and nice but there is NO ROOM service, I mean come on the number of rooms is minimal and I can only think the overheads are being kept to a minimum for kitchen staff. Not impresesed and a really good bit of marketing but not for me!

Room Tip: The hotel faces a major London A-road that filters onto the North Circular and M1, so all fron facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marche, italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

we've been there for a couple of days just after New Year Day 2013. it's really hidden among houses so it was a bit difficult to find it even with the sat-nav. Anyway inside it's a REAL LUXURY, refined taste, quality toiletries (Occitaine), excellent chocolates, tea-bags, biscuits, hot chocolate, modern neat clean furniture, samsung TV set, a huge powerful shower head, facial tissues coming out from an elegant silver cube, plenty of wall sockets for mobiles, laptops etc.
We didn't even realise that the room was small (basic double room,190 £ for 2 nights), because it was cosy, warm and stilish enough just to forget there was no room for 2 big luggage.
Staff is very welcoming, helpful and smiling.
A big bonus the car park just in front.
Breakfast is from 7.30 to 10.30.
The day you leave the hotel, you can stay till midday, which is really unusual. A big, big bonus too.
Of coursse it's not a hotel to stay at, but a hotel to visit London. In fact the station is only 2 minutes walk from the hotel, about half and hour from Oxford Street by train.

So if you have to stay in north london, go for it!!
Carmen

Room Tip: we stayed in a BASIC DOUBLE ROOM ground floor. Small but with all luxury comforts. Not a single nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This hotel is named well, it is an absolute "hidden" gem. The staff is like no other. We found this hotel out of the blue because it is in the Golder Green area. We arrived 12 of us from all over the USA and Israel, for a very sad occasion. The staff enveloped us like we were there family and understood our grief.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I recommend this hotel to anyone visiting London. It's a bit far from the centre of London but a very short walk from the tube station and offers a relaxing get away at the end of a busy day. The room was clean with great decor. The photos on their website represent the Hide well. The concierge was alway friendly and helpful and I particularly enjoyed their breakfast. We left the Hide feeling more pampered and refreshed than any other place on our three week journey.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I have been fortunate enough to spend two short breaks in as many months, at this excellent Hotel.
The overriding factor which makes "The Hide" so special is its Staff who work tirelessly to ensure you stay is memorable, I’m not talking of anything out of the ordinary but just things other Hotels seem to have lost to their detriment, things like the Nothing is too much trouble reception staff (printing off e-mails, providing a Jug of Milk for a late night Coffee, and ensuring an item we left in reception was placed in the room for our return), and all of this is done in such a way as you the customer believe they care, service which is sadly disappearing from these shores?
The Hotel itself is Modern and extremely well presented, with the communal areas such as the Breakfast/Lounge area to the Public Toilet all being of the highest standard and immaculately clean, it makes such a refreshing change to see such attention to detail.
The rooms are spacious and once again immaculate in their attention to detail and cleanliness, from the Courtesy Mini Bar (Soft Drinks and Water), the Fresh Orchids, the welcome platter of Chocolates, the Bathrobes and Slippers and L’Ocitane Toiletries, The Hide certainly doesn’t hold any punches when delivering value for money.
Breakfast, The Hide doesn’t over Gilt the Lilly, but what they do is provide a very high standard Continental Breakfast to rival any other establishment and put so many of their competition to shame.
I cannot over praise this Hotel, but I did forgot to mention, (and some reviewers have criticised, do your homework!) is the fact The Hide is on the outskirts of town, but an easy Tube trip puts you in the centre of the City in 20 minutes and given the Hotel is 2 minutes from the Tube this is no great shake, and of course it has the added benefit of FREE onsite parking and an excellent 5 minute link from the Motorway (really it has it all).
So for a trouble free, value for money Hotel within a stone’s throw of the City, The Hide ticks all the boxes.

Room Tip: For a Quieter Nights Sleep ask for a room at the rear of the Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The Hide London is a really nice little hotel, comfortable and clean with friendly staff who were always helpful.

My husband and I stayed here for four days in September. It was our first time visiting London and I was a bit worried about staying out of the way. However, we didn’t have any problems navigating the tube system. We spent morning to night in central London exploring and then retired back to the suburbs.

There isn’t a lot around the hotel, but because it is a short walk from the tube station it's very easy to get wherever you need to go. There’s also a pub across the street that we ate at the night we first arrived.

If you want to stay in the thick of the action this isn’t for you, but it was perfect for us. Breakfast (which had a good variety and was filling) was included in the reasonable price and the hotel was much nicer than anything else in our price range.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hide London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hide London

Address: 230 Hendon Way, London NW4 3NE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in London
#47 Romantic Hotel in London
#85 Family Hotel in London
#86 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Hide London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hide London Hotel London
The Hide London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hide London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.