We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel about 20 min from king cross by tube” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hide London

Save Saved
You added The Hide London to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hide London
230 Hendon Way, London NW4 3NE, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 1,073 hotels in London
Yorkshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great value hotel about 20 min from king cross by tube”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Very good quality hotel. Modern, clean rooms, v good continental breakfast and great value. Only 20 minutes from kings cross by tube and a very short walk from tube station to the hotel. Only downside is lack of choice nearby for evening meal.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    426
    142
    25
    4
    4
See reviews for
43
374
34
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We arrived at the hotel about 11.30am and realised our room wouldn't be ready as check out wasn't til 12pm. That was fine though, the gentleman at reception checked us in, offered us fruit and water and introduced us to the hotel and parking arrangements.
We then headed to the local tube station, only a two minute walk away - however over the weekend the tube was closed due to works on the line. However, there was a free replacement bus that took us to Finchley Road (the gentleman at the hotel reception explained how it would work and where to catch the bus from).
The stay at the hotel was fantastic, the room had lovely decor, a very comfy bed, a very powerful shower, very clean. Free chocolates on arrival, free water and cans of coke/7up in the fridge, and tea and coffee making facilities (oh and biscuits).
The hotel is on a busy main road, but they must have triple glazing as it is so quiet in the hotel.
The breakfast was lovely, coffee (inc latte, cappuccino), tea, fruit, fruit salad, yoghurts, cereal, danishes, bread, cheese, ham, pate etc etc.
The staff were polite and always said good morning/evening.
Would recommend and stay again!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 22 at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

For the £100 we paid we felt we got every penny's worth. Warm welcome on reception, easy check in, room and decor all over is lovely and to a high standard, and the breakfast was a good choice and staff were attentive. The nice touches were the truffles upon arrival, the toiletries and complimentary drinks were that of a 5* hotel for at least £175. The hotel was very helpful when having to catch a replacement bus because the tubes were out. We stayed in room 14 and it was lovely and quiet. Free parking and wifi which was hassle free and easy.

Room Tip: Room 14 was good and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This review is going to be short and sweet. For the £100 that I paid, I felt like I got my money's worth and then some. The decor is beautiful, the complimentary items are more reminiscent of a £150/175 hotel, the continental breakfast was delicious and plentiful. We slept beautifully.

The only catch was that we were in room 2. It was very close to the reception and we could frequently hear people moving in the hall and the staff moving around. Not because they were loud but because we were so close. As a couple on a break for our anniversary we were looking for... intimacy, so this was a little off putting at times. We got there in the end, but for a moment it did look like it would rather ruin the mood. The only other downside was the the fact that we had to catch a 35 minute bus ride to get to the hotel, but that was my fault for not checking the tube tables to look for scheduled maintenance.

All in all though, a great stay and an amazing hotel, especially for the money.

Room Tip: Try and get one that's upstairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We wanted a hotel which was good value, easy to access and exit via the motorway and not too far from central London and with (preferably free) parking.
We were not disappointed. We are a well traveled couple who have high expectations for service and cleanliness, The Hide excelled on both accounts.
Upon arriving, we headed straight to the Tube, which is approx 2 minutes walk - to our complete disappointment, the Northern line was undergoing essential works, which ,meant we had to catch the buses to the nearest tube which added approx 45 mins to our journey - it was a real headache and taught us a lesson to check next time.
When we got back to the hotel after a tough day shopping! - we were helped to our room with our cases - the room was fantastic - extra clean, nicely appointed, super comfy bed and a wonderful shower. What made this hotel extra special was the little extras, the complimentary l'occitane toiletries, the complimentary drinks, the fantastic free tea and coffee and the super indulgent hand made chocolates - such a lovely touch.
The staff we so helpful, nothing was too much trouble, sadly i did not get the member of staffs name that helped us so much when we forgot to print a voucher we were going to use, but Thank you! - so helpful.
Lastly - the breakfast was probably one of the best breakfast buffets i have enjoyed at this type of hotel and it was all included in the price.
As you can probably tell, we loved this hotel, so much so, we booked it again as we were heading home in the car.
One last thing, i had read on previous reviews, some people thought this hotel was too far out of Central London - i don't understand this, once you are on the tube, you are in Camden in 5 minutes which is Zone 2 - so don't let this put you off.
Don't hesitate to book - many hotels we have visited could learn a lot from this place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide Australia
Top Contributor
1,101 reviews 1,101 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 188 cities Reviews in 188 cities
861 helpful votes 861 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The Hide London is a boutique hotel located in Hendon. Hence, if you want to go anywhere in Central London, you need to work out how to get there. The hotel is about a 5 minute walk from the Underground station.

It's a modern hotel, with attractive furnishings. It's clean and comfortable, and with several luxury touches, such as L'Occitaine toiletries.

They have a bar/ guest lounge, where they serve a complimentary continental breakfast.

The staff are pleasant and hospitable.

Within the vicinity, there are several modestly priced restaurants. The hotel does not serve dinner.

It's a nice place to stay.

The only reservation I had is that the room I stayed in was quite small, and with a very small bathroom. Hence, it's an unusual hotel: the decor, furnishings and service is of a high standard- personal and much like a B&B- but the size of the room is akin to a budget hotel/motel.

However, I must stress the standards of cleanliness and housekeeping are high!

You need to take into account the size of the rooms and the location of the hotel before you decide to stay here. If these are not a deal breaker, then I suspect you'll enjoy the positive aspects of the hotel. Certainly, it's a good option in its immediate area.

Room Tip: Consider the small size of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerusalem
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I did write e review on the hide on 14\12\2011 so i am not about to write again all the great things about the hotel(location\room size\friendly staff).
I returned to the Hide again with my wife for 3 nights on November 20212 and was amazed to find that the place is so well kept-the room and the bathroom spotless clean,the tea tray in the room and the refrigrator are loaded with plenty of good staff.Above all i would like to mention the great service you get (from the manager down to the last night clerk) they managed to give us the same room we stayed in last time, every thing you ask for is answerd immeditely with a smile and nothing is to hard (on our last day we had to leave the hotel at 07:15 neverthe less they insistead that we will have brekfast before although breakfast is seved from 07:30). I was also pleased to find that they got free entery for the hotel gusts to the Virgin gym that is 1 minute walk form the hotel.
I can just say that for me the Hide is THE PLACE to stay in London.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hide London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hide London

Address: 230 Hendon Way, London NW4 3NE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in London
#45 Romantic Hotel in London
#81 Family Hotel in London
#83 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Hide London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hide London Hotel London
The Hide London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hide London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.