We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thorough Tour of London” 5 of 5 stars
Review of British Tours - Day Tours from London

British Tours - Day Tours from London
615 Linen Hall, London W1B 5TE, England (Soho)
+ 44 (0) 207 038 0688
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 472 Tours & Activities in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: British Tours Ltd. is Britain's longest-established personal tour operator established in 1958. If you are looking for personally guided day tours in and around London, extended tours of England, Scotland & Wales, and excellent tour guides, you have come to the right place.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Thorough Tour of London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Our guide, Anthony, was very knowledgeable about English history which enabled him to navigate us efficiently through Westminster Abbey and the Tower of London. He knew just where to stand for a good view of the changing of the guards at Buckingham Palace. He was very accommodating, polite, and safely drove us around the various areas of London - something neither a taxi or any group tour can provide.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    8
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brennan Family Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We loved British Tours. They're Guide were A+++. They were always on time and took wonderful care of us. We always felt safe and secure. We will for sure use them again.

The Brennan's

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We took the long Windsor/Stonehenge/Oxford tour with Richard this month and could not have been more pleased. He was a gracious, knowledgeable, and entertaining host for the day. I booked online based exclusively onTrip Advisor reviews after researching a few tour companies. We wanted a private tour because we had our 80 yr old mother on the trip and felt a group tour would be too hard for her, plus she is well-traveled and hoped to give her a different experience. Richard had a nice roomy vehicle (we did the deluxe 4 person tour) with water bottles for us. We took two tours, the previous day with Jeremy on a London sightseeing tour. Both were outstanding, although Jeremy's tour was probably a little more "academic". British Tours confirmed my bookings via email the next business day, but it went to my spam so I called them to make sure everything was okay. After getting confirmation email a month or so in advance with our hotel and pick-up time, I had no further contact with British Tours and none was needed. We were waiting in the hotel lobby and our guides were both there promptly at 9:00 a.m. to pick us up and found us without any problem. Will definitely use them if the opportunity presents itself. FYI, our mother had recently injured her hip and was using a cane/wheelchair for assistance and both Richard and Jeremy did a great job of skirting around the crowds to access elevators, back entrances, etc. to accommodate her slight handicap.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assonet, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very pleased”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We were very pleased with British Tours. Aline was excellent with email communication and suggestions. She kindly made reservations for us at a highly recommended Pub. Aline suggested we hire a "deluxe" vehicle (3 adults) A few dollars more was well spent as this size vehicle compared to a mini-van..roomy and comfortable.
Our guide Rod was wonderful. Very knowledgeable and friendly. Rod was our guide for 2 days. Day one was spent on the Althrop tour. As a "Diana" fan this was a dream come true. So beautiful and peaceful. Tour tickets not included-I booked them myself. We had lunch at a 600 year old local Pub. Outstanding! Day two was a full day London Tour-driving and walking. We had certain sights we wanted to see and Rod made suggestions, as well. Great day! Time allowed for a nice Pub lunch, too.
I look forward to another holiday in London and will not hesitate to call on British Tours, again.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I knew my wife Diane was really quite keen to visit Windsor Castle and whilst surfing for a solution I came across a positive review on trip advisor so I booked the Windsor castle tour. Great value. Alistair our guide was a font of knowledge and from our point of viewed paced our time at Windsor perfectly. In point of fact when we return to England next year we are trying to figure out a way to avail ourselves of the tours services again

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed British Tours - Day Tours from London also viewed

 

Been to British Tours - Day Tours from London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage British Tours - Day Tours from London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.