We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for an overnight stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Number Sixteen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Number Sixteen to your Saves list
Number Sixteen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Sumner Place, London SW7 3EG, England (Knightsbridge / South Kensington)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #113 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Surrey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent for an overnight stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This was my first stay in a Firmdale hotel. I was staying overnight as I was going to a party in London, and just needed a bed really. It's a great place, every room is beautifully designed even the small ones. The Queen rooms are far from basic, lovely colour schemes, a fair sized wardrobe, compact marble style bathroom with great shower, and lots of character. The bed is very comfortable.

If you are looking for a single room in central London, I would say you couldn't go any better. The rooms are small, but you can use the living room, library and conservatory so you don't feel cramped.

The only downside was the lack of room at breakfast, when I went down there was a queue of people and I was put on a table next to the breakfast, which was fine but it did feel like people were standing over you when they were choosing theirs. I did go back with friends to the conservatory later though and it was far more pleasant.

The location is fabulous though. My new favourite place if I need a room in London, I just need to find another excuse!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, but if you would like a bath go for a bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    69
    25
    8
    2
See reviews for
42
77
40
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Everything about this hotel is terrific. The staff are especially nice - not phoney or judgemental - genuinely charming and quite youthful. We stayed here twice this autumn and both rooms were quiet and tasteful, good design sense...very magazine . The sheets were amazing. Does anyone know what brand they are??? I want them. The breakfast is 'continental' but quite a lot to choose from - worth the price (remember, this is London). Rooms on the back overlook the private, treed garden and are quietest. 'Rocca' is a great Italian /hip restaurant less than a block away - fantastic thin crust pizza.
It cost about $700.00 (not pounds) a night , I felt that was money well spent !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We've stayed here several times and each visit confirms it's the right choice. Very tranquil setting yet only a block away from Sth Kensington tube station and multiple dining options of all types. The location is genius and definitely one of the major pluses for this hotel.

The breakfast is excellent but pricey, so we found ourselves more often at one of the nearby cafes or Pret just around the corner. Staff are extremely helpful and accommodating without the coldness sometimes found at premium properties.

Tasteful room decor is of very high standard and bathrooms are immaculate with high end finishes. Overall the feeling is one of extreme attention to detail and guest comfort. Wifi used to be an expensive extra but was thankfully complimentary on our last stay.

The atmosphere is more holiday than business although we wouldn't hesitate to stay there if in London for work. The rooms are well set up for work if needed, although the ambience made it hard for me to get into work mode. We'll be coming here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

From the moment our taxi pulled up the front of this understated South Kensington hotel we knew we had picked the perfect place! It looks like a regular townhouse with pretty little boxwood-filled window boxes, but once inside it transformed into a gorgeous boutique hotel! The lobby is very warm and inviting -- checking in was seamless and helpful -- they walked you all over the property to show you around the lounge areas, honor bar, restaurant and garden -- then show you to your room.

I don't remember the number, but we were in one of the rooms on the ground floor with a private terrace onto the garden. Every well-thought-out detail was gorgeous. We had tea in the garden next to their pretty koi pond, then set out to explore before turning in for the night.

I would be curious to try out their other properties, but Number Sixteen is so amazing, I don't think we ever would! Pricey, but worth it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesena, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

I have been staying at Number 16 for years and every return just confirms my love for this hotel. The staff is always ready to go the extra mile to make me feel like I am part of the family. I would definitely recommend staying at Number 16 if you want to experience South Kensington and this beautiful corner of London.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We have stayed here a number of times and keep returning because this boutique hotel is charming (fresh, modern yet inviting interior - not overstuffed or too intricate), well located (in lovely South Kensington and close to a tube stop), well run (thoughtful, friendly, efficient management), and good value (especially for London). The service was professional yet personal. Just like two years ago, we planned our trip so that we could celebrate our daughter's birthday (twenty second) here at Number Sixteen. Once again, the staff made her morning special with birthday wishes and, at breakfast outside on the terrace, they surprised her with a pretty fruit plate (complete with Happy Birthday written in chocolate letters on the rim) and then kindly uncorked and served the bubbly we had bought for the occasion.

The rooms that we have had have all been different. This time, we had room 7 which was a large, comfortable lovely room downstairs. It had its own private little terrace with table and chairs. A few steps up, was the the main garden terrace. The bathroom was huge and very well stocked with quality products,plenty of towels and fluffy bathrobes. There is a safe, a mini bar and a good sized closet.

A very tasty continental breakfast was included in our rate. Warm items were also offered. We ate outside on the terrace each morning but the bright breakfast room is also inviting.

We look forward to our next visit here!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I knew the Firmdale boutique hotel and I went to Number Sixteen for an afternoon tea. There is a relaxing atmosphere and interiors as well as the garden are extremely elegant. I'm passionate about design and Kim Kemp' style is highly sophisticated with and attentive search for every detail. A perfect combination of tradition, very British, and innovative and colorful design.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Number Sixteen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Sixteen

Address: 16 Sumner Place, London SW7 3EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Knightsbridge / South Kensington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#93 Luxury Hotel in London
#117 Business Hotel in London
#193 Family Hotel in London
#202 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Sixteen 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number Sixteen forms part of a row of gleaming white stucco mid Victorian townhouses. It originally opened in the 1980’s and instantly became popular with discerning travellers looking for an alternative to the larger Park Lane hotels. Now several years on, the hotel has a Firmdale point of view. Kit Kemp redesigned the hotel in her signature, fresh modern English style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, MrandMrsSmith, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Number Sixteen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 16
Number Sixteen London, England
Number Sixteen Hotel London

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Number Sixteen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.