We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay in Number Sixteen!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Number Sixteen

Save Saved
You added Number Sixteen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Number Sixteen
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Sumner Place, London SW7 3EG, England (Knightsbridge / South Kensington)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 1,073 hotels in London
oslo, norway
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Perfect stay in Number Sixteen!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I had read through all the reviews of Number Sixteen and knew to expect a great deal. All my expectations were fulfilled 100 per cent! Young, friendly and helpful staff - they obviously are there to help! So, from the arrival throughout the weekend til goodbyes - we just loved everything about the place. We stayed in a luxury room on the top floor.Lots of space, beautiful interior, huge bathroom - so quiet and peaceful. Very good beds, we slept like babies. (One wish: a water kettle would have been nice to have a cup of coffee on your own without any hazzle. Costs little and takes hardly any space). Very good breakfast. Fresh berries, croissants, omelettes - anything you wished for, was there for you. There was only one minor drawback - the breakfast area is rather small and we felt a bit squeezed in. Number Sixteen has a perfect location too. I will most certainly return next time in London!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    154
    66
    24
    7
    2
See reviews for
41
71
36
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
295 reviews 295 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
360 helpful votes 360 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

It is a super stylish hotel on a very pretty street in South Kensington. We booked a superior room and, while it was strikingly decorated in pinks and flannel grays, it was small with a tiny closet space and no place to store luggage but within the room, making the living space that much smaller. The bathroom was equally small with a tiny sink and a side shelf to store the necessaries. Again, super chic, alas another meter of space (for the price) would do wonders.

Service is exceptional at the front desk and in the common areas. However, the staff are young, mostly Eastern European guest workers, which did not appear to have enough knowledge and experience with local restaurants. While one of the recommended restaurants (Tom's Kitchen) was good, the other (Bumpkin) was a disappointment. Hence, do your homework prior to arriving in London and do not rely on the suggestions of the staff.

This is certainly not a budget type of a hotel; however, there is no excuse for a 20 pound per day WiFi charge, as there is no excuse for an 18 pound continental breakfast, or a 13 pound glass of an average champagne from the honesty bar. We found those extras to be too much of a nickel and diming of the guests. Just walk out the front door and there are many wonderful breakfast and pub options.

Room Tip: Splurge for the higher category rooms for more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

What a wonderful little hotel in Chelsea. Only reason it didn't get 5 stars was they couldn't get air to my room as I visited during the summer and it was one of the few warm days in the UK. They had a wonderful English Breakfast. The rooms while small (I think that's standard for London) were well put together and clean. The service was excellent. I absolutely loved the location which was close to everything it seemed while retaining a quite home like feel. I will stay here again when I visit London.

Room Tip: Try not to stay on 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile


My darling treat me to stay in this lovely hotel when we go to London for shopping or theatre I absolutely love room 7 it's the biggest and breakfast is delicious!Service is very high quality they always take our car to be parked,lend me umbrela when I forget and we usually get deal with bubbly welcome drink.I would very recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The Good: lovely street in So.Kensington, close to the Tube, beautiful B&B with exquisite decor, spacious room with large bathroom (we were in the 'basement' & the room looked as though it had been recently redecorated), FABULOUS bed with lovely linen, nice amenities in the bathroom.
The Bad: our room was right on the street and we did get noise, the breakfast (not included) was mediocre, you have to pay an outrageous sum for WiFi (you'd think in this upscale property it would be included), we asked them to call a cab for us the following morning and they forgot, they tried to charge us for champagne from the minibar (we never even opened the minibar.)
The Bottom Line: Even though it was a beautiful place, there was enough not to like that we'd find a different place to stay next time we're in London.

Room Tip: Avoid the 'basement' and rooms facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

What a lovely hotel! I was taken here on a surprise romantic getaway by my husband. The staff were very welcoming and took care of all our needs. We were offered a welcome drink which I thought was a nice touch. The room was really lovely with great amenities. (it was a bit cold as it was partially the basement but it was late Sept and quite nice weather in London that year ). I had breakfast on the last day (ordered from the menu) and it was great. Plentiful and they bring you loads of tea and jam! The buffet selection seemed abundant and very fresh. The sitting room is a great place to relax with the possibility of checking your email from the computer available.
A great location: close to the Tube, loads of restaurants, bookshops, museums and Boujis nightclub if you can get in ;p. You can literally walk everywhere from there.
We spent most of our time in London exploring the great city that it is so really spent minimal time in our hotel and can't really comment on any negative aspect. Therefore, a great experience overall. I would recommend this place and definitely return for my next stay in London!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Beautiful renovated rooms but...some are very noisy.

We were staying in room no 1, located in the basement below the corridor going to the elevator and the dining room. We could hear EVERY steps above us, late at night when guest were coming back to the hotel and VERY early in the morning when the staff was setting breakfast. We did not expect that from a hotel of this category!

After 2 nights, exhausted, we asked to be moved to a room on the second floor. After, we start enjoying our stay in this beautiful and well located hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms no 1 and 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Restaurant, Bou...
Show More
Knightsbridge / South Kensington
The Pelham Hotel
The Pelham Hotel
#89 of 1,073 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 385 reviews
Romantic, Quiet...
Show More
Knightsbridge / South Kensington
Knightsbridge Hotel
Knightsbridge Hotel
#38 of 1,073 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 264 reviews
Charming, Roman...
Show More
Knightsbridge / South Kensington
The Beaufort Hotel
The Beaufort Hotel
#118 of 1,073 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charming, Roman...
Show More
Knightsbridge / South Kensington
The Levin
The Levin
#45 of 1,073 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 285 reviews
Pets Allowed, B...
Show More
Knightsbridge / South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#23 of 1,073 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,112 reviews
Restaurant, Fre...
Show More
Marylebone
Dorset Square Hotel
Dorset Square Hotel
#226 of 1,073 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Sixteen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Sixteen

Address: 16 Sumner Place, London SW7 3EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Knightsbridge / South Kensington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 Luxury Hotel in London
#113 Business Hotel in London
#159 Romantic Hotel in London
#181 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Number Sixteen 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number Sixteen forms part of a row of gleaming white stucco mid Victorian townhouses. It originally opened in the 1980’s and instantly became popular with discerning travellers looking for an alternative to the larger Park Lane hotels. Now several years on, the hotel has a Firmdale point of view. Kit Kemp redesigned the hotel in her signature, fresh modern English style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Number Sixteen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 16
Number Sixteen London, England
Number Sixteen Hotel London

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Number Sixteen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.