We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up at St Paul's” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Paul's Cathedral

St. Paul's Cathedral
St. Paul's Churchyard, London EC4M 8AD, England
020 7236 4128
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
VIP Tour
$214*
and up
Viator VIP: Exclusive Access to Tower of London...
Ranked #42 of 853 Attractions in London
Type: Architectural Buildings, Religious Sites, Historic Sites, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Churches/ Cathedrals, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Rebuilt by Christopher Wren after the great Fire of 1666, St. Paul's has been the site of many historic state occasions, including Winston Churchill's funeral and the marriage of the Prince and Princess of Wales.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Up at St Paul's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Showing London to visitors is often a great prompt to take a closer look at our own city and that is how I ended up at St Paul's for the first time, despite having lived in London all my life.
I was pleasantly surprised at how much there is to do and see inside this iconic building. Yes, there is quite a hefty fee to be paid to gain entry, but if you book online you can reduce that slightly, skip any queues and get access for another 364 days at no additional cost - ideal for any Londoner. (Bear in mind that if you book online you do need to do so at least a day in advance.)
Once there the entry cost also includes access to an ipod, on which an interactive guide lets you plan your visit, providing pictures plans & audio commentary for various locations. Very comprehensive & you need it in order to make sure you get the best from your visit.
For me the best parts were the views - I had no idea that you could climb right to the top of the building & enjoy some of the best 360 views of the city. We were also blessed with an amazingly sunny day - which helped.
I intend to go back again to enjoy the nooks & crannies I didn't get round to on that first visit, despite spending most of a morning there.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,528 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,210
    966
    229
    76
    47
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Must See”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

There is a fee; but worth it. The beautiful building and history makes this a must see. The climb to the top is a undertaking, and not for the weak of heart, or legs. Several of the stairwells are very narrow and low. If you have a problem with tight places, don't climb to the very top level. But, if you make it all the way, the views are wonderful! I would think this is the best place to get a great view of the skyline of London. On the way down don't forget to look through the glass floor which looks directly down into the middle of the dome into the Cathedral. Make sure to wander around St. Paul's and take it all in. The ceilings are amazing! Down into the crypt you'll find bathrooms, a cafe, and tombs including Nelson's. If you have a little extra time after finishing you tour, sit in the park outside an enjoy the atmosphere!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
352 reviews 352 reviews
109 attraction reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
“Timelessly Fascinating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

You can easily allow yourself a whole day here. There is so much to see and it is all top quality. Step inside and you are immediately absorbed into another world. Something about England's historical past is encapsulated here. Not only in the architecture. The staff; the clergy; the way everyone seems to walk around in silent meditation. There are also beautiful paintings and sculpture by famous artists. Pre-Raphaelite painter Holman Hunt's 'The Light of The World' is here in all its splendour. The monotone paintings high up in the main cupola / dome are outstanding. I stood looking for ages and was happy to climb the 500-odd steps to get a closer look from the whispering gallery, where you can clearly hear words whispered 100 feet away on the other side of the dome. "Harry Potter", one young tourist was whispering. Quite chilling.

But for me it was the less obvious things that delighted. The wooden panelled vestibules where the choristers hang their cassocks. The cupboard that houses steps up into the organ pipes and pumps. The crypt is sheer bliss, with tombs of many famous musicians, painters, statesmen and Christopher Wren himself. The cafe and restaurant down here also serves delicious food.

Try to remember you are in the old city of London. When you leave, don't get straight on a bus or a tube. Have a walk around the back-streets. Here you'll find lovely old churchyards, warehouses and cobbled courtyards. You'll also find some excellent cafes, pubs and restaurants not aimed at tourists. These will help your day turn into something truly memorable.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Better than Westminster Abbey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great old church. Wish we could have taken photos inside. It is a lot of stairs up to the whispering dome, but worth the walk.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was the first place I visited when I came to London and I should say, it was a very good experience. It has its own history, you can buy a ticket to climb all the way to the top, the view of London is so amazing from the top. Worth a visit

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Paul's Cathedral also viewed

 

Been to St. Paul's Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Paul's Cathedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.