We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive on the inside aswell as the outside” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Paul's Cathedral

St. Paul's Cathedral
London EC4M 8AD, England (City of London)
+44 20 7236 4128
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$25*
and up
St Paul's Cathedral Entrance Ticket
Ranked #30 of 1,299 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Rebuilt by Christopher Wren after the great Fire of 1666, St. Paul's has been the site of many historic state occasions, including Winston Churchill's funeral and the marriage of the Prince and Princess of Wales..
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Impressive on the inside aswell as the outside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My partner and I went into the building late in the day. We didn't have chance to explore the building as some singing was taking place. But we got let into a room to listen in where there was a small gathering of people.
Definitely worth visiting and only wish I had got chance to explore the building properly but should I be back in London this place would be on the list of places to visit.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Narnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
104 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Does not reflect Christian values”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Charging 15 pounds to see a church that has a restaurant, cafe and gift shop in the crypt is the epitome of why people are leaving the church. They also don't allow photos. Needless to say, they do not display the Christian hospitality of Westminster Cathedral and many others throughout Europe and the world. It is definitely not worth the money, don't bother.

Helpful?
1 Thank Maxwell G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
150 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Beautiful, well kept and worth the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

While it's not cheap to get into St. Paul's, I feel it's well worth the price. The place is huge and spectacular. It's one of the best kept cathedrals we've been to. The audio tour drags on a little too much for our taste, but it's all interesting information. Unfortunately the dome was closed when we visited which was a disappointment, but just seeing the space and hearing about some of the history was good for us. The day we visited there was some kind of choir there practicing which made it all the more interesting having the echoes of human voices surrounding us as we wandered around. I'm really happy we took the time to stop in and see such a lovely old place.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Level Contributor
102 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Moving and interesting history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

£30 for the two of us to enter but we gift aided the fee as we are UK tax payers and gained free entry as many times as we wished over the next 12 months. We chose the longer (1.5hrs) guided tour (no extra charge) and it was well worth it. Our guide took us to areas not normally open to the public including the geometric staircase (google it as seen in Harry potter films) and she fully explained the history and stories e.g. Wren's tomb (hardly noticeable as he said St Pauls is his tomb), Millais, Nelson and Wellington all entombed there. There was so much to see that we were glad that we could come back another day.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelcritic30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
300 reviews
158 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Having rail tickets, we could visit 2 for 1 @ £15. My visit 40 years ago was free, and photography permitted, but now there is a guidebook to purchase. In the crypt there is a cafe and toilets. The upper 2 floors were closed, only the whispering gallery was open. We opted for the guided introduction tour which took 30 mins, but there were audio guides if you wished. No lockers.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank COSTGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Paul's Cathedral also viewed

 

Been to St. Paul's Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing