We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive on the inside aswell as the outside” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Paul's Cathedral

St. Paul's Cathedral
St. Paul's Churchyard, London EC4M 8AD, England
020 7236 4128
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
VIP Tour
$215*
and up
Viator VIP: Exclusive Access to Tower of London...
Ranked #43 of 853 Attractions in London
Type: Architectural Buildings, Religious Sites, Historic Sites, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Churches/ Cathedrals, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Rebuilt by Christopher Wren after the great Fire of 1666, St. Paul's has been the site of many historic state occasions, including Winston Churchill's funeral and the marriage of the Prince and Princess of Wales.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Impressive on the inside aswell as the outside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My partner and I went into the building late in the day. We didn't have chance to explore the building as some singing was taking place. But we got let into a room to listen in where there was a small gathering of people.
Definitely worth visiting and only wish I had got chance to explore the building properly but should I be back in London this place would be on the list of places to visit.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,203
    959
    228
    76
    47
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Does not reflect Christian values”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Charging 15 pounds to see a church that has a restaurant, cafe and gift shop in the crypt is the epitome of why people are leaving the church. They also don't allow photos. Needless to say, they do not display the Christian hospitality of Westminster Cathedral and many others throughout Europe and the world. It is definitely not worth the money, don't bother.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Beautiful, well kept and worth the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

While it's not cheap to get into St. Paul's, I feel it's well worth the price. The place is huge and spectacular. It's one of the best kept cathedrals we've been to. The audio tour drags on a little too much for our taste, but it's all interesting information. Unfortunately the dome was closed when we visited which was a disappointment, but just seeing the space and hearing about some of the history was good for us. The day we visited there was some kind of choir there practicing which made it all the more interesting having the echoes of human voices surrounding us as we wandered around. I'm really happy we took the time to stop in and see such a lovely old place.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Moving and interesting history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

£30 for the two of us to enter but we gift aided the fee as we are UK tax payers and gained free entry as many times as we wished over the next 12 months. We chose the longer (1.5hrs) guided tour (no extra charge) and it was well worth it. Our guide took us to areas not normally open to the public including the geometric staircase (google it as seen in Harry potter films) and she fully explained the history and stories e.g. Wren's tomb (hardly noticeable as he said St Pauls is his tomb), Millais, Nelson and Wellington all entombed there. There was so much to see that we were glad that we could come back another day.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
300 reviews 300 reviews
157 attraction reviews
Reviews in 176 cities Reviews in 176 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Having rail tickets, we could visit 2 for 1 @ £15. My visit 40 years ago was free, and photography permitted, but now there is a guidebook to purchase. In the crypt there is a cafe and toilets. The upper 2 floors were closed, only the whispering gallery was open. We opted for the guided introduction tour which took 30 mins, but there were audio guides if you wished. No lockers.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Paul's Cathedral also viewed

 

Been to St. Paul's Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Paul's Cathedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.