We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Paul's Cathedral

St. Paul's Cathedral
St. Paul's Churchyard, London EC4M 8AD, England
020 7236 4128
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
VIP Tour
$215*
and up
Exclusive Access to Tower of London and St...
Ranked #43 of 851 Attractions in London
Type: Architectural Buildings, Religious Sites, Historic Sites, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Churches/ Cathedrals, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Rebuilt by Christopher Wren after the great Fire of 1666, St. Paul's has been the site of many historic state occasions, including Winston Churchill's funeral and the marriage of the Prince and Princess of Wales.
England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

It was much larger than expected and you really need a whole day at least to do it justice. Try and walk up all the steps to the top outside viewing bits - over 500 in all. If you go right up to the very top bit the stair case become very narrow. I loved it! So, you can be restful and sit and take in the sheer beauty of all the intricate beauty of it all or be energetic and climb all the stairs. All in all magical, tranquil and exhilarating to be high up outside walking around the top looking at the views for miles. Do not miss!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,137
    931
    220
    72
    47
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beaverton, Oregon
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
73 attraction reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Offers more than Westminster Abbey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Like Westminster Abbey, there is a fee to enter, @$24, and you cannot visit on Sundays. Unlike Westminster Abbey, there is more to see here. St Paul's has one of the most amazing ceilings in any church. A climb of 259 steps will take you to the Whispering Gallery, but this is a trip not for those who suffer from vertigo, as I do. If you're okay with this, walk around about one third of the gallery, and continue your upward journey. Add another 271 steps and you reach the exterior Golden Gallery with views across London. Prince Charles and Lady Diana were married at St Paul's.
St Paul's narrowly escaped being destroyed by Nazi bombing in World War II.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Full of surprises”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

It's years since my wife and I visited Str Paul's. Then, it was dark, dusty and not all that pleasant. I suppose the place was given a good spruce up for the Royal Wedding and now it is just magnificent.
Look inside the tower to the right of the main door and see a beautiful cantilever staircase, looking like a giant corkscrew above your head. The chapel next door (I think it was St George's) holds some surprises for Australians. There's a bishop's chair that on closer inspection was dedicated to Australian explorer John Forrest and the main stalls remember a Tasmanian bishop.
The main doors are immense and it was surprising to find a large American War Memorial behind the main altar. When we visited, it was a sunny morning and the mosaics shone as their makers intended.
The crypt was full of interest, with the tombs of Wren, Nelson, Wellington and Churchill among others. On a wall was another interesting memorial slab, for Billy Fiske, the first American to be killed in uniform in WW11 and the subject of a film being made, controversially, with Tom Cruise in the lead part.
It seems wrong to have to pay to enter a cathedral and I expect anyone would be entitled to demand free admission, but, having paid and viewed, I would say it is money well spent.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“An amazing Cathedral”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We decided late in the day — 4pm to go to St.Paul's, it was a Saturday night.
As soon as you approach the Cathedral you are filled with awe and amazement it is such an impressive building from the outside. Inside it is even more impressive. We spent time sitting and looking up at the ceiling and artwork and then walking around reading the plaques on the wall. You could do the whole guided tour by earphone, if you want to but as we arrived just before evensong this was not an option for us but we were happy with that.
As we had arrived the choir were assembling for evensong, it was truly atmospheric. When the choir started to sing, the hairs on the back of my neck stood up, even my friends were touched by the sound and atmosphere . It was a very special experience.
If you get the chance, do St.Paul's Cathedral in the evening, you wont be disappointed.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We decided to not enter because of the price : 20£ ! It's very beautiful but we weren't sure that it was worth the price. The architecture is great but we stayed outside to observe that attraction

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Paul's Cathedral also viewed

 

Been to St. Paul's Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Paul's Cathedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.