We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service and Superb Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of One Aldwych

Save Saved
You added One Aldwych to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
One Aldwych
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Aldwych, London WC2B 4BZ, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Advance Purchase Rate
Ranked #42 of 1,073 hotels in London
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great Service and Superb Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Just had a one night trip in London recently and chose One Aldwych for its location. It was fantastic in that regard, but I have to say I was also very impressed with the service. Very attentive and responsive to every enquiry. Rooms very well appointed and bathroom a good size. Separate shower and bath is always a plus in my book. Didn't eat there but the bar is very nice and always seemed busy. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardRombough, Public Relations Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear LarKir

Thank you for your kind review and such complimentary words about our service and facilities. We look forward to your return.

Yours sincerely

Howard Rombough
Public Relations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    466
    119
    32
    20
    7
See reviews for
98
236
46
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington State
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed at One Aldwych in July 2012 and were very pleased. The location is exceptional for walking around Covent Gardens and Soho. The staff went out of their way to make sure we had a pleasant stay and provided excellent restaurant recommendations. Our last night the hotel had an unfortunate incident where the fire alarm went off. Although the staff was flustered and did not sufficiently direct everyone in the halls, they made an outstanding effort to apologize the next morning. They had a fabulous breakfast to go waiting for our party of 4 at 6am as we prepared to leave for the airport. They went above and beyond what I have seen at other hotels to make sure their guests are happy. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardRombough, Public Relations Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Hmarti24

Thank you for your review of One Aldwych. We appreciate your positive comments, including our location in Covent Garden and the excellent service you received throughout your stay. I would like to apologise that our Fire Alarm was raised on your last night. We do take our Fire Procedures extremely seriously and this was thankfully a false alarm. I am delighted that you wish to return to the hotel and we hope to see you soon.

Yours sincerely

Howard Rombough
Public Relations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

We had a pleasant stay at One Aldwych, it's a modern and clean hotel, good service, helpful staff.

One Aldwych has two restaurants, Indigo opens everyday which has only a few choices on the menu, the other one Axis which has more choices, but it closes on Sunday and Monday. There are lots of restaurants in this area but sometimes we just don't want to go out after a tired day.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth Beach, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

While this is a much overused expression in the UK, it aptly describes this terrific hotel in the heart of things in London. Its location is just perfect for all types of adventures and fun, whether it by the theater, the Borough Market, Covent Gardens, the museums and what have you. And when you are done with the day (frankly, at any time of day) there is a terrific pool with steam and sauna waiting in the basement. The staff were all so very courteous and helpful, despite the concierge is a Millwall supporter, and provided helpful hints on navigating in the city. Different fresh fruit in the room every day, and shoes shined every night. Coupled with the lounge and bar and restaurant, it makes this hotel...well...brilliant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardRombough, Public Relations Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Scott A

Thank you for taking the time to write following your recent visit. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our prime location in Covent Garden and thank you also for your lovely feedback regarding our staff and facilities, such as our new private guest lounge. We hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely

Howard Rombough
Public Relations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed at the Aldwych Thanksqiving week 2012. The service staff is totally committed to doing everything possible to make your stay memorable.
We had reservations near the hotel for dinner and they offered to walk us over..There recommendations for dining were right on target, I would recommend not taking the executive room it's smaller than the next level.
Taxis are easy to get. but the hotel is in the heart of Covent garden and the Theater District.

Room Tip: Take one level above executive room ....that one is small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardRombough, Public Relations Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Irene S

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at One Aldwych. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and appreciate your kind comments regarding our high service standards and location in the heart of London. We do hope to welcome you back.

Yours sincerely

Howard Rombough
Public Relations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Returning to London after a couple of months.....and back to One Aldwych again.....another excellent stay and it is starting to be my London home....well run hotel, staff are helpful and professional, and the quality of the stay is really really brilliant.
Thank you One Aldwych

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardRombough, Public Relations Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Man1975

Thank you very much for returning to stay at One Aldwych and for your lovely review. I am thrilled to hear that we are becoming your home in London and do hope that we can welcome you again soon.

Yours sincerely

Howard Rombough
Public Relations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I liked coming back to One Aldwych Hotel and to be back in London a very nice city.

I was happy to see that all is well at this independent hotel, a rarity in the hospitality industry. And the guests like me are proving that.

I was happy to eat at the Indigo Restaurant and I saw such professional service and excellent food. Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanSoennichsen, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Stefan I

Thank you for your comments on One Aldwych, we were delighted to welcome you back to the hotel. Thank you also for noting that we are an independent hotel – we like to think the ‘power of one’ is the secret to personalised, individual service. We do hope that we will see you again soon.

Yours sincerely

Stefan Soennichsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to One Aldwych? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Aldwych

Address: 1 Aldwych, London WC2B 4BZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in London
#31 Business Hotel in London
#37 Luxury Hotel in London
#43 Romantic Hotel in London
#50 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — One Aldwych 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One Aldwych is an award-winning contemporary luxury hotel with a superb location in Covent Garden. Set in the heart of Theatreland, just moments away from the world-famous Royal Opera House and many of London’s top attractions, this five-star hotel is perfectly placed for exploring the capital.Each of One Aldywch’s 105 bedrooms and suites has been individually designed to provide the utmost in comfort and feature original works of art from the hotel’s private collection. Guests are welcome to use The Health Club’s stunning chlorine-free pool with underwater music and state-of-the-art gym during their stay.The hotel has two exceptional restaurants - Modern British Axis at One Aldwych and Indigo with its seasonally inspired Modern European menu. These along with the buzzing Lobby Bar’s inventive cocktails and sensational afternoon tea are just some of the many other reasons that make a stay at One Aldywch so memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your One Aldwych reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Aldwych
One Aldwych Hotel London
One Aldwych London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One Aldwych, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.