We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of One Aldwych

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added One Aldwych to your Saves list
One Aldwych
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Aldwych, London WC2B 4BZ, England (Covent Garden)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #34 of 1,052 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
highland park il
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I travel a lot and this is my favorite hotel in the world, bar none. I stayed at One Aldwych often and would move in if I could. Superb hotel, staff, pool & fitness center. Rooms comfortable no matter the class of room. Thoughtful touches like a new plastic bag for liquids for packing, fruit and water daily, most comfortable beds, pillows, wireless internet included. Love the new guest only lounge. The staff is fantastic--from the doormen, to the front desk staff, concierge, room service, restaurant, lobby bar, health club, and management, you won't find nicer, kinder, more efficient staff anywhere. Well done One Aldwych, well done.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanSoennichsen, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear kgs

We take great pleasure in looking after you and I am thrilled to read your comments on both our team and facilities. We are pleased to have recently launched our new guests-only ‘Lounge at One’ which I am delighted that you mention too. We do look forward to seeing you again soon and thank you for such kind feedback.

Yours sincerely

Stefan Soennichsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    697
    160
    38
    24
    12
See reviews for
151
345
51
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

First time at this hotel after many visits to the capital and must admit it's probably the best place we've stayed at. Friendly, welcoming staff greeted us and showed us to our superior room which was offered as a free upgrade on our arrival. Lovely room, fresh and warm with gorgeous crisp bed linen and a great bathroom. Couldn't fault dinner in Indigo restaurant - tasty, interesting food and no more expensive that we would expect for the capital.
Terrific experience of acommodation in London. We will certainly return.

Room Tip: First floor, overlooking the Lyceum Theatre seems good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanSoennichsen, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear CandDNottingham_UK
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following your recent visit to One Aldwych. I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, especially our Indigo restaurant and fair pricing. I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards
Stefan Soennichsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Our meeting was scheduled for The Waldorf Astoria but as we entered the fire alarm went off and the building was evacuated!

It was an easy decision to visit an “old friend” - the lobby bar at One Aldwych.
It wasn’t crowded, the welcome was, as always, professional.
The Martinis were perfect and we left refreshed and relaxed after a thoroughly professional business meeting in a light, airy and inspiring space.

It’s nice to see that standards haven’t dropped here!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanSoennichsen, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear TopTripie
Thank you for your kind review following your recent visit to our Lobby Bar. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit and in particular our special Martinis. We do hope that we will have the opportunity to see you again soon for your next meeting.
Kind regards
Stefan Soennichsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The location, the design, the rooms, the staff, the food, the bar, everything is perfect. But what I prefer above all is the pool. It has to be one of the most stunning pool in London and just the perfect way to start the day or recover from a day out. The location is perfect for making the most of your stay in London, will definitely return.

Room Tip: The circular rooms are breathtaking
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanSoennichsen, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Richard H
Many thanks for writing a review following your recent visit. I am pleased to know that you are a fan of the hotel and I appreciate your commenting on our stunning pool, which is chlorine free and features underwater music. We do hope that we can welcome you back soon.
Kind regards
Stefan Soennichsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
260 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

It has been a few years since I stayed at this property, but it's just as good as I remember.
The rooms are mid-sized and sparkling clean. Restaurant is good and the lobby bar is terrific.
The location in the theater district near Covent Garden can't be beat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanSoennichsen, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear mgtravles
We were delighted to welcome you back to One Aldwych after so long and I am pleased to know that you found us to be as good as you remember. Thank you very much indeed for your positive comments and for noting our convenient Covent Garden location.
Kind regards
Stefan Soennichsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Love One Aldwych - a true luxury boutique hotel as central as you can get in London. Its not cheap by any stretch of the imagination, but then you wouldnt expect it to be. Great restaurant and bar area, friendly reception, great rooms (at least the one I had which looked out onto the Alwych). Despite the location, I found the room quiet and comfortable with a good bathroom. I would not hesitate to stay here again and found it better and more personal than other nearby luxury hotels.

Room Tip: I liked the rooms looking out onto the Aldwych to watch people go by. I suspect the rooms looking ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanSoennichsen, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Ross H
Many thanks for sharing your feedback following your recent stay at One Aldwych. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your time with us and noted our individual approach. We look forward to welcoming you back for another visit soon.
Kind regards
Stefan Soennichsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We didn't know much about this hotel but were attracted by the idea of their Martinis and Movies night and decided to try it out.

The location was very convenient for theatre goers, with many of London's theatres just around the corner and others within easy walking distance. The staff couldn't have been more professional or helpful - from the moment the door staff whisked away our decidedly unimpressive car to park it for us, to the moment they brought it back and carefully deposited our luggage in the boot. I really liked their grey and purple uniforms too - they were smart and modern and set the tone for the smart, modern interior of the hotel.

The movie that night was the lovely, quirky 'Moonrise Kingdom'. The cinema is very small - only 30 large, leather covered seats in four or five rows. We were ushered to our seats and offered a cocktail, made before our eyes in the cinema. Be warned - the Vodka Martinis are VERY strong! They thoughtfully also offer bottled water in case you need to sober up. My only qualm concerns the popcorn, offered in large styrofoam cups - it was a bit tasteless.

Bland popcorn apart, it was a lovely experience and we shall do it again. The movie was followed by a meal in their AXIS restaurant, which is part of the package. The set menu wasn't large but it was delicious and the service was excellent.

We ended our evening with champagne cocktails in their large, elegant but very comfortable bar area, and then wandered off to bed, more than slightly fuddled. Even the bed was comfortable!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanSoennichsen, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear kittywise
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our Martini Movies experience. I am very pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your evening. All feedback is invaluable to us and we have noted all your comments – my apologies that you found our Martinis rather strong! I will certainly share your thoughts with the team and we do hope that we will be able to welcome you back.
Kind regards
Stefan Soennichsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to One Aldwych? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Aldwych

Address: 1 Aldwych, London WC2B 4BZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in London
#14 Business Hotel in London
#22 Family Hotel in London
#32 Luxury Hotel in London
#35 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — One Aldwych 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One Aldwych is an award-winning contemporary luxury hotel with a superb location in Covent Garden. Set in the heart of Theatreland, just moments away from the world-famous Royal Opera House and many of London’s top attractions, this five-star hotel is perfectly placed for exploring the capital.Each of One Aldywch’s 105 bedrooms and suites has been individually designed to provide the utmost in comfort and feature original works of art from the hotel’s private collection. Guests are welcome to use The Health Club’s stunning chlorine-free pool with underwater music and state-of-the-art gym during their stay.The hotel has two exceptional restaurants - Modern British Axis at One Aldwych and Indigo with its seasonally inspired Modern European menu. These along with the buzzing Lobby Bar’s inventive cocktails and sensational afternoon tea are just some of the many other reasons that make a stay at One Aldywch so memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your One Aldwych reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Aldwych
One Aldwych Hotel London
One Aldwych London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One Aldwych, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.