We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea - very disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Brown's Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Brown's Hotel to your Saves list
Brown's Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Albemarle Street | Mayfair, London W1S 4BP, England (Mayfair)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea - very disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is one review I really didn’t want to write. I love Brown’s Hotel and so I was really looking forward to afternoon tea there a few weeks ago.

But what a disappointment.

The staff were great - friendly, attentive and intelligent.

The food and drink were not so good, I’m afraid. The sandwiches were rather uninspiring and tasteless, in particular the chicken sandwich contained some rather tough, dry, gristly chicken. The scones were small and hard and two were actually still raw in the middle. One of us had the alternative afternoon tea and the tabouleh savoury was completely tasteless and served on a wilting gem lettuce leaf. This alternative tea was a great idea but carelessly executed.

The Victoria sponge was very ordinary - I’d be happy if I bought it in M&S or Sainsbury’s but not at a five star hotel. The cakes on the plate were really disappointing - a rather sad, battered macaroon which was an alarming bright blue colour and an apple tart that consisted of what was obviously a factory made pastry case and the kind of cheap apple sauce that you can buy in a jar from a supermarket. Again if it had been from Sainsburys Basics range I'd understand it but this certainly wasn't a Sainsburys Basic price.

I’ve had afternoon at Claridges and the Connaught and these cakes were just awful by comparison with what we had in other hotels.

Even the tea was horribly weak. I ordered Assam and specifically asked for it to be strong with an extra spoonful of tea leaves but when the waiter poured it it came out a pale grey colour - not really tea at all. I would have thought that the waiters doing the hotel's afternoon tea service should know what a good cup of tea looks like. With a price tag of £45 I'd expect something better.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    138
    38
    18
    8
See reviews for
138
277
42
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My partner has severe breathing difficulties and has limited mobility. All of the staff at the hotel were exceedingly he!pful and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel has a friendly and welcoming atmosphere. The In-Room dining and turn-down service is extremely good and staff are very efficient.

Room Tip: The deluxe room is a good size and has ample space for dining.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Browns is wonderful for afternoon tea as a visitor.
however I wouldn't choose to stay there again as the room was noisy (its an old property with poor sound proofing)
There is no lobby area to sit in unless you are taking tea..

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location. Fantastic, extremely helpful service by every member of staff. Nice little touches such as providing some toys for infants and a ginger bread man with the child’s name on it. The major drawback is the size of the room. We were upgraded to allow enough space for a baby cot and whilst it was perfectly fine, it was more Paris size than London size.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
529 helpful votes 529 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I am currently in the airport awaiting for a flight to Rwanda (having to take numerous private jets which is frustrating) so I'll have to keep this brief. This hotel is terrific. Olga's designs are wonderful, hotel is clean, beautiful, comfortable - excellent. Only had a very brief stay sadly. I am a very very important socialite in Mayfair, so as you can imagine I only deserve the utmost best treatment 100% of the time absolutely everywhere I go. I am basically an angel. I will definitely be returning here again, I like to stay in a variety of hotels, keeps things spicy! Will be bringing my dear friend Geri with me next time, Im sure shell love it. tar to u all xx

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
I am extremely pleased to read you thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay at Brown's and were impressed by the decor. I do hope the next visit will allow you more time to indulge in all the hotel has to offer, as well as our special location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hats off, old school polished hotellerie, in a refreshingly historical cum contemporary ambience, made more notable by comfortably competent and friendly (yet not too familiar) staff...this is why we respect and need to keep old school hotellerie legacy alive.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for a lovely review, in particular your kind comments about the team and the ambiance - this is hugely important to the overall Brown's Hotel experience. I hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I enjoyed my stay in this hotel a lot. Big room, very quiet, great location. The staff was very friendly. I appreciated their assistance during my stay. It is a great choice for private as well as business trips. There are many restaurants and shopping possibilities around

Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your review from your stay with us in February. I am delighted you were pleased with your room, our Mayfair location and the friendliness of the team. Your feedback is much appreciated and I hope to welcome you again on your next personal or business trip to London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Brown's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown's Hotel

Address: 33 Albemarle Street | Mayfair, London W1S 4BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in London
#35 Romantic Hotel in London
#36 Business Hotel in London
#46 Family Hotel in London
#49 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Brown's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brown's was the first hotel to open in London in 1837 and since completing a 24 million-Pound restoration, this outstanding hotel now offers guests 117 luxurious rooms and suites, outstanding dining, a buzzing bar and relaxing spa. Situated in the heart of Mayfair, Brown's Hotel has many of London's major attractions and best shopping on their door step. It is from here that Rudyard Kipling wrote "The Jungle Book" and Agatha Christie "At Bertram's Hotel". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Brown's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Browns Hotel London
Brown's Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brown's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.