We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tea session in Brown's is a real cultural experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brown's Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Brown's Hotel to your Saves list
Brown's Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Albemarle Street | Mayfair, London W1S 4BP, England (Mayfair)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Belgrade, Serbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A tea session in Brown's is a real cultural experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I liked this place very much! A tea session here is a really joyful gastronomic and cultural experience that will make you learn and understand more about the tea as such and about the afternoon tea tradition. This is the right place to meet your friends, business partners and family! You can bring anybody here, it will satisfy all tastes, from the simple and modest ones - because they're discreet, they don't "attack" with too obvious luxuries, it's an understated refinement - to the most sophisticated - because behind this discretion everything, from the decoration and service to the tea and the food, is the finest English aristocratic taste and tradition. It has some intellectual atmosphere too.
It is expensive, but the experience is worth of it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Our team members are wll versed in the wide variety of teas we offer so that they are able to avise and recommend to our guests. Brown's is famous for its traditional afternoon tea in elegant and discreet surroundings, and I am pleased to know you enjoyed your experience as both gastronomic and cultural.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    138
    38
    18
    8
See reviews for
138
277
42
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
geneva
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Over the past few years, my wife and I have attempted to find the perfect hotel in London. Well, this is still not it... Don't get me wrong, the Brown's is a nice hotel. But not perfect...

Our room, a Deluxe, was large by London standard. It was also well decorated and appointed. However, the air conditioning system basically had you choose between off - with a resulting unbearable heat in the room (in January!) - or on, which was fine, except for the jet turbine noise it was producing all night. Also, the TV was a small, first gen LCD, probably dating from the early 90s.

Service was a bit lacking, with us attempting three times to book a massage at the spa before finally succeeding.

On a more positive note, the location is fantastic.

To conclude, the Brown is a nice hotel, but at £600-something per night, it should be perfect.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for your valued comments following your recent stay at Brown's. I can only apologise for the issues you had and would assure you that this is not indicative of our usual high standard of service and attention to detail. I do hope you will return and allow us to demonstrate perfection on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Brown's on NYE. Left for another hotel on new years day. Hated it so re booked back to browns. The service is impeccable, under stated pure class. It's not cheap but you get what you pay for. Mega thanks to Johnny the doorman for finding us a cab in the pouring rain on the morning of new years day and for walking us to it carrying his trusty umbrella! We had lunch two breakfasts and one dinner. The food is amazing. The rooms we had were both stunning and the beds to die for..so if you want to stay where you feel like family go to browns. If you want to stay were you feel like a paying guest? Stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
We like our guests to feel that Brown's is a 'home away from home' and that they are part of the family, and I am so pleased that this was the case on your recent stay. Thank you for all your kind comments about your whole experince fo food, service and comfortable accommodation. I look forward to welcoming you back to the family on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Superb service and personal attention. My 7 year old loved the kids VIP card and the nightie cookie and gingerbread man - great attention to detail to make this a memorable stay for the hildren and not just the adult.

Very comfy rooms, good breakfast, exemplar and personalised service by the whole team from Doorman to Duty manager.

Still one of London;s best hotels

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
We pride ourselves on excellent service and particularly enjoy spoiling our 'future guests'. I am pleased you and your young one enjoyed your stay and thank you for yoru commendation of all that we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Leaving our tradition of staying home in San Antonio for an international destination was not easy. Although no one balked at the idea of visiting London for Christmas, we wanted to make sure that the venue was one that would be well remembered. Having stayed at the Rocco Forte in Florence and Rome, we had a feeling that the Brown's could meet our intentions. What we weren't expecting, was a facility and staff that set this magnificent hotel apart from its Italian siblings.

From the moment we arrived, Samantha and the front desk staff went out of their way to assure our accommodations met our expectations. As each day went by, the staff took extra time to not only assure the quality of experience but they went out of the way to truly get to know our family. Whether in the restaurant or at tea, the staff interacted in a manner that made us feel as if the Brown's really cared about making this holiday stay memorable.

Every element of the Brown's met our expectations and our family would highly recommend this property for anyone looking for a 5 star, Mayfair experience in London. The location is optimum and the management and staff understand the importance of their customers. From a business perspective, the customer service was exceptional. However, somehow, the Brown's team made us forget that they were a business. Rather, for our Christmas, they made us feel as if we were part of their family.

I wish I was able to get everyone's name in order to mention them specifically. However, I would like to thank John at the front door for all his patience and attentiveness to our family. Trying to move 6 people and keep an agenda, is obviously challenging. Your assistance in keeping the cattle herded was much appreciated. (Also appreciate you keeping an eye on those young adult children of ours - always nice to know there is another set of eyes)

Finally, Samantha, you touched the hearts of entire family. Samantha was the first contact we had with the Browns and the focal point for assuring our satisfaction. Every day, she went out of her way to make sure we were enjoying Christmas. Though we were from Texas and she from Hong Kong, she understood the importance of this family trip and was available and willing to do whatever it took to achieve our expectations. On the final night, Samantha left us a note that will forever be remembered. Thank you so much . . . you are someone who has a very bright future ahead.

Bruce Vaio and Family - San Antonio, Texas

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for your very kind comments following your Christmas visit to Brown's with your family. Our aim is to be a 'home away from home' for our guests and I am so pleased to know that you felt like part of the Brown's family during your stay and had such a truly enjoyable visit. Thank you too for your commendation of the exceptional service your received throughout and especially for those you mention in paritcular. i very much look forward to welcoming you back for more magic on your next visit to London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Browns in the Hellenic suite. The suite was lovely and very quiet. I provided feedback at the time - we had our two year old daughter with us and I commented that some books in the suite for her would have been good. On checking out reception informed us that they had a children's library - it would have been good to know that on arrival! Otherwise, service was excellent. Food was very good - we ate breakfasts and dined in our room in the evening (because we had our toddler with us). Concierge and restaurant staff were excellent. I had a massage in the spa which was also very good - part of our package. Location is fantastic and there are plenty of good restaurants nearby if you don't want to eat in the hotel. We tried the famous afternoon tea which was good, but not outstanding and also very pricey for what you get.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for your recent review and for your commendation of the excellent staff and service. I value your comments and am pleased to know you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back for a faultless stay on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We are a couple who love afternoon tea and visited Brown's on Christmas Day as a special treat. They put on a special Christmas champagne afternoon tea at £60 with turkey & cranberry sandwiches, mini mince pies with cranberry scones, and festive themed cakes & pastries. It was an absolute delight from the moment we walked through the door. We had what we thought was the best table - two lovely big arm chairs right in front of an open fire, beautifully decorated for Christmas. The staff were so warm, friendly and attentive. I would highly recommend it and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of tea at Brown's on Christmas Day. We like to focus on special times and special occasions and I am glad you so thoroughly enjoyed our festive offering. Thank you too for your mention of the friendly attentive staff and for your recommendation. We look forward to yoru return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brown's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown's Hotel

Address: 33 Albemarle Street | Mayfair, London W1S 4BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in London
#35 Romantic Hotel in London
#36 Business Hotel in London
#46 Family Hotel in London
#49 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Brown's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brown's was the first hotel to open in London in 1837 and since completing a 24 million-Pound restoration, this outstanding hotel now offers guests 117 luxurious rooms and suites, outstanding dining, a buzzing bar and relaxing spa. Situated in the heart of Mayfair, Brown's Hotel has many of London's major attractions and best shopping on their door step. It is from here that Rudyard Kipling wrote "The Jungle Book" and Agatha Christie "At Bertram's Hotel". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Splendia, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Brown's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Browns Hotel London
Brown's Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brown's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.