We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brown's Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Brown's Hotel to your Saves list
Brown's Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Albemarle Street | Mayfair, London W1S 4BP, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“We loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We stayed at the Brown's in December 2012 and January 2013 for 3 and 4 nights.

Everything in the hotel is great, from its perfect location in Mayfair to the rooms (the first one was typically English style, the second one was more modern in the last floor). The staff was very nice and the restaurants were excellent. The afternoon tea is one of the best in London.

To summarize, the Brown's is a pure luxury London hotel which has been successfully refurbished in order to respect its long history while satisfying the most demanding modern guests.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for your endorsement of Brown's and for summarizing all that is exceptional about it, together with your appreciation of the restaurant and afternoon tea. I am so pleased to know you enjoyed all aspets of your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    128
    31
    17
    7
See reviews for
124
237
39
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

Brown's Hotel was a wonderful place to stay when we visited London this September.

The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were updated and spotless, albeit not overly spacious. Breakfast was very nice, with a wide selection. The location was excellent.

We will definitely return on our next trip to London!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for your comment. Brown's is indeed a wonderful place to stay, offering prime location and excellent, friendly service. We very much look forward to welcoming you on a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london,england
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

For an authentic experience of the highest quality of British hospitality, service, accommodation and fine dining, nothing beats Browns Hotel. In the centre of the world's best shopping area, full of art galleries, and wonderful Bond Street shops, Browns is discreet and elegant. Afternoon tea- unlimited is London's best, while breakfasts are truly scrumptious, the salmon en croute on the trolley at lunch yesterday was sublime. Don't tell anyone,

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for your endorsement of Brown's and all we have to offer from our excellent location to our exceptional hospitality, service and dining. We look forward to welcoming you bak.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Once again I choose the Brow's hotel for my Christmas afternoon tea with few friends, and as usual I call it top experience. This time I brough three new friends with me, and all of them they felt in love with the tea room. We loved the Christmas decoration, with the piano player, and of course the food and the service truly amazing. I am very glad when I discover a place which never disappoint me, especially when I bring new guests. Now even my friends say: afternoon tea in London, yes lets book at the Browns!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Afternoon Tea at Brown's is famous for its wonderful ambience and excellent offering of both food and service, and I am pleased to know that you all enjoyed your visit. We look forward to welcoming you and more friends back on a future occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I was lucky enough to stay at the hotel for 2 nights recently. Was traveling with 2 friends, so we had a rollaway and they upgraded to a massive Jr suite for extra space. It was quite the treat. We arrived at the hotel around 10a and they told us our room would be ready in about 30 mins, however we were headed out for the day, so we didn't need early check in, but nice to know if we needed in the room it would be ready shortly. The hotel has so much amazing history and is so unique from building to building. Ask the staff, they are happy to indulge. Asked to see a few of the other room types since I will be returning again soon, and they had a few available to show - love how every room is so different. The views from all are very neat also. All of staff was amazing. We were always offered assistance by concierge/bell man going out/in. Mateo in concierge was awsesome, always greeted us by name. We didn't get to try any of the hotel's resteraunts out, although we did grab a quick cup of tea and some cookies. Which was very yum! We stayed at the hotel during the "hurricane" at the end of October. Our room was sooo sound proofed that we didn't hear any wind or rain. And when we came downstairs the conceirge offered to check our flights on time due to the storm, and also let us know that Gatwick Express was not operating, and said if we ran and grabbed our luggage he would do his best to get us a quick cab to the airport, and by the time we got back downstairs, the cab was waiting outside. Cabs were hard to find since the cities rail was down - but the staff at this hotel does not disappoint! I would stay here again and always recommend it to anyone else.

Room Tip: talk to the hotel about your prefences, and they can match you up with a good rooms since all are di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for yor comprehensive and very complimentary review of Brown's following your recent stay with us. We are unique and original and have a variety of different rooms to suit all guest tastes and requirements. Excellent and friendly service is one of our hallmarks and I am pleased to know that you were so well taken care of by our concierge and other team members. We very much look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I was there last sunday with few friends of mine, their first day of the festive afternoon tea. nothing to compare with the other competitor in all Uk, and London. if you are someone just like me who does not like to hear the word NO, when you spend a certain amount of money, this is the place where you need to go. Unlimited sandwiches, pastries, scones, cakes...but what gives a plus to this place is certenaly the service. truly attentive and friendly, and genuine, even the room was full, I felt like I was the most important customer. I would truly raccommand this place to all my friends.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review and recommendation. Brown's is famous for its afternoon tea, in particular its unlimited replenishments of all that is on offer, delivered with friendly attentive service and I am pleased to know that this was your experience also.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

You may feel like you are paying for a Large luxury suite but dont get to excited to find that your room is nothing more than a nice average size bedroom full of old exquisite bedroom furniture, which is right up my alley. SUPER friendly and helpful staff, very nice and comfortable sleeping situation, always an answer to the best resturants and clubs and activities to do in and around London.

Room Tip: Back side of hotel, otherwise up front on main street, noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review of Brown's following your recent stay with us and in particular your mention of the super friendly and helpful staff - an area that we pride ourselves upon. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Brown's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown's Hotel

Address: 33 Albemarle Street | Mayfair, London W1S 4BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in London
#39 Family Hotel in London
#44 Luxury Hotel in London
#48 Romantic Hotel in London
#77 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Brown's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brown's was the first hotel to open in London in 1837 and since completing a 24 million-Pound restoration, this outstanding hotel now offers guests 117 luxurious rooms and suites, outstanding dining, a buzzing bar and relaxing spa. Situated in the heart of Mayfair, Brown's Hotel has many of London's major attractions and best shopping on their door step. It is from here that Rudyard Kipling wrote "The Jungle Book" and Agatha Christie "At Bertram's Hotel". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LHW, Venere, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Brown's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Browns Hotel London
Brown's Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brown's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.