We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brown's Hotel

Save Saved
You added Brown's Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Brown's Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Albemarle Street | Mayfair, London W1S 4BP, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer Offer Inc Brkfst
Ranked #60 of 1,073 hotels in London
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for my husbands birthday (50th), the package that I secured had Champagne on arrival with fruit chocolate fondue and much more besides.

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very special the hotel itself has a wonderful relaxed but very luxurious atmosphere. On check in the reception upgraded us to a junior suite free of charge which was a lovely touch.

The room was contemporary and very comfortable, breakfast the following morning in Hix was very good again the service was attentive but not over bearing.

Would definitely recommend this hotel I know it isn't cheap but for special treat well worth the money two happy customers hopefully to be returning at some point soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Madam,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feelings about Brown's following your recent stay, we appreciate contributing to such private occaisions and in some way making them memorable, I am so pleased your Husbands birthday was one of these and do s hope we can welcome you both for a return stay soon, Best wishes for a Very happy new Year,
regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    390
    113
    27
    16
    7
See reviews for
110
197
34
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

When all the other grand hotels are full for bookings on afternoon tea, you can still book about one month ahead for Brown’s. They may even allow a few walk-ins. Festive tea brings unlimited sandwiches, scones, mince pies, Christmas cake/log, tea cakes and petits-fours. All very tasty and beautifully presented. Nice atmosphere. Expensive at £51 per head but worth it.

Room Tip: Did not stay. So ignore sleep quality score. But best to look before finalising if you have any choi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking time to write a review following your visit for afternoon tea........something Brown's is renowned for I was pleased we were able to meet and exceed your expectations, indeed we will always try an accomadate bookings even on the day, though advance requests are adviseable, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon, best wishes for a very happy christmas and prosperous new year,
regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

I do not often write reviews but felt as I use this site regularly when booking hotels/restaurants it was about time I gave something back.

I booked this hotel for a Christmas trip to London with my 3 children (2 of which are very young) after browsing on the Internet 'best places to stay in London with children'. I have stayed in London frequently over the years and had yet to find somewhere that was luxurious, atmospheric, stylish and ..... Amazing for the children. A combination that doesn't always go hand in hand.

I had previously booked another hotel for our trip and had no qualms about cancelling that after speaking with Alastair. Booking was easy & efficient, I felt assured that I was making the right choice.

Our 3 hour car journey turned into a 5 hour journey (not brill with a 2 & a 4 year old) so we arrived at the hotel a little lack lustre. The doormen were very pleasant and welcoming. Our ridiculous amount of luggage was taken in and our car taken away to be parked.

The hotel was beautifully decorated for Christmas and felt very atmospheric on entry. It boasts tasteful, modern decor without losing character or charm & has a boutique feel.

Check-in was amazing. A member of staff kindly entertained our children and gave them sweets whilst we checked in. The lady behind the desk was warm, friendly and very professional. We were shown to our room by which time I had forgotten about the nightmare journey.

We were very fortunate to have been upgraded to a suite on the 3rd floor with an interconnecting bedroom. It was beautifully decorated and had a homely feel. There were some lovely surprises for the children and the room was very well equipped for our requirements.

The beds were very comfortable, including the cot I presume as my 2 year old slept beautifully. We were situated at the back of the hotel and backed onto Dover street which is quite vibrant at night, however the glazing was very adequate as we weren't disturbed.

We enjoyed in-room dining and dined at Hix Mayfair (the in-house restaurant). The food was superb, perhaps lacked a little atmosphere although this was not a concern as we were occupied with our children. Breakfast was a little on the average side but nothing worth complaining about. I had a couple of peach Bellini's in the room & in the restaurant which were beautiful. Had a sneaky peak into Donovan's bar which was very atmospheric and buzzy.

The hotel is superbly located, within 5 minutes walk of Bond St, Piccadilly & Hyde Park. Shopping has never been so easy!

Every member of staff I came into contact with during my stay at Brown's were friendly, familiar but unobtrusive & professional. We were all made to feel very welcome and special.

All in all a fabulous stay with the family at this gem of a Mayfair hotel. We will definitely return and recommend to family & friends.

Perhaps not all the glitz and the glam of some of the hotels I've stayed in but it's not any of those I have taken time to write a review about so take of that what you will.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments, weloming the younger generation is something we strive to exceed in .....makes the parents relax! I was so pleased your whole family enjoyed thier vist, we shall look forwrad to you all returning soon, when if i can assist with your requirements and or my team can add anything to make your stays more comfortable we ask that you not hestitate in letting us know, best wishes fora vey happy christmas with your family and prosperous new year,
regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I booked this as a combined 85th birthday and Christmas treat for my mother.

The hotel is gorgeous in any case - with decor that is modern, restrained, and restful whilst still in keeping with the history of the building - but it was the staff made our visit extra special. From the moment we stepped out of the cab we were made to feel so welcome. Reception were friendly, helpful, and efficient - the concierge likewise. There was one member of staff at breakfast who was a bit grumpy - but he was still attentive.

The birthday cake and champagne on ice for my mother in our room on arrival was a delightful touch. The room, including the bathroom, was lovely - and although overlooking the street was completely quiet thanks to the triple glazing. I'm quite fussy about hotel rooms - but this one ticked all the right boxes!

We had one mishap one morning when a light bulb blew, and tripped the fuse for the whole room - but the maintenance engineer was up within three minutes of contacting reception and sorted it with quiet efficiency. That seems to be the hotel's manner - everything gets done quietly and efficiently - no fuss - just excellent service.

Although advised to book afternoon tea the day before I was too slow and they were fully booked by the time I got myself organised. However we were then accommodated due to somebody else's no-show. Their loss - our gain - particularly around the waistline ;-).

Breakfast, as expected, was lovely with good choices. I'm partial to eggs benedict, which I would never cook for myself at home, but is a special treat when I'm staying in a good hotel where I predict they won't overcook the eggs and can make hollandaise. I'm pleased to report that it was close to perfect! The only criticism we had was that the plates for the cooked breakfasts weren't hot enough - so the food cooled too quickly.

So - we had a fabulous stay. Loved it and I'm desperately trying to think of a good excuse for a return visit soon....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words , we value contributing to such special and private occaisions and I am pleased to learn my team were able to add to the mile stone birthday , don't try too hard to think of a reason to return , when we shall look forward to weloming you many time in 2013,
best wishes for a very happy christmas and a prosperous new year,
regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

It's years since I visited Brown's last and I should not have left it so long. Faultless service in every respects. There is nothing more to add except I will not being leaving it so long until the next time.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the quieter rooms if you need more sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive endorsement of Brown's following your recent visit after a gap of some years. I am pleased to know we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back before too long.

Yours sincerely

Stuart Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Had super lunch ... we arrived very late at 3pm but the waiting staff were fantastic, soup and pork gorgeous, puddings a little lack lustre but perfectly fine. My Friends dishes were equally as good. If you want old world charm this is the place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear guest,

I am pleased we were able to welcome you for lunch in HIX Mayfair and that you found your starters and main courses to be exceptional ....I will have a word with the pasty chef to ensure our puddings do not lack lustre. Thank you for your feedback, it has been most valuable.

Yours sincerely

Stuart Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Brown's Hotel is one of the best I've ever stayed in, beautiful room, excellent staff, very friendly atmosphere without feeling dowdy. Absolutely adored it, and if finances allow, would definitely return

Some very minor drawbacks were a lot if road noise (it is in the heart of London), and the room wasn't ready when we checked in - and when it was declared ready by the chamber staff, there was a lamp lacking a bulb requiring maintenance staff to come up. Minor stuff compared to the bottle of bubbly we got :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your positive comments and also the constructive notes. I am not sure if you occupied one of our triple-glazed rooms, but this allows the rooms to be almost totally silent. In the hope that your Fairy Godmother will wave her magic wand on your finances, we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not-too-distant future.

Yours sincerly

Stuart Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brown's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown's Hotel

Address: 33 Albemarle Street | Mayfair, London W1S 4BP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in London
#51 Luxury Hotel in London
#61 Romantic Hotel in London
#64 Family Hotel in London
#73 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Brown's Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brown's was the first hotel to open in London in 1837 and since completing a 24 million-Pound restoration, this outstanding hotel now offers guests 117 luxurious rooms and suites, outstanding dining, a buzzing bar and relaxing spa. Situated in the heart of Mayfair, Brown's Hotel has many of London's major attractions and best shopping on their door step. It is from here that Rudyard Kipling wrote "The Jungle Book" and Agatha Christie "At Bertram's Hotel". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Brown's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Browns Hotel London
Brown's Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brown's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.