We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique afternoon tea!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanderson London Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Sanderson London Hotel to your Saves list
Sanderson London Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Berners Street, London W1T 3NG, England (Fitzrovia)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% off, Book Today
Ranked #86 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Unique afternoon tea!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My partner and I were kindly given as a joint birthday gift afternoon tea for two at The Sanderson; The Mad Hatters afternoon tea! I have not stayed at the hotel but would say this is a must do if you are staying there! We sat in the heated outdoor are which was a lovely touch and can imagine being very quaint in the summer. The waitress was extremely helpful explaining all about the variety of teas. I enjoyed a rhubarb custard tea which was fun! The tea's are all within keeping of the mad hatters tea and you can enjoy as much as you wish. The waiters do not pour the tea for you which I found a little strange for a five star hotel... but everything else made up for this minor point! They were happy to refill anything else you wished and the tiers of the afternoon tea were bright, creative and delicious! I don't want to give much away about this afternoon tea, but would definitely say its a must do when in London and in my Top 5!

Room Tip: Book in advance! Afternoon tea gets busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    236
    89
    43
    23
See reviews for
71
398
68
240
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is a design driven hotel. The bedrooms and bathrooms are immaculately presented and have very
Modern design. External facade of hotel uninspiring and looks like an office.
The large bar in the lobby is popular but expensive.
The hotel is located just off Oxford Street which means the hotel is conveniently located to get to most places. There are a couple of stores closeby where you can stock up on drinks snacks that can avoids he minibar prices.

Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Sanderson was a very modern and fresh place that has a little bit of Alice in Wonderland magic about it. The service was amazing, the spa just breathtaking and super relaxing and the Mad Hatters High Tea is an experience not to be missed! We had a great trip with fantastic friendly service. Perfectly located for visitors wanting too see the London sights!!!

Room Tip: The light fitting above the breakfast table should be moved so that you cannot hit your head when st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I've stayed here twice in the last year or so, most recently last autumn and would definitely recommend this hotel if you need somewhere central in the capital.

Most recently we stayed in the deluxe double which we thought might be a drop in quality and style having previously stayed in a suite, but we weren't disappointed. Despite the obvious reduction in square footage, the deluxe room still offered an abundance of luxury and elegance. We stayed for our wedding anniversary and the staff had lined the room with pretty tea lights, covered the bed with rose petals and also supplied a chilled bottle of bubbly – a wonderful touch. Breakfast was perfect too - all the fresh fruits and pastries you’d expect plus a bowl of Frosties – they’re gr-r-reat!

The rest of the hotel is filled with touches of coolness and fun – whether it’s the galaxy-inspired lifts or the lobby’s luscious lips sofa, these seemingly extravagant extras blend effortlessly into their fabulous surroundings.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is a lovely hotel the rooms are nice and modern the beds are something else don't think I have ever slept so good you just sink in and the pillows are a must have it's right next to Oxford street the bar is very lively on a Friday it's a nice hotel

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Well thought design you'd expect from a Morgan hotel. The rooms are very slick and minimal. The staff are welcoming and warm.

The only slight downside is the Long Bar on a Saturday night which gets very lively.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had a night booked in the Sanderson for a birthday treat. From the moment we arrived, we were in sheer luxury. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful and we were even given an upgrade which was amazing! Our room was slick, modern and impeccably clean, exactly what you expect from a hotel like the Sanderson, we had a spacious roof terrace too which meant we could relax before our evening ahead.
My other half used the housekeeping service to iron some shirts and they managed to get all three done and delivered back in 30 minutes! What service.
The hotel is so well located for a night out in London and the breakfast room service made the whole event even more special.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in London for a night, weekend or a week.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanderson London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanderson London Hotel

Address: 50 Berners Street, London W1T 3NG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in London
#54 Romantic Hotel in London
#58 Business Hotel in London
#70 Luxury Hotel in London
#129 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanderson London Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lavish "Urban Spa" in the heart of London’s West End, Sanderson offers a retreat from the bustle of the city into a world of fantasy and wellbeing. The landmarked 50s building has been transformed into a surreal Cocteau-like dream world, epitomizing a “new luxury” that is smart, pared down, and tempered with a healthy dose of wit and irony. Sanderson’s indoor/outdoor lobby is a layered and sophisticated environment that is totally original. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Splendia, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, LondonMarketing.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sanderson London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Sanderson Hotel
Sanderson London Hotel England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanderson London Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.