We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing time at London Fashion Week” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanderson London Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Sanderson London Hotel to your Saves list
Sanderson London Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Berners Street, London W1T 3NG, England (Fitzrovia)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% off, Book Today
Ranked #84 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing time at London Fashion Week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I was a concierge at the W Hotel in Seattle for 8 years, so I know a bit about service. This was a great stay. I have NO complaints. All the amenities were amazing. Phillipe Starck room was super. Steven Rojas, my contact at Morgan's, really made it happen! Thank you to everyone at the Sanderson London!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    223
    87
    43
    23
See reviews for
68
384
67
223
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Excellent service and hospitality with a genuine smile. @Ebi, Ruth and Matt. Thank you.
Clean rooms. Prompt service. Quiet inside, though in the middle of London.
A lot of space in the gym with new equipment and a lot of variety.
The elevators are out of this world too.

Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We booked The Sanderson because we wanted to be near Soho, but we didn't want to pay Ham Yard prices this time. The location was indeed excellent for all things Soho and central and the value for money was good for several reasons. It was also handy for Bloomsbury.

The most impressive thing about The Sanderson is the staff. Staff at the entrance and the check in desk were the perfect mix of polite and friendly and were great at making thoughtful suggestions, such as would we like a bottle of water to take with us on our journey home. The bar staff were also very kind, but the breakfast staff seemed a little sparse.

Our room was big enough and had a light and airy feel due to the use of thin white curtains instead of inner walls. Beds were noticeably good to sleep in. Sockets, chargers, shelves and places to hang coats were all very well placed and the design seemed well thought through. This functional but elegant vibe continued through out the other spaces in the hotel. I loved the groovy lifts with their intergalactic wall decor!

There were two very fine bars. The long bar seemed popular but there was always space there. The residents bar, in purple hues, was open til 3 am so no problem getting a nightcap. The cocktails both places were pleasant.

I would like to do it all again.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Afternoon tea at Saunderson Hotel - arrange by my twin daughters



What a surreal atmosphere! The Mad Hatter's Afternoon Tea, was an amazing experience.

The fantastical feast is what I would expect of Heston Blumenthal. Sitting in the heated terrace on heated seats was very comfortable, The choice of tea was impressive and we enjoyed apple pie, cherry bakewell and strawberries’ and cream flavoured teas as well as a huge pot of earl grey. The surroundings were a mixture of quirkiness and eccentricity.

We received a menu, hidden inside a vintage book, and linen napkins wrapped with a riddle, thereby beginning the theatrical afternoon.

Sugar cubes came from a magical music box containing a ballerina dancing on top of the sugar. When the box was opened it played the tune ‘Somewhere over the Rainbow’

Teapots were patterned with kings and queens and sandwich plates featured zebras, birdcages, carousels and ticking clocks.

Dainty sandwiches came on homemade bread which included the smoked ham with wholegrain mustard on sun dried tomato bread; and cucumber and chive cream cheese on spinach bread to name just a few. The breads were all fancy colours. There were home baked savoury and sweet scones with herb butter, clotted cream and jam and the most delicious tasting quiche.

This culinary delight continued with sweets such as 'strawberries and cream' homemade marshmallow mushrooms; a carrot meringue served on a bed of pea shoots; a 'Tick Tock' traditional Victoria sponge clock, a chocolate cup full of mouse with hidden popping candy and a melting mango cheesecake coated in rainbow patterned white chocolate. We were invited to 'Jelly Wonderland', where the most delicious fruit jellies made in Victorian jelly moulds were presented and I helped myself with the ranges of wobbly jellies.

Miniature potions with drink me labels sat so elegantly with the cakes and as for the waiter, David, he assured us we would not shrink if we drank the potion was very attentive and completely unflappable as he seen to a full house of guests.

David kindly bought us out more savoury sandwiches when he noticed we had eaten the lot and packaged what we could not eat into takeaway boxes. He was hardworking and polite.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Where do I start? Gorgeous place. The hotel staff is lovely. Especially Paris this lovely lady at front desk. so accommodating. The stay was great as I stayed here for a week for business. Comfortable beds. Great bathroom
Loved the place and the great thoughtful staff.

Thank you Dagma for helping us with rooms.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant C, Hotel Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for your fabulous review, we are thrilled your week at Sanderson was so comfortable. Paris will be delighted to have been personally mentioned in your review, she is such a bubbly character and always does her best to ensure guests feel welcome at Sanderson. Should you be planning another trip to London, Paris will make sure your next stay with us is even more enjoyable so make sure you get in touch with her at paris.barati@mhgc.com when you have a date in mind to return. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sanderson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for one while in town to celebrate my sons 18th birthday. purely because the hotel is quite funky. They offered us an upgrade to the penthouse suite Like many others but my offer was Five hundred pounds

The rooms are very contemporary but could not understand why in my room it only had two electrical sockets (that I Could find) and shaver point that was two foot up a wall that was the ten feet from the basin (VERY PRACTICAL NOT)

We went out for a walk round town and on our return my wife fancied tea and cake but could we get it no the excuse being that it was Valentines day and people were having the mad hatters tea.
We did eventually get the to proved some cookies but that took an age to come.

Early evening we met in reception and as the long bar was busy we decided to use the purple bar which is for residences on entering noticed that tables had been reserved WHY I'm a guest the bar should be big enough to accommodate all its guests but you would be lucky to get twenty in the place . However they did let us sit and have a pre-dinner drink but did not feel that we were welcome.

We went out for dinner and on our return were met by doormen that not to be too blunt reminded me of Nightclub Bouncers as two were wearing name tags with long black overcoats anyway retired to bed

The sleep I had that was interrupt three times by noisy guests returning to their rooms shouting and laughing (WHY DO PEOPLE DO THAT I'M SURE THAT IF IT WAS THE OTHERWAY ROUND THEY WOULD BE UP IN ARMS ABOUT IT)

In the morning we met for breakfast and shown to our table order our food and then waited for about 30 minutes. Eventually when it did come two dishes were cold one tepid the mine was hot.
Again the excuse came that they were busy but there were only twenty people in the restaurant.

THE GOOD THING WAS THAT ON COMPLAINING TO RECEPTION ABOUT OUR EXPERIENCE THEY DID APOLOGIES AND COMPENSATE US ( BUT AGAIN THE EXCUSE CAME ABOUT IT BEING VALENTINES WEEKEND ) AT A FIVE STAR HOTEL THATS NOT AN ACCEPTABLE EXCUSE THO

Would I be returning probably not as there a far better hotels in LONDON that what ever the circumstances would provide the service that I expect whatever the special event was happening that weekend

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant C, Hotel Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
We are sorry that your stay at Sanderson was not as enjoyable as it should have been. The comfort and relaxation of guests is our main priority so it is most disappointing to have let you down on this occasion. Your feedback is welcomed and I would like to apologise for the less than attentive service you experienced, I can assure you that this is not our normal standard of practice and should you change your mind and return to Sanderson in the future we will make sure your next visit exceeds your expectations. If you wish to make a reservation Paris.barati@mhgc.com will personally oversee your stay so please get in touch with her when you are ready to make a booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I booked a king deluxe room... On arrival I was offered the PENTHOUSE for about £150 more which I declined... But then was given the upgrade for free!!! What an amazing hotel very generous!! The penthouse was incredible I really appreciate that they gave me a weekend I will remember forever!! ️Xxx

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant C, Hotel Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
We are absolutely delighted that you had the best Valentine’s Day ever at Sanderson, we always want to create happy and memorable experiences by surprising and delighting our guests so we are thrilled you won't forget your special weekend at Sanderson! We hope you have the opportunity to return, when you do make sure you let us know by getting in touch with paris.barati@mhgc.com. We look forward to welcoming you back at Sanderson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanderson London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanderson London Hotel

Address: 50 Berners Street, London W1T 3NG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in London
#61 Romantic Hotel in London
#65 Business Hotel in London
#71 Luxury Hotel in London
#110 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanderson London Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lavish "Urban Spa" in the heart of London’s West End, Sanderson offers a retreat from the bustle of the city into a world of fantasy and wellbeing. The landmarked 50s building has been transformed into a surreal Cocteau-like dream world, epitomizing a “new luxury” that is smart, pared down, and tempered with a healthy dose of wit and irony. Sanderson’s indoor/outdoor lobby is a layered and sophisticated environment that is totally original. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, LondonMarketing.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sanderson London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Sanderson Hotel
Sanderson London Hotel England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanderson London Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.