We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanderson London Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sanderson London Hotel to your Saves list
Sanderson London Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Berners Street, London W1T 3NG, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% off, Book Today
Ranked #89 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel and location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Don't be fooled by what this looks like from the outside this is a really great central hotel. The rooms are lovely with cool decor and everything you need. The bar is fantastic and offers a unique cocktail list. Staff helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    221
    85
    43
    23
See reviews for
66
376
66
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Even though we live in London ,I booked 1 x night in the sandeson on the 22nd January as a surprise for my Boyfriends 50th Birthday , as I had a night out planned in the West end.I had emailed the hotel advance to let them know it was a special occassion and I recieved a reply , that it had been acknowledged and that it would be ensured that the stay was made special; and it certainly was ! ....

On arrival at the hotel , the doorman showed us into the bar area.I went up to the host to let him know of our arrival , as a table had been booked , but we actually chose to sit at the long bar (always wanted to have a drink there) I mentioned we were guests but would not book in until after drinks as not to ruin the surprise. I was then asked to give the nod to the host , whom kindly arranged some cake and candles on a board with Happy 50th birthday written on. It was a lovely gusture. I then pretended to go to the bathroom and went to check in. I stood at the desk and beckoned the member of staff over (as so I couldnt been seen form the bar) The lovely "JJ" aided me to check in swiftly , as so I could put the key card into a birthday card. He informed me that we had been upgraded to an amazing room with a terrace , from a deluxe room ,as he had seen the email that it was a special occassion. He then said he would organise something in the room for the birthday guest. Our room (606) was more than amazing and the upgrade really did make it so special for us with the terrace and stand alone bath .10 minutes into being in the room , room service brought in a complementry bottle of champagne in an ice bucket and more cake . The open plan room was lovely and the bed , well it was the best bed I had ever slept in , the pillows and bedding was so luxurious. I have to say the whole experience at the Sanderson was fantastic , and truely made special by the wonderful staff and service provided . A special big THANK YOU to JJ for making the room choice so special. ......

A week on and we are still buzzing from our amazing stay at the Sanderson.We hope to return to make use of the spa and long bar again in the future.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishon Lezion, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed for a week of business travel on January 2015, the hotel design is unique with a lot of style and good taste.
The room was large, clean, well maintained, and designed beautifully.
Breakfast was very good, the front desk staff was very nice and helpful - late checkout was approved without any problems.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant C, Hotel Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
It is such a compliment to be described as ‘The best home away from home’! That is exactly our intention as we want our guests to feel as welcome and as comfortable as possible when they spend time at Sanderson. We hope you have a reason to return to London soon so that we can look after you again. Should you need help with any future reservations Paris.barati@mhgc.com would be delighted to assist you and she will make sure your next visit to Sanderson is even more enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

we stayed at the Sanderson for one night following recommendation.the hotel is in a great location close to all that London has to offer. the reception area is stunning and very designer led and different but in a good way.the room was huge with a super large and comfy bed.took us a wile to work out some of the lighting options.for a central London hotel the superior room was by far the largest in size we have stayed in .we went to the long bar in the evening and watched all the beautiful people.the atmosphere was great, a real mix of people.
we had the full breakfast the next morning which was probably the best i have ever had.
all the staff we encountered at the hotel from the door man to waiter/reception were all very professional and efficient.
can we please say a special mention to paris the guest relations manager for making our stay so special as it was a special anniversary the hotel left champagne in the room on the house such a nice touch and very much appreciated.we have stayed in many top 5 star hotels over the years in London but we will return to the Sanderson on our next visit without hesitation

Room Tip: superior double was large and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant C, Hotel Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Sanderson is devoted to authentic iconic design so we are delighted you loved our original and quirky style. It is great to read that from the moment you arrived at Sanderson you enjoyed so much about the hotel, including our fantastic central location, warm and friendly staff, comfortable spacious rooms and fun atmosphere in the Long Bar. We are so happy you enjoyed your special anniversary and Paris will be thrilled she was able to make your stay memorable. When you are planning your next visit Paris will personally oversee your stay so make sure you get in touch with her with the details, you can email her directly at paris.barati@mhgc.com. We all look forward to welcoming you back to Sanderson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here a few times now as it's very close to the BBC HQ but have to admit the place just doesn't do it for me. Sure, it brings all the good things one would expect from a quality hotel but let's face it; the lobby is a strange mixture of modern art, the elevators are weird, the bar area is too sterile and the restaurant serves so-so food and you either sit inside in a dark environment with loud music or in the (heated) area outside which really is a drafty tent. The doormen are too busy chatting with the girls at the bar or reception. Nope, I'll find another hotel next time.

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms at street side - too many police cars and ambulances going through at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant C, Hotel Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
We are sorry to read that Sanderson is not to your taste but we appreciate your feedback and understand that our quirky and unique design may not suit everyone. Patrick, we are disappointed you intend to stay elsewhere and would welcome the opportunity to change your opinion by ensuring the next time you stay we exceed your expectations, should you wish to make a reservation in the future please get in touch with paris.barati@mhgc.com so she can personally oversee your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our Sanderson experience started with an amazing upgrade! Can't describe it with words. I have never seen such a huge hotel room in a city like London. It turned out that we got the Penthouse suite. A lovely place, well designed. Although a lot of my facination is related to this incredible suite, the rest of the hotel is good enough to be rated with "extra class ": nice people at the reception, great service, cool interior design.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant C, Hotel Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
We are so pleased that your experience at Sanderson exceeded your expectations as we always aim to make our guests feel super special from the moment they enter the doors into Sanderson. We are thrilled you had such a memorable stay. Please come back to see us again as we would love to welcome you back. Paris.barati@mhgc.com would like to personally oversee your next visit so please make sure you contact her when you intend to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The aqua spa at the Sanderson is the most glorious environment to spend time in. The double-height floor space and use of billowing white fabric instead of solid walls was a stroke of genius. The atmosphere is calm and peaceful - the only sound being the soft tumble of water in the central fountain. The staff are, without exception, delightful and do everything they can to make the experience special.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant C, Hotel Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
The team in agua will be thrilled with your amazing review, it is a huge compliment to be described as the best spa in London. We have to agree with you - the Sanderson spa team are exceptional and the tranquil setting makes agua spa the perfect place to indulge in some serious pampering. Please come back to see us again as we would be delighted to welcome you back to Sanderson. If there is anything we can do to help with your reservation please get in contact with us at paris.barati@mhgc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanderson London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanderson London Hotel

Address: 50 Berners Street, London W1T 3NG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in London
#70 Romantic Hotel in London
#75 Business Hotel in London
#75 Luxury Hotel in London
#98 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanderson London Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lavish "Urban Spa" in the heart of London’s West End, Sanderson offers a retreat from the bustle of the city into a world of fantasy and wellbeing. The landmarked 50s building has been transformed into a surreal Cocteau-like dream world, epitomizing a “new luxury” that is smart, pared down, and tempered with a healthy dose of wit and irony. Sanderson’s indoor/outdoor lobby is a layered and sophisticated environment that is totally original. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, LondonMarketing.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sanderson London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Sanderson Hotel
Sanderson London Hotel England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanderson London Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.