We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanderson London Hotel

Best prices from these 12 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sanderson London Hotel to your Saves list
Sanderson London Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Berners Street, London W1T 3NG, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 25% off, Book Today
Ranked #126 of 1,055 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Fantastic Service as soon as we walked into the Hotel...Was warmly greeted by JJ who was able to offer a fantastic deal on an upgrade...The room was spacious with its own small terrace and well worth the extra cost.The staff in the hotel were very helpful and friendly...The facilities are great and the Bars were buzzing in the evening...The venue is perfectly located for Oxford and Regent Street shopping and we will definitely be staying again.

Room Tip: If budget allows then go for a room with terrace on the 6th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
We always hope our guests feel welcome and at home at Sanderson so we are delighted you enjoyed the friendly fun and attentive service we love to provide. It is a huge compliment to receive such a great review, thank you Paul. We hope you have the opportunity to visit us again soon, please let linxi.romanovski@mhgc.com know when you intend to return so she can personally oversee your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sanderson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    209
    78
    42
    23
See reviews for
56
331
63
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

The Sanderson was a perfect hotel for our London visit. Walking distance from Oxford Street, Regent Street, Theatres and top Restaurants. Their in house bar had a wonderful vibe and their Mad Hatters afternoon Tea was an experience not to miss!
The staff were warm and friendly and the accommodation was some of the finest I have had in London.
Can't wait to return

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
We are thrilled that you rate Sanderson so highly Anna, thank you for your fabulous review. We are delighted that Sanderson was the perfect location for your visit to London, we are lucky to have so many of London’s attractions just around the corner. Our Concierge can always recommend restaurants or theatre shows if you would like their advice when stay with us again. Please get in touch with linxi.romanovski@mhgc.com when you would like to make a booking as she will make sure your next stay is even more memorable. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Haven't got a bad word to stay about the hotel, all the staff were attentive, friendly and efficient. Quality of room service was excellent - was forced to use it as my husband had a stomach bug, thankfully for him the room was very comfortable, this didn't spoil our weekend completely but we couldn't take advantage of the hotel restaurant and facilities as we would normally have done! Hotel car made a pleasant change to a cab and was not expensive. Jo J on reception made check out a pleasure! Would love to return to make proper use of all the hotel has to offer.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for your review Paul, we are glad that you loved Sanderson but sorry that you could not take full advantage of your time in London as your husband was unwell. Please make sure you return to us again so that you can make the most of all the wonderful facilities here at Sanderson. There is so much to try, our Afternoon Tea, agua spa, Suka restaurant, not to mention our fabulous cocktails in the Long Bar and Purple Bar. linxi.romanovski@mhgc.com would be delighted to make sure your next stay is really special so please contact her when you have a date in mind. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sanderson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Being regular guests of the Delano in Miami and St Martin's Lane hotel in London, which we adore, we thought we'd try The Sanderson over the relatively quiet Christmas period and we enjoyed every minute. The location is super central, the decor trendy, the food fantastic and the staff exceptional. Particularly JJ who went out of his way to ensure that we had a splendid stay and always greeted us with a smile whenever we bumped in to him. We had a lovely stay and can't wait to return for the Mad Hatter's tea party which we unfortunately could not squeeze in this time round.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
We really appreciate your loyal support of the Morgan’s Hotel Group and are so pleased that you decided to add Sanderson to your repertoire. It is wonderful to read that you had a fantastic stay, so much so that you intend to return. We hope you get the opportunity to enjoy our Mad Hatters Tea as it really is a tasty and delightful experience! When you would like to make your next reservation please get in touch with linxi.romanovski@mhgc.com as she would love to oversee your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sanderson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

For New Year's we stayed at The Sanderson and let me tell you one thing, it was spectacular in the sense that the service was impeccable. The design of the hotel is about to get updated, but the Philippe Stark design is something classic by now. That hotel did set a whole new standard when it opened up and even though it needs some freshen up it still is a spectacular hotel in every sense.

I love how everyone there is so attentive to ones needs in a very subtle but still straight forward way. Everyone there gave us nothing but amazing service, but the one that stood out was Karin from the Purple Bar. She gave us everything I asked for and helped us with just about everything with a huge, HUGE smile on her face. Everyone needs to get a cocktail from the Purple Bar just because of her.

One thing that truck me was that everyone at the hotel that I spoke to knew what room I stayed at and all the things that I had ordered. Now that's very good.

I got first class service, and an upgrade, tons of smiles and when I got back from the New Year's party there was a bottle of champagne in our room. I love champagne so that did put a very big smile. I trull recommend everyone to stay at the Sanderson.

Paolo Savi

Room Tip: Any room will do. They are all clean and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Sanderson. We are thrilled you chose to see the New Year in at Sanderson and are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. It was a pleasure to surprise you with the champagne, we hope you had a very Happy New Year! Thank you also for mentioning Karin in your review, she will be very happy to have made your experience at Sanderson so memorable. Please make sure you come back for another visit soon as we look forward to welcoming you back. linxi.romanovski@mhgc.com would love to hear from you so she can personally oversee your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Overall very impressed. Good staff, excellent food and the Long Bar's range of drinks very good. Atmosphere was very relaxing and we had an enjoyable stay.
The room was well designed and the facilities were good. Only issue is to reconsider the shower and sink taps, very funky design but difficult to switch off with wet hands! Considering the hotel's central London location, we had an undisturbed sleep.


  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
We are glad you were impressed with your stay at Sanderson as we always want our guests to feel relaxed and comfortable whilst they are with us. Please do come back to see us again soon, linxi.romanovski@mhgc.com is looking forward to hearing from you so she can help you with your next reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Not my first stay at Sanderson, but probably the last. It is not that I am all that disappointed, after all I have rated Sanderson with 4 stars. How ever, I feel that what was once a super trendy design hotel is now getting a little bit outdated. I am aware of that many will disagree with me on this point, and argue that one of its strengths is the not changing environment. For me, how ever, I feel that there are so many others super nice hotels in London in this price category that Sanderson is no longer my top five pick. I really look forward to the new Mondrian opening later this year! We also had a little sad ending of our trip with the concierge arguing with me over 75 GBP after we paid approximately 2500 GBP for a long weekend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Erlend, we are disappointed to read that you may choose to stay elsewhere in future as we value you as a guest and enjoy looking after you whilst you are in London, however we appreciate all feedback and take on board your comments. We are also sorry that your previous experience was impacted by your conversation with our Concierge, it is never our intention to offend a guest so please accept our apologies if there was a miscommunication on our part. We do hope you change your mind and come back to stay with us again as we really would love for you to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanderson London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanderson London Hotel

Address: 50 Berners Street, London W1T 3NG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in London
#93 Romantic Hotel in London
#96 Luxury Hotel in London
#110 Business Hotel in London
#176 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanderson London Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lavish "Urban Spa" in the heart of London’s West End, Sanderson offers a retreat from the bustle of the city into a world of fantasy and wellbeing. The landmarked 50s building has been transformed into a surreal Cocteau-like dream world, epitomizing a “new luxury” that is smart, pared down, and tempered with a healthy dose of wit and irony. Sanderson’s indoor/outdoor lobby is a layered and sophisticated environment that is totally original. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Loews Hotels, Travelocity, Venere, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, LondonMarketing.com, Booking.com, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Sanderson London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Sanderson Hotel
Sanderson London Hotel England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanderson London Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.