We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stylish central london hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sanderson London Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sanderson London Hotel to your Saves list
Sanderson London Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Berners Street, London W1T 3NG, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% off, Book Today
Ranked #96 of 1,066 Hotels in London
London, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A stylish central london hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Very stylish, room felt spacious but certainly wasn't massive, modern (clean design) furnishings and design (open plan with bathroom).

Location is central, quite good for shopping (just off Oxford street and a short walk from Regent street) but don't expect any good views from this one - our room was at the front, directly in front of a row of quite drab looking offices.

Breakfast was the only meal we had here during our stay - it was very good quality, even if the choice was a bit limited compared to some other hotel breakfasts.

Service was professional but nothing to write home about. Champagne bar is great when busy, but don't feel you have to pay the exorbitant 'service charge' if all the guy has done is hand you a bottle of beer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for your review Gareth, we appreciate all feedback and are disappointed that your experience at Sanderson did not exceed your expectations. We would like the opportunity to improve your opinion of us and hope that you return to Sanderson in future. If you contact linxi.romanovski@mhgc.com when you would like to make a reservation she will ensure your next visit is much more memorable. We hope to welcome you back to Sanderson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    219
    83
    43
    23
See reviews for
64
362
64
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I have been to The Sanderson many times over the times but have never stayed so this was a first. This hotel is not your traditional London hotel- it is super stylish and modern in every way, from The Long Bar to residents only The Purple Bar. The door man, who I think was called Phil made us feel very welcome and immediately greeted outside and helped us with luggage from our car . Reception and check in again was faultless and also the concierge, who I think was called Sean ( im useless with names!) , was really helpful with different guestlist options for local clubs and casinos. The cocktails are out of this world and no they arent cheap but i didnt feel this place was anymore expensive than any other luxury hotel in London. We also received birthday cupcakes in room, which was a nice surprise!
The rooms are very quirky and contemporary, which myself and my husband love, being fans of Phillip Starke design- it probably isnt everyones cup of tea
Breakfast was great, they even serve my favourite Burford Brown eggs, always a good sign!
An amazing hotel to put your glad rags on and mingle with trendy people and hear great music- we will certainly be back.....

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
We are thrilled that you have now experienced Sanderson as a resident guest, and to hear that you loved the hotel, the ambience, the design, the bars and the breakfast is fantastic news. We are so happy to have fulfilled your expectations. Thank you for your great review and kind comments about our team here, they will be delighted that they helped to make your stay so memorable. Please do make sure you come back to visit again soon, when you would like to make a reservation please contact linxi.romanovski@mhgc.com so she can personally oversee your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sanderson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I went to the Sanderson Hotel for the first time in 2000 and loved it, its a modern boutique type hotel so if you don't like hotels like Morgan Hotel Group Properties this place wont be for you, but if you like the trendy bar with the ambient background music with a very cool crowd most evenings you'll dig this spot. Much like its other trendy hotels the rooms are minimalist and most the action is in the lobby bar

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for your review, it is great to hear that you loved your first visit to Sanderson back in the year 2000 and that you continue to enjoy the ambience and uniqueness of Sanderson today. Please do come back to stay again soon, linxi.romanovski@mhgc.com is looking forward to hearing from you with details of your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Have stayed here many times over the past two years. The rooms are small but well appointed and very comfortable. Good aircon and heating. TV has all key international and domestic channels. The beds are awesome and bathrooms are up to date and very clean. Just make sure you don't end up in a room above the bar as it can crank 'till late and if you need to be in bed early this can be an issue. Food is good too!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
We are delighted that you have chosen to spend so much time at Sanderson over the last few years and we hope that you have the opportunity to return to us again soon. Please let linxi.romanovski@mhgc.com know when you next intend to visit so that she can personally oversee your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sanderson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Seemed like having a fab hotel experience was an afterthought to the trendy hip bar where if you weren't showing off you were out of place. Even the so called guests bar seemed to be reserved for non guests. Rooms basic but clean but don't accept a low floor front facing room as all you hear all night is car doors and drunken shrieks!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for your review Lisa, we are sorry that your experience at Sanderson was not as enjoyable as it should have been. We never want any of our guests to feel unwelcome or uncomfortable during their time at Sanderson. If you have time to contact Katie.taylor@mhgc.com she will make sure that your next stay at Sanderson is much more enjoyable. We look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Rooms are basic without many amenities. Breakfast was a disaster this morning. Only half the order eventually arrived...and in random order. Hoping that things get better before departing. Don't think that I will return.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Please accept our apologies that your breakfast was not at the high standard we always aim to deliver at Sanderson. We wish to investigate your experience further and would be grateful if you could contact Katie.taylor@mhgc.com with some more details so that we can find out what happened. We do hope that the remainder of your stay at Sanderson was more enjoyable and hope you return to us in future. Please do let Katie know your feedback in order for us to improve your stay next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

The owners worked so hard to make it cool, that they forgot that people want to enjoy the stay.

No power outlet close to bed, no storage space for cloths, no privacy in the toilet (noise), just one set of shampoo and conditioner for two adults ( I guess because there is no space to place them in the shower).

And a dirty towel was left in the room - nicely folded though....

But that's cool, so I guess who cares?

The king is naked!!!!

Not coming back and not recommending.

Room Tip: Another hotel.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your visit to Sanderson and would welcome the opportunity to find out where we went wrong, if you have the time to send us some further feedback on your stay we would be very interested to hear from you. Please could you email more details to Katie.taylor@mhgc.com. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanderson London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanderson London Hotel

Address: 50 Berners Street, London W1T 3NG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in London
#74 Business Hotel in London
#78 Romantic Hotel in London
#80 Luxury Hotel in London
#110 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanderson London Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lavish "Urban Spa" in the heart of London’s West End, Sanderson offers a retreat from the bustle of the city into a world of fantasy and wellbeing. The landmarked 50s building has been transformed into a surreal Cocteau-like dream world, epitomizing a “new luxury” that is smart, pared down, and tempered with a healthy dose of wit and irony. Sanderson’s indoor/outdoor lobby is a layered and sophisticated environment that is totally original. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Sanderson London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Sanderson Hotel
Sanderson London Hotel England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanderson London Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.