We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky Chic..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sanderson London Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sanderson London Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sanderson London Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Berners Street, London W1T 3NG, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer in the City.
Ranked #143 of 1,073 hotels in London
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Quirky Chic..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Lovely hotel set just off Oxford Street. We stayed here in the Summer, only for one night - the rooms are fairly small, but they are very nicely furnished, beds are comfy and the shower / bathroom facilities are good. We basically chose this hotel for the location. It was my Husbands birthday and we decided to have a night away (we live in Dubai) and usually stay with family in the UK, so it was nice to be on our own.

The bar on the ground floor is very quirky, well worth a visit. The main bar to right of the reception as you walk into the hotel is always very buzzy.

The breakfast is very good, the staff very friendly, and I would say very good value for money. A good place to base yourself if you are visiting London to do some shopping or want to see the sights.

Room Tip: The spa is very good. Hotel used to be a Material warehouse. The spa has kept that theme.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
We are delighted that you love the location of Sanderson Anna, we are lucky to be perfectly located in Central London. We hope your husband thoroughly enjoyed his birthday celebrations and the time you spent together whilst you were here. We hope you can come and stay with us again, please let Katie.taylor@mhgc.com know when you are coming back to London so that she can make sure your next stay is even more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    405
    204
    78
    42
    23
See reviews for
52
319
62
185
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

very friendly staff, was there for a week, excellent facilities. Took the hotel 3 days to repair the air con fir a fridge, then to a sauna before it was finally fixed.

The lifts are have 3d space pictures, if your not drunk when u get in, you feel drunk when u get out.

The corridors have very dim lighting which could be a problem for those with a sight disability

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you have the opportunity to return to Sanderson as we would love to welcome you back. Please get in touch with Katie.taylor@mhgc.com when you would like to make your next reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Sanderson Hotel, London as a treat on Saturday 5th October. As soon as we arrived by taxi the doors were opened and our cases were taken to reception. The doormen were very attentive, opening doors and hailing taxis for us when required. We had requested a twin room but was given a double but Reception moved us immediately to a King Sized room with two quilts which was fine. The rooms were very unusual but very clean and spacious. Bed was really comfortable. The Reception area was very trendy and the Long Bar was brilliant. You should also try the Purple Bar, very romantic for couples. Also have to mention the lifts which were like being in 3D space. We also had the Mad Hatters Afternoon Tea here which was excellent and quirky. Our only criticism was the noise from the bar at 1am but when we called down to reception they turned the music down slightly. The drinks were also very expensive but there were plenty of places to walk to if you wanted to go a bit cheaper.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thanks Lisa for your great review. It is wonderful to hear that you and your friend had a fabulous stay with us earlier this month. We are delighted that you enjoyed so many elements Sanderson has to offer and had the time to enjoy a few drinks in the Long Bar and Purple Bar, and also sample our Mad Hatters Afternoon Tea. We do hope you both treat yourself to another stay at Sanderson soon. Please let Katie.taylor@mhgc.com when you intend to return so that she can make sure your next visit is even more enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sanderson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Was just over for a long weekend at the end of September. Location is pretty great; a mellow side street off of the crowded and tacky Oxford street. Pretty close to several tube stops and the buses and cabs on Oxford. Easy walking distance to Regents, Liberty, Soho, British Museum, etc. Very central.
In typical Schrager fashion the rooms and public spaces are more funky than functional, and the party goes late and loud. As in past 2AM, in the courtyard under your window. We slept fine due to exhaustion and nice boozy dinners- and we are from NYC. But others may have issues. And I will say the bathrooms are a bit much- the shower and sink hardware is tough to use- there are no shelves or baskets in the shower so everything ends upon the floor, there isn't mush privacy while using the toilet, etc- typical Schrager/Morgan's style. I sort of like it.
Breakfasts were good. Concierge got us a nice reservation last minute at a popular restaurant. We arrived early in the morning and we were able to use the spa to shower and freshen up before storing our bags and heading out for the day. Nice attentive staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for choosing Sanderson as your base whilst you were in London and we are so pleased you enjoyed our central location and that our great Concierge team were able to help with your restaurant reservations. Thank you also for your comments on our guestrooms and bathrooms, we are soon to undergo an exciting renovation project so we welcome all feedback. We do hope that you come back to Sanderson when you next come to London, please let Katie.taylor@mhgc.com when you have a date in mind and she will personally oversee your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

I had the pleasure of staying at Sanderson in 2010 when I came to London for a wedding. The reception area is stunning with funky furniture and white silk sheets hanging from the walls giving the place a very lux feel. The room was gorgeous, sticking with the interesting furniture and silk curtain theme, beautiful bathroom/wet room and the bed was soooo comfy! The lift is crazy!!!! Almost pitch black with 3D holograms covering the walls and ceiling made you feel like you were floating in space :) after the wedding we went to the private bar reserved only for guests. My partner had a whisky cocktail & a G&T, I had 3 apple & mint martinis (UNBELIEVABLE!!) unfortunately so was the £90 bill! Good job I wasn't paying!

Last year I treated my Mum to dinner @ Suka for her birthday. We had a stunning Malaysian banquet with a free cocktail! I found the offer on TopTable so the meal was very good value. My only niggle is that the waiter asked if we wanted water for the table which we assumed would be free and it wasn't! Won't make that mistake again!!

If you have the money, you should definitely stay here. It can come across a little pretentious but it's a luxury 5* boutique hotel. It's supposed to be like that!! The staff are lovely, food and drink superb and if you're lucky you may spot a celeb in the Long Bar!
I will definitely come back to try the afternoon tea... And another apple and mint martini!! :D

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your review of Sanderson, you must make sure you return to us again soon as it has been too long since your last visit! We would love to see you for our Mad Hatters Afternoon Tea, if you contact greg.iglicki@mhgc.com he would be delighted to make sure you have an absolutely memorable experience, and if you need help with reservations at the hotel, Katie.taylor@mhgc.com will make sure that your next stay is even more enjoyable than your first visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sanderson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I have been staying at the Sanderson for many years-mostly staying there when i travel for business. Very comfortable hotel. Centrally located in Soho. Rates that are reasonnsable for that location. A staff that is very helpful. Only drawback will be for some, the very busy and sometimes a bit too loud bar. It is quite important to request a room on the upper floors and rooms that are far away from the bar. I did spend one or two nights in the past, trying to go to sleep with a lot of background noise coming from the bar! Restaurant is very good as well-both for breakfast and lunch/dinner. They also have a great terrace as part of the bar and restaurant. A deifinite recommend.

Room Tip: Request rooms on upper floors and away from the bar side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review and also for your recommendation. We are thrilled that you choose to stay at Sanderson when you visit London. Please let us know when you intend to return so that we can make your next stay extra special, Katie.taylor@mhgc.com is looking forward to hearing from you so she can help with your booking. We hope to see you at Sanderson in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stayed for 6 nights and overall my experience was positive. Fabulous location.

It didn't start well though when I rang to add another day to my booking. It seems that 'third party bookings' (I booked through Wotif), are considered as separate and I was told I needed to go back to the original booking and change it. My response was, er, you're the hotel reservation service, can't you help me? There was reluctance. Anyway we got over that hurdle, although with some insistence on my part!

Hotel was beautiful: decor stunning, rooms cool, clean and suitably minimalist for a hotel of this kind. Sheets and doona good quality,lots of towels and really nice bathroom products. Floaty curtains between bedroom and bathroom added to the atmosphere. One thing with the bathroom - it didn't have an electricity socket. When I asked about it I was told none of the rooms do. Huh? I needed to dry my hair and surely many men would need to shave??

At a practical level, I would have really liked to be able to make myself a cup of tea or coffee. Fridge full of alcohol, snacks and sweets but no tea or coffee. Given the price of the rooms it would be nice to have tea, coffee and a basic breakfast included in he rate.

I found the staff quite nice and helpful, yes they like to reflect the uber cool tone of the place, but that's to be expected.

I once read that the definition of a good hotel is a place you never want to leave. Six nights was too long for me at the Sanderson. A weekend would be great, but for me a longer term stay requires a more personal touch.

Maybe I'm just not cool enough....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your honest review of Sanderson, we appreciate all feedback so we can find out the areas where we need to improve. We are so glad that you found the hotel beautiful and that you loved our cool clean interior design, however we are sorry that you were disappointed with our personal service. We pride ourselves in offering the highest level of guest experience and always aim to make our guests feel welcome and at home at Sanderson so we apologise for letting you down whilst you were with us. We would also have been very happy to provide you with tea and coffee making facilities in your room. If there is anything you ever need whilst you are at Sanderson we will always do our best to provide it, so please ask us as we will always be happy to help. We very much hope you have the opportunity to come back to Sanderson so we can make sure your next stay far exceeds your expectations, please let Katie.taylor@mhgc.com know when you would like to make a booking so that she can personally oversee your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanderson London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanderson London Hotel

Address: 50 Berners Street, London W1T 3NG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in London
#106 Luxury Hotel in London
#114 Business Hotel in London
#114 Romantic Hotel in London
#235 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanderson London Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lavish "Urban Spa" in the heart of London’s West End, Sanderson offers a retreat from the bustle of the city into a world of fantasy and wellbeing. The landmarked 50s building has been transformed into a surreal Cocteau-like dream world, epitomizing a “new luxury” that is smart, pared down, and tempered with a healthy dose of wit and irony. Sanderson’s indoor/outdoor lobby is a layered and sophisticated environment that is totally original. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, LondonMarketing.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Sanderson London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Sanderson Hotel
Sanderson London Hotel England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanderson London Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.