We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sanderson is a very well located hotel in London” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sanderson London Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Sanderson London Hotel to your Saves list
Sanderson London Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Berners Street, London W1T 3NG, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% off, Book Today
Ranked #101 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Sanderson is a very well located hotel in London”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I have been staying at the Sanderson for many years-mostly staying there when i travel for business. Very comfortable hotel. Centrally located in Soho. Rates that are reasonnsable for that location. A staff that is very helpful. Only drawback will be for some, the very busy and sometimes a bit too loud bar. It is quite important to request a room on the upper floors and rooms that are far away from the bar. I did spend one or two nights in the past, trying to go to sleep with a lot of background noise coming from the bar! Restaurant is very good as well-both for breakfast and lunch/dinner. They also have a great terrace as part of the bar and restaurant. A deifinite recommend.

Room Tip: Request rooms on upper floors and away from the bar side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review and also for your recommendation. We are thrilled that you choose to stay at Sanderson when you visit London. Please let us know when you intend to return so that we can make your next stay extra special, Katie.taylor@mhgc.com is looking forward to hearing from you so she can help with your booking. We hope to see you at Sanderson in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    216
    81
    43
    23
See reviews for
61
352
64
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stayed for 6 nights and overall my experience was positive. Fabulous location.

It didn't start well though when I rang to add another day to my booking. It seems that 'third party bookings' (I booked through Wotif), are considered as separate and I was told I needed to go back to the original booking and change it. My response was, er, you're the hotel reservation service, can't you help me? There was reluctance. Anyway we got over that hurdle, although with some insistence on my part!

Hotel was beautiful: decor stunning, rooms cool, clean and suitably minimalist for a hotel of this kind. Sheets and doona good quality,lots of towels and really nice bathroom products. Floaty curtains between bedroom and bathroom added to the atmosphere. One thing with the bathroom - it didn't have an electricity socket. When I asked about it I was told none of the rooms do. Huh? I needed to dry my hair and surely many men would need to shave??

At a practical level, I would have really liked to be able to make myself a cup of tea or coffee. Fridge full of alcohol, snacks and sweets but no tea or coffee. Given the price of the rooms it would be nice to have tea, coffee and a basic breakfast included in he rate.

I found the staff quite nice and helpful, yes they like to reflect the uber cool tone of the place, but that's to be expected.

I once read that the definition of a good hotel is a place you never want to leave. Six nights was too long for me at the Sanderson. A weekend would be great, but for me a longer term stay requires a more personal touch.

Maybe I'm just not cool enough....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your honest review of Sanderson, we appreciate all feedback so we can find out the areas where we need to improve. We are so glad that you found the hotel beautiful and that you loved our cool clean interior design, however we are sorry that you were disappointed with our personal service. We pride ourselves in offering the highest level of guest experience and always aim to make our guests feel welcome and at home at Sanderson so we apologise for letting you down whilst you were with us. We would also have been very happy to provide you with tea and coffee making facilities in your room. If there is anything you ever need whilst you are at Sanderson we will always do our best to provide it, so please ask us as we will always be happy to help. We very much hope you have the opportunity to come back to Sanderson so we can make sure your next stay far exceeds your expectations, please let Katie.taylor@mhgc.com know when you would like to make a booking so that she can personally oversee your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Great service. Super clean design hotel. Friendly and 5 star experience. We loved the stay and look forward to coming back. Quite busy and smooth vibe in the evening bars. Rooms are superior. Spa access free and only minor catch is the 10 pound internet access.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We are so glad that you loved your time at Sanderson and are delighted that you intend to come back to see us again soon, please get in touch with Katie.taylor@mhgc.com when you would like to make your reservation as she would be delighted to oversee your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Too many mixed feelings about this hotel, so listed pros and cons below:

Pros:
Location - 2 mins walk from Oxford St shopping, 5 mins talk to 2 different tube stations. 3 mins walk to Charlotte St restaurants
Theme: Stunning lobby and lobby bars. Stunning pool room. Furniture is beautiful and beyond modern.
Rooms: Very beautiful and modern. Nicely decorated and provide an oasis to the city.

Cons:
There's a real snobbish feel about the staff. I was questioned in the lift (with my room key in my hand) if I was a guest of the hotel. Yes, I paid the exorbitant price to stay here. Yes, I had a room key, and yes, I also looked haggered and jet-lagged, but don't question people.
The lobby bar is a real destination for nearby workers to come have a drink after work, so it was very busy and noisy after 5pm
Way too overpriced for what it is - a funky hotel. No extra added services. No brekkie included or anything.
Elevator is disgusting. Its almost pitch black in there with solar-system-like walls and lights. It made me feel sick every time I entered it. Also, hallways to rooms are very dark.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your honest review of your time at Sanderson and although we are delighted that you loved the location and style of the hotel and our guestrooms, we are very disappointed to read that you felt uncomfortable during your stay, it is never our intention to make a guest feel unwelcome and we sincerely apologise if we came across ungraciously. We do hope that you allow us the opportunity to redeem ourselves by returning to Sanderson in the future, please contact Katie.taylor@mhgc.com so that she can personally ensure your next visit exceeds your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caerphilly
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

stayed for one night, very unusual furniture but looks really good, lovely modern room apart from odd picture on the ceiling above the bed, also no tea or coffee making facilities. would recomend this hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
It is always a great compliment when a guest recommends our hotel so thank you so much for your review and recommendation and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are happy to provide tea and coffee making facilities if you would like them, please come back to see us again and we will ensure you have the facilities waiting for you in your room. If you contact Katie.taylor@mhgc.com when you would like to make a booking she will personally oversee your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sanderson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Positives:
- Great Bed
- Great Room layout having the bathtub/shower open to the entire room
- Restaurant/Bar have great food and AMAZING COCKTAILS
- Great Customer Service, everyone was very helpful
(Stayed at the Langham Lonon on previous trip, they had horrible service)
- Great gym for a hotel

Needs Improvement
- Can't think of any just yet...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We are thrilled that you loved so much about Sanderson, and it is especially rewarding to hear that our great team helped to make your experience so memorable. We hope you have the opportunity to return for another visit very soon, please contact Katie.taylor@mhgc.com when you would like to make a booking and she will make sure your next experience is even more special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Excellent value for this neighborhood. Sanderson is one of those "ultra hip" "ultra modern" interior designs. If you are not into that sort of thing...it might be a little annoying. I particularly like it and think that the modern open design of the rooms really maximizes the space. However it is used in other places to cleverly disguise what are REALLY SMALL elevators and REALLY SMALL hallways. The dark hallways are just plain creepy. However the hotel is otherwise excellent with superb staff. For London breakfast is absolutely superb. Try to get a room not facing the bar. Its a bit loud at night.

Room Tip: Stay away from bar facing rooms. They are loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are so glad you like Sanderson’s iconic design and our modern use of space. We keep the lighting low in our hallways so that guests feel a sense of calm and tranquillity when they step out of the elevator and we hope that they are then dazzled by the light, bright open space of their modern and fresh guestroom. We hope you are able to come back to see us again soon, please let Katie.taylor@mhgc.com know when you would like to make your next booking as she would be delighted to personally oversee your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanderson London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanderson London Hotel

Address: 50 Berners Street, London W1T 3NG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in London
#83 Romantic Hotel in London
#83 Luxury Hotel in London
#84 Business Hotel in London
#125 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanderson London Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lavish "Urban Spa" in the heart of London’s West End, Sanderson offers a retreat from the bustle of the city into a world of fantasy and wellbeing. The landmarked 50s building has been transformed into a surreal Cocteau-like dream world, epitomizing a “new luxury” that is smart, pared down, and tempered with a healthy dose of wit and irony. Sanderson’s indoor/outdoor lobby is a layered and sophisticated environment that is totally original. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Venere, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sanderson London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Sanderson Hotel
Sanderson London Hotel England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanderson London Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.