We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutly fab!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanderson London Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sanderson London Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sanderson London Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Berners Street, London W1T 3NG, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer in the City.
Ranked #143 of 1,073 hotels in London
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutly fab!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Great service. Super clean design hotel. Friendly and 5 star experience. We loved the stay and look forward to coming back. Quite busy and smooth vibe in the evening bars. Rooms are superior. Spa access free and only minor catch is the 10 pound internet access.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We are so glad that you loved your time at Sanderson and are delighted that you intend to come back to see us again soon, please get in touch with Katie.taylor@mhgc.com when you would like to make your reservation as she would be delighted to oversee your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    403
    203
    78
    42
    23
See reviews for
52
317
62
185
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Too many mixed feelings about this hotel, so listed pros and cons below:

Pros:
Location - 2 mins walk from Oxford St shopping, 5 mins talk to 2 different tube stations. 3 mins walk to Charlotte St restaurants
Theme: Stunning lobby and lobby bars. Stunning pool room. Furniture is beautiful and beyond modern.
Rooms: Very beautiful and modern. Nicely decorated and provide an oasis to the city.

Cons:
There's a real snobbish feel about the staff. I was questioned in the lift (with my room key in my hand) if I was a guest of the hotel. Yes, I paid the exorbitant price to stay here. Yes, I had a room key, and yes, I also looked haggered and jet-lagged, but don't question people.
The lobby bar is a real destination for nearby workers to come have a drink after work, so it was very busy and noisy after 5pm
Way too overpriced for what it is - a funky hotel. No extra added services. No brekkie included or anything.
Elevator is disgusting. Its almost pitch black in there with solar-system-like walls and lights. It made me feel sick every time I entered it. Also, hallways to rooms are very dark.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your honest review of your time at Sanderson and although we are delighted that you loved the location and style of the hotel and our guestrooms, we are very disappointed to read that you felt uncomfortable during your stay, it is never our intention to make a guest feel unwelcome and we sincerely apologise if we came across ungraciously. We do hope that you allow us the opportunity to redeem ourselves by returning to Sanderson in the future, please contact Katie.taylor@mhgc.com so that she can personally ensure your next visit exceeds your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caerphilly
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

stayed for one night, very unusual furniture but looks really good, lovely modern room apart from odd picture on the ceiling above the bed, also no tea or coffee making facilities. would recomend this hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
It is always a great compliment when a guest recommends our hotel so thank you so much for your review and recommendation and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are happy to provide tea and coffee making facilities if you would like them, please come back to see us again and we will ensure you have the facilities waiting for you in your room. If you contact Katie.taylor@mhgc.com when you would like to make a booking she will personally oversee your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sanderson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Positives:
- Great Bed
- Great Room layout having the bathtub/shower open to the entire room
- Restaurant/Bar have great food and AMAZING COCKTAILS
- Great Customer Service, everyone was very helpful
(Stayed at the Langham Lonon on previous trip, they had horrible service)
- Great gym for a hotel

Needs Improvement
- Can't think of any just yet...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We are thrilled that you loved so much about Sanderson, and it is especially rewarding to hear that our great team helped to make your experience so memorable. We hope you have the opportunity to return for another visit very soon, please contact Katie.taylor@mhgc.com when you would like to make a booking and she will make sure your next experience is even more special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Excellent value for this neighborhood. Sanderson is one of those "ultra hip" "ultra modern" interior designs. If you are not into that sort of thing...it might be a little annoying. I particularly like it and think that the modern open design of the rooms really maximizes the space. However it is used in other places to cleverly disguise what are REALLY SMALL elevators and REALLY SMALL hallways. The dark hallways are just plain creepy. However the hotel is otherwise excellent with superb staff. For London breakfast is absolutely superb. Try to get a room not facing the bar. Its a bit loud at night.

Room Tip: Stay away from bar facing rooms. They are loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are so glad you like Sanderson’s iconic design and our modern use of space. We keep the lighting low in our hallways so that guests feel a sense of calm and tranquillity when they step out of the elevator and we hope that they are then dazzled by the light, bright open space of their modern and fresh guestroom. We hope you are able to come back to see us again soon, please let Katie.taylor@mhgc.com know when you would like to make your next booking as she would be delighted to personally oversee your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Despite the tired & dull exterior once you walk through the doors you are met with quirky chairs and decor. Bedrooms are smart but we did find the corridors quite dark and oppressive. Space lifts were a great hit with the children. Music from the bar not family friendly and eventually went off about 1.30am sunday morning but probably due to the power cut. We were on second floor but could hear it quite well. All staff were really friendly and spoke to us. We were made to feel welcome in our three day stay. Beds very comfortable. Rooms nice size for central London, we had a superior room. Staff were attentive and twice daily room attendant brilliant with a family. Lights dimmed and candle lit in evening a nice touch. Downsides were noise at/during night, also from guests. Queues at check out time we're long and process took about 15 mins. Didn't get to eat at hotel as was in London for a nearby launch. Excellent location for us.

Room Tip: Ask for room at end of corridor so other guests not passing at night and not above bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your experience at Sanderson – especially our space styled lifts and it is also pleasing to hear that our staff made your stay extra special. We are sorry that you found your room too noisy, please let Katie.taylor@mhgc.com know when you would like to make your next reservation and she will make sure you have a room in a quieter part of the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back at Sanderson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST YORKS
Top Contributor
373 reviews 373 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We recently stayed for the weekend at this perfectly located hotel.
Our welcome was very warm at reception and our room was found by taking the "galactic" lift which was an experience.
Our room was bright,large and very comfortable and the bed enormous.
The shower was good and the toiletries very pleasant.
We enjoyed a very good and comprehensive breakfast with a wide range of fruits,cereals,breads etc.
The cooked breakfast was very well cooked and again the service was excellent.
We enjoyed drinks in the"residents only" Purple bar and again we were very well looked after.
The prices are five star but to be fair so is the service.
The only slight complaint is that for the price we pay for the room we would expect tea and coffee making facilities.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your great review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your warm welcome at Sanderson and loved our space themed lifts, great guestrooms, restaurants and bars. Your feedback is much appreciated. We do provide tea and coffee making facilities in our guestrooms when requested, please accept our apologies if this was not explained to you. We hope you have the opportunity to return to Sanderson again, if you contact Katie.taylor@mhgc.com when you would like to make a booking she would be delighted to personally oversee your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sanderson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanderson London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanderson London Hotel

Address: 50 Berners Street, London W1T 3NG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in London
#106 Luxury Hotel in London
#114 Business Hotel in London
#114 Romantic Hotel in London
#235 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanderson London Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lavish "Urban Spa" in the heart of London’s West End, Sanderson offers a retreat from the bustle of the city into a world of fantasy and wellbeing. The landmarked 50s building has been transformed into a surreal Cocteau-like dream world, epitomizing a “new luxury” that is smart, pared down, and tempered with a healthy dose of wit and irony. Sanderson’s indoor/outdoor lobby is a layered and sophisticated environment that is totally original. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, LondonMarketing.com, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Sanderson London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Sanderson Hotel
Sanderson London Hotel England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanderson London Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.