We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sanderson London Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Sanderson London Hotel to your Saves list
Sanderson London Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Berners Street, London W1T 3NG, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% off, Book Today
Ranked #98 of 1,065 Hotels in London
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Excellent value for this neighborhood. Sanderson is one of those "ultra hip" "ultra modern" interior designs. If you are not into that sort of thing...it might be a little annoying. I particularly like it and think that the modern open design of the rooms really maximizes the space. However it is used in other places to cleverly disguise what are REALLY SMALL elevators and REALLY SMALL hallways. The dark hallways are just plain creepy. However the hotel is otherwise excellent with superb staff. For London breakfast is absolutely superb. Try to get a room not facing the bar. Its a bit loud at night.

Room Tip: Stay away from bar facing rooms. They are loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are so glad you like Sanderson’s iconic design and our modern use of space. We keep the lighting low in our hallways so that guests feel a sense of calm and tranquillity when they step out of the elevator and we hope that they are then dazzled by the light, bright open space of their modern and fresh guestroom. We hope you are able to come back to see us again soon, please let Katie.taylor@mhgc.com know when you would like to make your next booking as she would be delighted to personally oversee your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    217
    83
    43
    23
See reviews for
64
359
64
211
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chesham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Despite the tired & dull exterior once you walk through the doors you are met with quirky chairs and decor. Bedrooms are smart but we did find the corridors quite dark and oppressive. Space lifts were a great hit with the children. Music from the bar not family friendly and eventually went off about 1.30am sunday morning but probably due to the power cut. We were on second floor but could hear it quite well. All staff were really friendly and spoke to us. We were made to feel welcome in our three day stay. Beds very comfortable. Rooms nice size for central London, we had a superior room. Staff were attentive and twice daily room attendant brilliant with a family. Lights dimmed and candle lit in evening a nice touch. Downsides were noise at/during night, also from guests. Queues at check out time we're long and process took about 15 mins. Didn't get to eat at hotel as was in London for a nearby launch. Excellent location for us.

Room Tip: Ask for room at end of corridor so other guests not passing at night and not above bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your experience at Sanderson – especially our space styled lifts and it is also pleasing to hear that our staff made your stay extra special. We are sorry that you found your room too noisy, please let Katie.taylor@mhgc.com know when you would like to make your next reservation and she will make sure you have a room in a quieter part of the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back at Sanderson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST YORKS
Top Contributor
408 reviews 408 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We recently stayed for the weekend at this perfectly located hotel.
Our welcome was very warm at reception and our room was found by taking the "galactic" lift which was an experience.
Our room was bright,large and very comfortable and the bed enormous.
The shower was good and the toiletries very pleasant.
We enjoyed a very good and comprehensive breakfast with a wide range of fruits,cereals,breads etc.
The cooked breakfast was very well cooked and again the service was excellent.
We enjoyed drinks in the"residents only" Purple bar and again we were very well looked after.
The prices are five star but to be fair so is the service.
The only slight complaint is that for the price we pay for the room we would expect tea and coffee making facilities.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your great review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your warm welcome at Sanderson and loved our space themed lifts, great guestrooms, restaurants and bars. Your feedback is much appreciated. We do provide tea and coffee making facilities in our guestrooms when requested, please accept our apologies if this was not explained to you. We hope you have the opportunity to return to Sanderson again, if you contact Katie.taylor@mhgc.com when you would like to make a booking she would be delighted to personally oversee your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sanderson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We love staying at this hotel while we are in London. It's not the newest of places but is still a London landmark. The bars, the people, the food. The rooms are a bit small but that's london. We stay here as much as possible

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
It is a wonderful compliment to hear that our guests love the Sanderson experience so much they make it their regular home when in London. Thank you so much for choosing Sanderson when are here. Please make sure you tell us when you are coming to stay so that we can ensure your next visit is even more special. Katie.taylor@mhgc.com is looking forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Fantastic lobby, super rooms and friendly and helpful staff. The effect of the curtain 'walls' in the hotel lobby and rooms is marvelous, almost magical.
In all a very pleasant and comfortable stay. Close to Oxford st. and Piccadilly Circus.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your time at Sanderson and that you particularly liked the surreal dream world created by Philippe Starck’s interior design. Please do come back to stay with us again, Katie.taylor@mhgc.com would love to hear from you when you would like to make a booking so that she can personally oversee your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Recently stayed for 3 nights on a business trip at the Sanderson in London. Gorgeous hotel!!
Loved the room, bed was amazingly comfortable. Also loved the restaurant and bar. Great location close to Oxford St.
Service was also wonderful and staff really friendly and helpful.
I will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We are thrilled you loved so much about Sanderson and are delighted to see that you intend to come back to stay with us again, if you contact Katie.taylor@mhgc.com she will ensure your next visit is even more enjoyable. Thank you for such a great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

The staff at this hotel are outstanding. The food is truly fantastic and the room design is unique and brilliant. There was no aspect of my stay that was negative in any way. This is definitely a hotel that I would be happy to stay at again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review, we are always delighted to hear that our guests have experienced something extra special when staying with us. We certainly hope you come back to see us again soon, please let Katie.taylor@mhgc.com know when you would like to return so that she can personally oversee your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanderson London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanderson London Hotel

Address: 50 Berners Street, London W1T 3NG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in London
#74 Business Hotel in London
#80 Romantic Hotel in London
#80 Luxury Hotel in London
#116 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanderson London Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lavish "Urban Spa" in the heart of London’s West End, Sanderson offers a retreat from the bustle of the city into a world of fantasy and wellbeing. The landmarked 50s building has been transformed into a surreal Cocteau-like dream world, epitomizing a “new luxury” that is smart, pared down, and tempered with a healthy dose of wit and irony. Sanderson’s indoor/outdoor lobby is a layered and sophisticated environment that is totally original. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LondonMarketing.com, Booking.com, Venere, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sanderson London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Sanderson Hotel
Sanderson London Hotel England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanderson London Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.