We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanderson London Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Sanderson London Hotel to your Saves list
Sanderson London Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Berners Street, London W1T 3NG, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% off, Book Today
Ranked #99 of 1,065 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“brilliant hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

i have never done anything like this so it was a first and probably the last as it was all paid for. when we arrived the doorman took our cases to reception, staff very helpful as it was early we were just going to leave our cases and go shopping but room ready so dumped cases and went shopping just off oxford st so ideal. later in the day we had a spa treatment , i had back neck and shoulder massage my sister has a facial, absolute bliss. in the evening we had a restaruant booked and didnt have clue where it was so reception googled map for us then called us a taxi as to far to walk. called room service a couple of times very good. full english breakfast sunday morning yum yum. A little noisy at night as our room faced out on to the road and people coming in late had no thought when walking down the corridor. room lovely could not fault, mini bar was pricey but you dont have to use it. A totally briliant weekend.

Room Tip: ask for a room that is not overlooking the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments, we’re so pleased that you and your sister enjoyed your first stay at Sanderson. It is lovely to know that you also had an opportunity to experience agua, our urban spa, and that every member of the team you encountered demonstrated our core values so fully to ensure a brilliant stay. We definitely hope it won’t be your last stay, we have special offers on our website and please do let us know when you have a chance to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    217
    83
    43
    23
See reviews for
64
359
64
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Millburn, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The lobby is 5 star chic. So is the elevator. The rooms too.
But the functionality is about one star

The rooms (and I've stayed in 3 different ones) suffer from Boutique Hotel Syndrome: no thought was given to anything a traveler might actually need or want.

OUTLETS: Hidden in the corners of the room, not particularly accessible from the bed or desk, hard to find. (PLUS - they do provide a complimentary adapter. MINUS - it's buried in the mini-bar in between the condoms and the cashews, not on the desk where one might actually look for it)

NOISE: The rooms are noisy. There is a very active bar scene and it spills out to the front of the hotel and to the interior atrium every night until around 2AM. There are a few rooms that overlook the back, but if you want a quiet night's sleep, this isn't the place.

SERVICE: If you ask the staff to do something (fetch a taxi, help with bags, etc.) they are quite gracious and accommodating. But you have to ask and that's what separates a great hotel from a good one. The hotel has a large number of non-guests coming in and out at all hours to use the bar, the spa and the gym, and I suspect that is why it's tough for them to figure out who is a guest and who just wandered in to check out the lobby. That's an explanation not an excuse - I'd rather have the doorman ask me if I need a taxi every time I leave the hotel versus walking outside, noting an absence of cabs in front of the hotel and having to turn around and ask the doorman if he could please find one for me. They are extremely helpful once you ask, but anticipating needs is what the service business is all about.

GYM: Excellent. One of the best hotel gyms I've seen, especially in Europe. BUT... they seem to cater to non-guests who have gym memberships (and their personal trainers) which has the effect of making the actual hotel guests feel like intruders.

BAR: Lively, but feels touristy rather than chic and local. Really loud too.

ROOM SERVICE: Excellent food, excellent service... to a point. No attempts ever made to collect the dishes when you're done

BREAKFAST: The buffet breakfast is very ample, very tasty and the servers are very good too. Breakfast is often included in the room rate as part of their package deals

INTERNET: They charge for WiFi, though you don't have to log in daily and the speed is pretty good for a hotel - I was getting about 5 up and 5 down, which is about 1/10 of what I get at home, but faster than connecting via my phone

LOCATION: Excellent location in Fitzrovia, near SoHo and Oxford Circus, you can pretty much walk anywhere in the West End in about a half hour-- cross Oxford Street and continue on Wardour and there are a many excellent restaurant options

BATHROOM: More Starck madness: there's just a curtain and glass separating the bathroom from the bedroom, so if you wake up in the middle of the night and you're sharing a room, be prepared to wake up your partner. The shower has no lip on it to stop the water from coming out, so you need to put a towel in front of it or wind up with a wet floor. The soap dish in the shower is tiny and only holds two bottles: if you're using shampoo, conditioner and body wash, you're out of luck. Excellent products though each item - shampoo, body wash, conditioner, lotion - is a different (strong) scent, and that kind of defeats the purpose.

BEDS: Very comfortable - linens are soft and not overly heavy or light - just right. Lots of pillows too.

Room Tip: Demand a room facing the back - away from the front and the atrium both of which are really, really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post such a comprehensive review and we are pleased to note that you enjoyed many elements of the hotel, including the location, sleigh bed, Room Service, breakfast, gym, and our Malin+Goetz amenities. We are committed to authentic and original guest service at all times and your feedback will be discussed with the team. It is disappointing if we let you down in some areas and if we had been aware of any concern or special request during your stay, we would have been very pleased to discuss with you. This would also have allowed us the opportunity to review for a room move if you were disturbed by noise and update your guest history to highlight high floor. Our Purple Bar is a smaller, more personal residents bar which now offers a bespoke cocktail menu. We would love to welcome you back when you are next in London and please do contact me direct at that time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This hotel is a cut well above the rest. In a fantastic location just off the madness of Oxford Street and beside many superb places to eat and drink. The main bar is excellent serving some of the best cocktails I have been fortunate to sample. Bar staff could be a little more attentive, most of them seemed to be employed for their looks rather than their work ethic. But the the quality of their product were fantastic and made up for any shot comings.
Rooms are very cool, although it took a little time to get used to.
I really enjoyed this hotel and I shall be back in the near future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
We are thrilled to know that you had a fantastic experience with us, and that you particularly enjoyed the delicious cocktails that our excellent mixology team create. We are also delighted to note that you will be back to stay with us and please let us know at that time, we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Sanderson from 10th to the 12th Nov. We booked here as friends we were meeting had stayed previously and recommended. The hotel is very stylish if a little random in places! If you want to stay somewhere stylish, different and close to Oxford St and West End this is the hotel for you.
However if you want somewhere with good soundproofing, stylish yet practical and attentive service from waiting staff this may not be the hotel for you?
As stated in the title the big plus for this hotel is its location, only 15 mins in cab from Euston and a few minutes stroll onto Oxford Street. We had a great weekend but I probably would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
We are very proud of our central location and pleased that this element also appealed to you. Equally we are very sorry for any less than attentive service and this will be discussed, if we had been aware of such disappointment during your stay, we would have been pleased to discuss. We hope you will consider having another great weekend with us, and please let us know when you are next staying so that we can oversee your stay, including quiet room allocation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

it is hard to feel completely comfortable in a hotel that has a bar used by prostitutes and businessmen. Every Tuesday and Wednesday they also hire out the courtyard for functions that can go well into the night with loud music till the last customer leaves...which could be 5am.
the turn-down service was slack. our room was only turned-down 2 times in two-weeks.
they have scraped the extensive dvd library and instead have a tiny selection (15 films) chosen through the tv.

Room Tip: top floor front side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
We are very sorry that your enjoyment of the hotel was impacted and if we had been aware of any concern during your stay, we would have been pleased to discuss with you. As a responsible operator, we take our licensing obligations extremely seriously and if we are aware of any detrimental behaviour impacting our guests - by resident or visitor - our Security team will immediately investigate and, if appropriate, walk individual/s from the hotel. We do not take such allegations lightly and, as such, if you are able to let me know any specific details regarding date, time, description, etc., that would be most welcome in order to further investigate - please contact me direct. Whilst we have hosted two exclusive events in the previous month, this is not a regular occurrence and we do not have regular weekly events in the Courtyard, nor would we permit any event to go through to 5AM or, indeed, outside of our license permitted hours. When such an event is being held, we ensure our guests are advised of such fact. In relation to “loud music”, there is sound monitoring in place on an hourly basis and it is strictly regulated in accordance to the Environmental Health guidelines and controlled through the use of a limiter. In response to guest demand for more TV channel selections and more choice of current film releases, we introduced a new TV entertainment system, and we would have followed up on your turndown requirement if we had known of any disappointment. I look forward to speaking with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We arrived early in the moring and our rooms were ready within 30 minutes for check in. Hotel staff was super friendly, from the front desk to the restaurant manager they could not do enough for us to make us welcome. Super trendy bar at night. Hotel lobby & rooms are very modern and our room we stayed in was fantastic, we stayed in a deluxe room on the 2nd floor. Breakfast was really delicous and service outstanding. Could not have been more pleased. The location of the hotel is in walking distance to a lot of great places, British Museum, lots of great shopping, trendy restaurants all around. Definelty recommend this hotel to the sophisticated traveler.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Sigrid, thank you for your fantastic comments! We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel and we very much appreciate your lovely comments on service, room and location. We will always aim to have rooms ready as quickly as possible for early arriving guests, subject to availability, and I am pleased to note that this was particularly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sanderson and please let us know when you are next staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We've not been to London for many years, but we won't wait so long to return. Our stay at the Sanderson was impeccable from beginning to end. How is it possible for their staff to remember our names (at any time of the day) is just a small indication of the level of service the Sanderson offers. We felt as welcome as if we were regulars. The hotel is a Stark redesign of the wonderful Sanderson Head Showroom, located in the worldly Soho district, that is still a fantastic mid century modern building. To say that a Stark inspired interior still resonates in todays ever evolving design aesthetic is wonderful. The room was spacious, clean and well appointed. We enjoyed room service twice, both times incredible (the Beef Bourguignon is incredible and worth skipping a night on the town). If shopping, dining or West End theatre are on your itinerary, I strongly recommend staying here. Singing in the Rain was fantastic entertainment as were the restaurants on Charlotte street for wonderful dining. Selfridges is a luxury shopping dream come true. Back at the Sanderson, after being greeted home by the ever attentive doorman, one could relax, have a smart cocktail at the bar with the local London urbanites or shop at Luna And Curious in the lobby. The Sanderson became our refuge after taking in the endless sites of London over a late August long weekend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We are so thrilled that you had such a memorable stay at Sanderson, it’s always our intention to create a unique guest experience and thank you very much for your lovely feedback. We are very proud of our design heritage as a Grade II* listed building and we are pleased to note that you enjoyed so many elements of the hotel – service, location, food and beverage – as well as the beautiful gifts in Luna & Curious. We look forward to you taking refuge again with us when you are next in London and hope you’ll have an opportunity to enjoy agua, our urban spa, on that occasion. Please do let us know when you are next staying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanderson London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanderson London Hotel

Address: 50 Berners Street, London W1T 3NG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in London
#75 Business Hotel in London
#81 Romantic Hotel in London
#81 Luxury Hotel in London
#116 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanderson London Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lavish "Urban Spa" in the heart of London’s West End, Sanderson offers a retreat from the bustle of the city into a world of fantasy and wellbeing. The landmarked 50s building has been transformed into a surreal Cocteau-like dream world, epitomizing a “new luxury” that is smart, pared down, and tempered with a healthy dose of wit and irony. Sanderson’s indoor/outdoor lobby is a layered and sophisticated environment that is totally original. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LondonMarketing.com, Booking.com, Venere, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sanderson London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Sanderson Hotel
Sanderson London Hotel England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanderson London Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.