We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanderson London Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sanderson London Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sanderson London Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Berners Street, London W1T 3NG, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #122 of 1,054 Hotels in London
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This hotel is a cut well above the rest. In a fantastic location just off the madness of Oxford Street and beside many superb places to eat and drink. The main bar is excellent serving some of the best cocktails I have been fortunate to sample. Bar staff could be a little more attentive, most of them seemed to be employed for their looks rather than their work ethic. But the the quality of their product were fantastic and made up for any shot comings.
Rooms are very cool, although it took a little time to get used to.
I really enjoyed this hotel and I shall be back in the near future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
We are thrilled to know that you had a fantastic experience with us, and that you particularly enjoyed the delicious cocktails that our excellent mixology team create. We are also delighted to note that you will be back to stay with us and please let us know at that time, we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    206
    78
    42
    23
See reviews for
56
325
63
192
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Sanderson from 10th to the 12th Nov. We booked here as friends we were meeting had stayed previously and recommended. The hotel is very stylish if a little random in places! If you want to stay somewhere stylish, different and close to Oxford St and West End this is the hotel for you.
However if you want somewhere with good soundproofing, stylish yet practical and attentive service from waiting staff this may not be the hotel for you?
As stated in the title the big plus for this hotel is its location, only 15 mins in cab from Euston and a few minutes stroll onto Oxford Street. We had a great weekend but I probably would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
We are very proud of our central location and pleased that this element also appealed to you. Equally we are very sorry for any less than attentive service and this will be discussed, if we had been aware of such disappointment during your stay, we would have been pleased to discuss. We hope you will consider having another great weekend with us, and please let us know when you are next staying so that we can oversee your stay, including quiet room allocation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

it is hard to feel completely comfortable in a hotel that has a bar used by prostitutes and businessmen. Every Tuesday and Wednesday they also hire out the courtyard for functions that can go well into the night with loud music till the last customer leaves...which could be 5am.
the turn-down service was slack. our room was only turned-down 2 times in two-weeks.
they have scraped the extensive dvd library and instead have a tiny selection (15 films) chosen through the tv.

Room Tip: top floor front side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
We are very sorry that your enjoyment of the hotel was impacted and if we had been aware of any concern during your stay, we would have been pleased to discuss with you. As a responsible operator, we take our licensing obligations extremely seriously and if we are aware of any detrimental behaviour impacting our guests - by resident or visitor - our Security team will immediately investigate and, if appropriate, walk individual/s from the hotel. We do not take such allegations lightly and, as such, if you are able to let me know any specific details regarding date, time, description, etc., that would be most welcome in order to further investigate - please contact me direct. Whilst we have hosted two exclusive events in the previous month, this is not a regular occurrence and we do not have regular weekly events in the Courtyard, nor would we permit any event to go through to 5AM or, indeed, outside of our license permitted hours. When such an event is being held, we ensure our guests are advised of such fact. In relation to “loud music”, there is sound monitoring in place on an hourly basis and it is strictly regulated in accordance to the Environmental Health guidelines and controlled through the use of a limiter. In response to guest demand for more TV channel selections and more choice of current film releases, we introduced a new TV entertainment system, and we would have followed up on your turndown requirement if we had known of any disappointment. I look forward to speaking with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We arrived early in the moring and our rooms were ready within 30 minutes for check in. Hotel staff was super friendly, from the front desk to the restaurant manager they could not do enough for us to make us welcome. Super trendy bar at night. Hotel lobby & rooms are very modern and our room we stayed in was fantastic, we stayed in a deluxe room on the 2nd floor. Breakfast was really delicous and service outstanding. Could not have been more pleased. The location of the hotel is in walking distance to a lot of great places, British Museum, lots of great shopping, trendy restaurants all around. Definelty recommend this hotel to the sophisticated traveler.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Sigrid, thank you for your fantastic comments! We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel and we very much appreciate your lovely comments on service, room and location. We will always aim to have rooms ready as quickly as possible for early arriving guests, subject to availability, and I am pleased to note that this was particularly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sanderson and please let us know when you are next staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We've not been to London for many years, but we won't wait so long to return. Our stay at the Sanderson was impeccable from beginning to end. How is it possible for their staff to remember our names (at any time of the day) is just a small indication of the level of service the Sanderson offers. We felt as welcome as if we were regulars. The hotel is a Stark redesign of the wonderful Sanderson Head Showroom, located in the worldly Soho district, that is still a fantastic mid century modern building. To say that a Stark inspired interior still resonates in todays ever evolving design aesthetic is wonderful. The room was spacious, clean and well appointed. We enjoyed room service twice, both times incredible (the Beef Bourguignon is incredible and worth skipping a night on the town). If shopping, dining or West End theatre are on your itinerary, I strongly recommend staying here. Singing in the Rain was fantastic entertainment as were the restaurants on Charlotte street for wonderful dining. Selfridges is a luxury shopping dream come true. Back at the Sanderson, after being greeted home by the ever attentive doorman, one could relax, have a smart cocktail at the bar with the local London urbanites or shop at Luna And Curious in the lobby. The Sanderson became our refuge after taking in the endless sites of London over a late August long weekend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We are so thrilled that you had such a memorable stay at Sanderson, it’s always our intention to create a unique guest experience and thank you very much for your lovely feedback. We are very proud of our design heritage as a Grade II* listed building and we are pleased to note that you enjoyed so many elements of the hotel – service, location, food and beverage – as well as the beautiful gifts in Luna & Curious. We look forward to you taking refuge again with us when you are next in London and hope you’ll have an opportunity to enjoy agua, our urban spa, on that occasion. Please do let us know when you are next staying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

It is unfortunate that i have to write a review for the Sanderson which scores so badly but unfortuately the staff on reception and the arrangement of the concierge is such that i do not believe they should be a 5 star.

Let's start with the good stuff:

Breakfasts - these were excellent with good service, although some people may find the staff a bit over friendly, they have clearly been taught to rehearse the same lines to everyone to make them feel valued. In some hotels this works, in the Sanderson it seemed a bit contrived, but that could have been because we had such a bad stay there.

The Manager - if you have a problem and the staff are not responding then make sure you contact him. He is the only one with any authority and we ended up feeling sorry for him because the people working for him at the front desk and in housekeeping were clearly very badly trained. Either that, or he was not managing them well....

The less good stuff:

The rooms have HORRENDOUS soundproofing.

The housekeeping staff have a manager who comes to check on the rooms once they have been serviced, but be aware that he does not knock and may barge in at any time. When we rang the front desk to complain, the girl did not seem at all bothered and we have no doubt the message was not passed on.

The front of house. There is no concierge on the door to help you carry bags from your taxi or assist you in any way. After check in you are offered the service of a bell man, but by this point you have done the hard bit!

The reception desk staff. We didn't meet one person on the front desk who was properly trained, or who understood our requests or complaints. It took several phone calls to establish that we wanted an extra reading lamp in the room, the receptionist thought we needed an engineer despite the fact we never reported a fault, we just asked for an extra light!

On check in we were combining two independent bookings which our agent had attempted to do prior to our arrival but with no luck [probably due to the staff on the front desk being so uncapable]. We successfully arranged it so we could stay in the same room and provided the usual credit card details for the extras. The following day we were then hounded all afternoon by the girl who had checked us in to go and pay for the previous night and the extras incurred. She hadn't combined the two bookings at all and expected us to "pay as we went" in order to make her life easier. Eventually the manager looked after the situation but the receptionist was so incompetent and rude when we were trying to explain the situation.

Later on in the day, we again had to call on the reception staff for assistance and even after 3 calls and 45 minutes our request was not met.

Soundproofing is horrendous. There are other reviews that suggest not being above the bar and we would echo this. You can hear it all day and night and everything that goes on in the corridors as well.

All in all the place needs to retrain their staff or get better skilled personnel for the front desk. This is the part of the hotel that leaves the biggest impression on a guest and for us we would have received better service in a budget hotel.

Room Tip: the higher the better i guess, but go elsewhere, you can spend this sort of money and get real five...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a complete review and it is obviously disappointing that we let you down. Please accept our sincere apologies for any miscommunication in relation to the request for signing a new registration card – as you mention, there were two separate bookings in the system and a signature was required for both, however we do not appear to have communicated in a more attentive or gracious manner. As soon as the Front Office Manager was aware of your disappointment, he organised a 50% discount on your own rate and a complimentary bottle of champagne together with an invitation to contact him direct on a future stay. There is no excuse for any member of staff entering a room without the proper procedure, we are also sorry if a member of the bell team was not available on arrival to help with luggage. These service issues will be addressed with the relevant members of staff. I would also be pleased to speak with you personally and take the opportunity to discuss a return to the hotel, please contact me on kevin.rockey@mhgc.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

We needed a place to stay while being stuck in London due to hurricane Sandy. The Sanderson's staff couldn't have been more accommodating. From laundry service, to arranging meeting space, to the fabulous bar tender, we couldn't have been more pleased. The rooms are gorgeous. Breakfast was delicious. And the decor is funky and modern, while still being quite comfortable. We loved it!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you so much, Keith, for your feedback, we are delighted that you loved us. We understood the impact the Hurricane Sandy had for many of our guests and we very much appreciate your kind comments in relation to our service in response. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sanderson when you are next in London and please do let us know when you have another reservation in place at Sanderson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanderson London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanderson London Hotel

Address: 50 Berners Street, London W1T 3NG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in London
#93 Business Hotel in London
#97 Luxury Hotel in London
#99 Romantic Hotel in London
#177 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanderson London Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lavish "Urban Spa" in the heart of London’s West End, Sanderson offers a retreat from the bustle of the city into a world of fantasy and wellbeing. The landmarked 50s building has been transformed into a surreal Cocteau-like dream world, epitomizing a “new luxury” that is smart, pared down, and tempered with a healthy dose of wit and irony. Sanderson’s indoor/outdoor lobby is a layered and sophisticated environment that is totally original. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Loews Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Tingo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Booking.com, LondonMarketing.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sanderson London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Sanderson Hotel
Sanderson London Hotel England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanderson London Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.