We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanderson London Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sanderson London Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sanderson London Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Berners Street, London W1T 3NG, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer in the City.
Ranked #167 of 1,075 hotels in London
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We arrived early in the moring and our rooms were ready within 30 minutes for check in. Hotel staff was super friendly, from the front desk to the restaurant manager they could not do enough for us to make us welcome. Super trendy bar at night. Hotel lobby & rooms are very modern and our room we stayed in was fantastic, we stayed in a deluxe room on the 2nd floor. Breakfast was really delicous and service outstanding. Could not have been more pleased. The location of the hotel is in walking distance to a lot of great places, British Museum, lots of great shopping, trendy restaurants all around. Definelty recommend this hotel to the sophisticated traveler.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Sigrid, thank you for your fantastic comments! We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel and we very much appreciate your lovely comments on service, room and location. We will always aim to have rooms ready as quickly as possible for early arriving guests, subject to availability, and I am pleased to note that this was particularly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sanderson and please let us know when you are next staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    378
    193
    78
    44
    22
See reviews for
46
304
60
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We've not been to London for many years, but we won't wait so long to return. Our stay at the Sanderson was impeccable from beginning to end. How is it possible for their staff to remember our names (at any time of the day) is just a small indication of the level of service the Sanderson offers. We felt as welcome as if we were regulars. The hotel is a Stark redesign of the wonderful Sanderson Head Showroom, located in the worldly Soho district, that is still a fantastic mid century modern building. To say that a Stark inspired interior still resonates in todays ever evolving design aesthetic is wonderful. The room was spacious, clean and well appointed. We enjoyed room service twice, both times incredible (the Beef Bourguignon is incredible and worth skipping a night on the town). If shopping, dining or West End theatre are on your itinerary, I strongly recommend staying here. Singing in the Rain was fantastic entertainment as were the restaurants on Charlotte street for wonderful dining. Selfridges is a luxury shopping dream come true. Back at the Sanderson, after being greeted home by the ever attentive doorman, one could relax, have a smart cocktail at the bar with the local London urbanites or shop at Luna And Curious in the lobby. The Sanderson became our refuge after taking in the endless sites of London over a late August long weekend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We are so thrilled that you had such a memorable stay at Sanderson, it’s always our intention to create a unique guest experience and thank you very much for your lovely feedback. We are very proud of our design heritage as a Grade II* listed building and we are pleased to note that you enjoyed so many elements of the hotel – service, location, food and beverage – as well as the beautiful gifts in Luna & Curious. We look forward to you taking refuge again with us when you are next in London and hope you’ll have an opportunity to enjoy agua, our urban spa, on that occasion. Please do let us know when you are next staying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

It is unfortunate that i have to write a review for the Sanderson which scores so badly but unfortuately the staff on reception and the arrangement of the concierge is such that i do not believe they should be a 5 star.

Let's start with the good stuff:

Breakfasts - these were excellent with good service, although some people may find the staff a bit over friendly, they have clearly been taught to rehearse the same lines to everyone to make them feel valued. In some hotels this works, in the Sanderson it seemed a bit contrived, but that could have been because we had such a bad stay there.

The Manager - if you have a problem and the staff are not responding then make sure you contact him. He is the only one with any authority and we ended up feeling sorry for him because the people working for him at the front desk and in housekeeping were clearly very badly trained. Either that, or he was not managing them well....

The less good stuff:

The rooms have HORRENDOUS soundproofing.

The housekeeping staff have a manager who comes to check on the rooms once they have been serviced, but be aware that he does not knock and may barge in at any time. When we rang the front desk to complain, the girl did not seem at all bothered and we have no doubt the message was not passed on.

The front of house. There is no concierge on the door to help you carry bags from your taxi or assist you in any way. After check in you are offered the service of a bell man, but by this point you have done the hard bit!

The reception desk staff. We didn't meet one person on the front desk who was properly trained, or who understood our requests or complaints. It took several phone calls to establish that we wanted an extra reading lamp in the room, the receptionist thought we needed an engineer despite the fact we never reported a fault, we just asked for an extra light!

On check in we were combining two independent bookings which our agent had attempted to do prior to our arrival but with no luck [probably due to the staff on the front desk being so uncapable]. We successfully arranged it so we could stay in the same room and provided the usual credit card details for the extras. The following day we were then hounded all afternoon by the girl who had checked us in to go and pay for the previous night and the extras incurred. She hadn't combined the two bookings at all and expected us to "pay as we went" in order to make her life easier. Eventually the manager looked after the situation but the receptionist was so incompetent and rude when we were trying to explain the situation.

Later on in the day, we again had to call on the reception staff for assistance and even after 3 calls and 45 minutes our request was not met.

Soundproofing is horrendous. There are other reviews that suggest not being above the bar and we would echo this. You can hear it all day and night and everything that goes on in the corridors as well.

All in all the place needs to retrain their staff or get better skilled personnel for the front desk. This is the part of the hotel that leaves the biggest impression on a guest and for us we would have received better service in a budget hotel.

Room Tip: the higher the better i guess, but go elsewhere, you can spend this sort of money and get real five...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a complete review and it is obviously disappointing that we let you down. Please accept our sincere apologies for any miscommunication in relation to the request for signing a new registration card – as you mention, there were two separate bookings in the system and a signature was required for both, however we do not appear to have communicated in a more attentive or gracious manner. As soon as the Front Office Manager was aware of your disappointment, he organised a 50% discount on your own rate and a complimentary bottle of champagne together with an invitation to contact him direct on a future stay. There is no excuse for any member of staff entering a room without the proper procedure, we are also sorry if a member of the bell team was not available on arrival to help with luggage. These service issues will be addressed with the relevant members of staff. I would also be pleased to speak with you personally and take the opportunity to discuss a return to the hotel, please contact me on kevin.rockey@mhgc.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

We needed a place to stay while being stuck in London due to hurricane Sandy. The Sanderson's staff couldn't have been more accommodating. From laundry service, to arranging meeting space, to the fabulous bar tender, we couldn't have been more pleased. The rooms are gorgeous. Breakfast was delicious. And the decor is funky and modern, while still being quite comfortable. We loved it!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you so much, Keith, for your feedback, we are delighted that you loved us. We understood the impact the Hurricane Sandy had for many of our guests and we very much appreciate your kind comments in relation to our service in response. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sanderson when you are next in London and please do let us know when you have another reservation in place at Sanderson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed with a group of girls for a "classy" hen night. Booked in with confusion over credit card guarantee etc... Requested an early book in but didn't get one. In fact, left luggage and took a walk into town to return to still no rooms ready....
No concierge at door when we arrived, heavy front doors.... Random furniture with plain front desk... Lifts amazing! Blinged up and beautiful!
Afternoon tea ok, I've had better ill be honest. Breakfast amazing! Best ever...
Rooms sparce.. With no privacy for groups sharing :(( double superior room had two beds that weren't double but three-quarter which disappointed.... No kettle in room either and the view was awful of fire escapes and the back of a building.....
Girls congregated in one room to surprise hen in question and at only 6.30 received complaints from adjoining room... Was asked to leave room and go downstairs by manager, not impressed....... We had originally requested adjoining rooms by were located on different floors!
I won't be returning and certainly not st those prices!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We will always endeavour to meet our guests’ special requests such as early arrival, however it is subject to availability and cannot be guaranteed. We are sorry if this was not made known to you and also for the lack of assistance on arrival, this will be discussed with the bell team. We do not encourage any partying in our rooms and if we receive a complaint, we will investigate to request consideration for other residents. We have a very limited number of rooms with two beds, and images and descriptions of all room types are included on our website. The designs of Ian Schrager and Philippe Starck have a story behind them and we are always pleased to talk about the ethos behind the various images. We apologise if we did not meet your expectations, if you do consider staying with us again, please let us know when a future reservation is in place as we would be very pleased to oversee your booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Got to stay here several nights on a work visit to London. Being part of the Morgan's Hotel Group, and sister to St. Martin's Lane Hotel, I assumed this would be a great hotel which it was.

Location is great. Assuming you stay in a particular part of London either for work or to tour, this part of town is nice. It's a more affluent crowd with a lot of cool old pubs around, plenty of places to eat, and quick 5-10 minute walk to several tube stations, safe.

Hotel is expected Morgan's hip/chic. Gigantic lip sofa when you walk in, modern look, really cool elevator that had a quasi-3D illuminated star constellation on the ceiling. For London the room size was pretty good, nice bed and amenities, nice shower, very clean, view of the street and adjacent office building. Service was also good for what I encountered but didn't talk to the front desk much or use any facilities. The bar on the ground floor is particularly cool with an interesting varying scene. Drinks are not cheap, but good, so its cool to stop in after dinner, have a drink, and clock out.

My only complaint might be the room rates out of a corporate arrangement, but you're paying for the location and that it's a Morgan's hotel. For a work visit it was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We are delighted that you had a chance to stay with us and that you enjoyed so many elements of Sanderson. We have a great mixologist team for the bars and they love to create both modern and traditional cocktails with a twist. We look forward to welcoming you back (to Sanderson or St Martins Lane) and please let us know when you are returning to either property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I make a disicion to book my VIP guests at this hotel because I like the design.
I booked 1 deluxe King and 2 Twins on 19-20 Oct and 24-16th Oct.
But when I start making my booking I come across I can only fill in one guest name on the booking form for Twin room! And I need to fill in 2 names because of the VISA application.
Finally I have to call thier customer service and it put me through Canada, The people who work there are hardly understand what I need and most of the time I feel like I was talking to the robot!
Eventually I manage to speak to the london hotel booking team and get all my guests names in a writen confirmation manually.The london team has make so much mistake of the spelling and it took me numerous time to get it right!
By the time we check in, they make a mistake by given my guests 2 deluxe and 1 twin.- I only found out when the guests check out!
We were away for few days and check in again and this time they make the same mistake!!!!!
It was around 7pm and all the twins rooms were taken and Nigel offer 2 double room instead but he didn't mention this is a joining room! My guests have to stay with thier children so we didn't take it. Furture more, we were ask for a late check out on 26th Oct and non of the check in staffs know about this!!!
They have no conmunacations between management and staffs!
The feed back from my guests is they serve the worse coffee in town!!!!! and I wonder the manager have tasted thier own coffee!!!!!
Unfortunatelly, I have book in for my next VIP group in DEC so I am praying they get it right this time. Aman!

Room Tip: Make sure the room is not facing the court yard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you, Aman, for your feedback and please accept our sincere apologies for the errors on room reservations. Our London Reservations agent was in contact with Alex direct to apologise for the misunderstanding on exact room types required. Unfortunately we have very few rooms with two twin beds or interconnecting options, however we were able to allocate adjoining rooms. We appreciate you offering us the opportunity to redeem ourselves by organising another group visit in December and please contact me direct if you have any specific requirements or requests for this group. We look forward to welcoming your guests in December.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sanderson London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanderson London Hotel

Address: 50 Berners Street, London W1T 3NG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Spa Hotel in London
#124 Luxury Hotel in London
#141 Romantic Hotel in London
#164 Business Hotel in London
#342 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanderson London Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lavish "Urban Spa" in the heart of London’s West End, Sanderson offers a retreat from the bustle of the city into a world of fantasy and wellbeing. The landmarked 50s building has been transformed into a surreal Cocteau-like dream world, epitomizing a “new luxury” that is smart, pared down, and tempered with a healthy dose of wit and irony. Sanderson’s indoor/outdoor lobby is a layered and sophisticated environment that is totally original. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Loews Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Splendia, Agoda, Amex, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Jetsetter and Venere so you can book your Sanderson London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Sanderson Hotel
Sanderson London Hotel England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanderson London Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.