We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A youthful hotel with the coolest interior and excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanderson London Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sanderson London Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sanderson London Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Berners Street, London W1T 3NG, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer in the City.
Ranked #161 of 1,073 hotels in London
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“A youthful hotel with the coolest interior and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

When I arrived at this hotel one late Friday night I thought I stepped into a discotheque. The music and noise from “The long bar”, just at the right of entrance, was impossible to miss. It gave a youthful and energetic impression, if a little surprising. Checking in was very welcoming and I was not disturbed by sound when in my room.
The lifts at Sanderson are worth a visit of its own. For a few seconds you feel like you are travelling through galaxies. Every elevator should be like this!
My room was so beautiful. White and delicate, it was a soothing experience just to enter. One wall was made of glass but with a curtain in of white, transparent fabric. When being in my room I felt almost like living in air.
The room is done once a day. Two bottles of water are complimentary and there are the usual trimmings of shampoo, conditioner, body lotion and shower gel.
Breakfast was well made with buffet and menu.
Service at Sanderson was very pleasant throughout my stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for your great comments, Hanica, we’re very pleased that you enjoyed our vibe. We have recently introduced a new ‘terrace sounds’ programme in the Long Bar for Wednesday-Saturday nights inclusive, introducing new, eclectic DJs who have created a very popular sound. It is also good to know that service levels remained consistently high during your stay. We look forward to seeing you again and please let us know when you have a future reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    391
    201
    78
    42
    22
See reviews for
52
312
61
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Chic interior, happening bar, impressive courtyard and brilliant location. I have stayed here 3 times already and would recommend it to all. Hotel is pricey for a boutique set-up but totally worth it in my view.
I stayed at a loft which had a large balcony, great for a gt provided the weather allows it.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Ahad, thank you so much for your very kind feedback on design and location, it’s great to know that you continue to enjoy Sanderson and that you had an opportunity to experience one of our Loft Terrace room types. We look forward to continuing to welcome you to Sanderson and please let us know if we can be of assistance at any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The Sanderson looks like an office block in a prime location just off Oxford Street (I must have walked past it numerous times without realising it was a hotel). Once you step into the lobby, you realise that it is not a conventional hotel but a very arty hotel. A cosmic lift takes you to the darkened hallways so favoured by the latest wave of boutique hotels. The room was all white with the bed arranged in the middle and with a glass separated bathroom. The addition of privacy blinds makes this arrangement perfectly useable. A prime location and well designed alternative room make the Sanderson a luxurious treat for a stay in central London.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
It’s wonderful to know that you enjoyed a ‘wow’ factor as you stepped into the hotel away from the hustle and bustle of Oxford Street. Our ethos is to create an original experience for our guests - “hotel as theatre”. The building was originally occupied by Sanderson wallpaper & fabric company and their redesign in the late 1950s has subsequently led to English Heritage designating a Grade II* listing status for the building due in part to the external design, Courtyard and stained glass window in the Billiard Room. Please let us know when you have made a future booking and we very much look forward to welcoming you back at that time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at the Sanderson and found the staff just wonderful. The restaurants at the hotel were very good as well. We traveled with a 4 year old and everyone was very accommodating to his needs. We were there on business and got rooms for our clients who couldn't say enough great things about the hotel. We had a business lunch at the onsite restaurant and that was very fab as well. I highly recommend the Sanderson for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you so much for your very kind comments, we are delighted that not only you and your family enjoyed the hotel but also your clients. Your recommendations are really appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy another great stay, please let us know when you are next at Sanderson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west of scotland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

As others have stated this is a contemporary hotel with bright, white rooms and lovely shower and bed (always important to be comfy) . Also a great central location. However, a couple of negatives- soundproofing is very poor and people seemed to come and go all night - we could hear actual conversations from the hall outside our room. Not good. Bar noise was loud too as we seemed to be right above it. Also we were woken to the unmistakable smell of cigarette smoke permeating from another room. On mentioning this at checkout the staff were apologetic and did offer us breakfast or an upgrade on next visit (not sure there will be one though cause of broken night)

Room Tip: As far bar as possible- top floor and street facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
We are pleased to note that you had a comfortable stay (we had our sleigh beds especially designed for the hotel), however please accept our apologies for any disturbance during your visit. If we are aware of such noise on the corridors, we will investigate. We only have one floor where smoking is permitted and, again, if we are aware of anyone smoking in a non-smoking room, this is addressed with the occupant. As mentioned, we would be delighted to welcome you back and please let us know at that time so that we may ensure a complimentary upgrade including non-smoking room and high floor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

I had a facial today with the incredible Eve Lom based on how amazing the product range she developed is.

After having this treatment I now realise that I've never factually had a proper facial. She is not only extremely thorough but she is also exceptionally easy to speak to, gave great advice and I left feeling properly looked after.

I booked another appointment straight away even though I really can't afford it and I somehow suspect that these treatments are actually worth it.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
We are extremely proud to have Eve Lom working with us at agua at Sanderson and thank you so much for the great comments on her unique brand and style. We look forward to continuing to welcome you to agua and hopefully on your visits you will also have an opportunity to enjoy our special spa menu, either in agua or at Suka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I love the Sanderson hotel. The trendy lifts and reception may put some people off, but the quality of the rooms are fantastic. They are light, and white, with fantastic showers and big baths. Toiletries are great too. Concierge service is great, and the Long Bar has yummy cocktails. The only negative thing is the turn down service is a bit sporadic. But if they don't come, phone and in 5 minutes the staff are there. There was a fire alarm in the middle of the night, and the staff were a bit disorganized, but by the time I woke up there was a letter to apologize. The food is great also. The reception was so helpful and printed a big document for me when I had to work the weekend, and didn't charge (100 pages)

Room Tip: all the rooms I have experienced have been great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
We love that you love us, and have had opportunities to enjoy the delicious cocktails from the Long Bar mixologists as well as liaising with our fantastic Concierge team, our staff are dedicated to creating original guest experiences. We are sorry for any disturbance from the fire alarm, these are always treated as genuine alerts until we and the Fire Officer confirm that it is a false alarm. We look forward to continuing to welcome you to Sanderson and please let us know when you are next staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanderson London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanderson London Hotel

Address: 50 Berners Street, London W1T 3NG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Spa Hotel in London
#122 Luxury Hotel in London
#128 Romantic Hotel in London
#132 Business Hotel in London
#257 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanderson London Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lavish "Urban Spa" in the heart of London’s West End, Sanderson offers a retreat from the bustle of the city into a world of fantasy and wellbeing. The landmarked 50s building has been transformed into a surreal Cocteau-like dream world, epitomizing a “new luxury” that is smart, pared down, and tempered with a healthy dose of wit and irony. Sanderson’s indoor/outdoor lobby is a layered and sophisticated environment that is totally original. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Amex, Venere, Tingo, Otel, LondonMarketing.com, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sanderson London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Sanderson Hotel
Sanderson London Hotel England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanderson London Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.