We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sanderson London Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sanderson London Hotel to your Saves list
Sanderson London Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Berners Street, London W1T 3NG, England (Fitzrovia)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% off, Book Today
Ranked #69 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
west of scotland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good and bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

As others have stated this is a contemporary hotel with bright, white rooms and lovely shower and bed (always important to be comfy) . Also a great central location. However, a couple of negatives- soundproofing is very poor and people seemed to come and go all night - we could hear actual conversations from the hall outside our room. Not good. Bar noise was loud too as we seemed to be right above it. Also we were woken to the unmistakable smell of cigarette smoke permeating from another room. On mentioning this at checkout the staff were apologetic and did offer us breakfast or an upgrade on next visit (not sure there will be one though cause of broken night)

Room Tip: As far bar as possible- top floor and street facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
We are pleased to note that you had a comfortable stay (we had our sleigh beds especially designed for the hotel), however please accept our apologies for any disturbance during your visit. If we are aware of such noise on the corridors, we will investigate. We only have one floor where smoking is permitted and, again, if we are aware of anyone smoking in a non-smoking room, this is addressed with the occupant. As mentioned, we would be delighted to welcome you back and please let us know at that time so that we may ensure a complimentary upgrade including non-smoking room and high floor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    244
    89
    44
    23
See reviews for
76
421
69
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

I had a facial today with the incredible Eve Lom based on how amazing the product range she developed is.

After having this treatment I now realise that I've never factually had a proper facial. She is not only extremely thorough but she is also exceptionally easy to speak to, gave great advice and I left feeling properly looked after.

I booked another appointment straight away even though I really can't afford it and I somehow suspect that these treatments are actually worth it.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
We are extremely proud to have Eve Lom working with us at agua at Sanderson and thank you so much for the great comments on her unique brand and style. We look forward to continuing to welcome you to agua and hopefully on your visits you will also have an opportunity to enjoy our special spa menu, either in agua or at Suka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I love the Sanderson hotel. The trendy lifts and reception may put some people off, but the quality of the rooms are fantastic. They are light, and white, with fantastic showers and big baths. Toiletries are great too. Concierge service is great, and the Long Bar has yummy cocktails. The only negative thing is the turn down service is a bit sporadic. But if they don't come, phone and in 5 minutes the staff are there. There was a fire alarm in the middle of the night, and the staff were a bit disorganized, but by the time I woke up there was a letter to apologize. The food is great also. The reception was so helpful and printed a big document for me when I had to work the weekend, and didn't charge (100 pages)

Room Tip: all the rooms I have experienced have been great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
We love that you love us, and have had opportunities to enjoy the delicious cocktails from the Long Bar mixologists as well as liaising with our fantastic Concierge team, our staff are dedicated to creating original guest experiences. We are sorry for any disturbance from the fire alarm, these are always treated as genuine alerts until we and the Fire Officer confirm that it is a false alarm. We look forward to continuing to welcome you to Sanderson and please let us know when you are next staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Lynn
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

At this amazing hotel for the weekend and we absolutely loved it! To be greeted by a pair of massive red lips as you walk through the door to eyes on the back of all the chairs, from the quirky rooms where there are no parallel lines to the fabulous lifts and fabulous staff. Just one drawback - the awful disco type thump, thump of the bar/restaurant music which drove us over the road to an awesome Italian restaurant and a period of peace and quiet. It's an adults' hotel with a childlike theme and we were transported into a world of make believe for that brief visit! We will certainly return!

Room Tip: Higher floors may be less bothered by the music beat from the bar, though this ceased at midnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
It’s great to know that you had an amazing time with us and that you particularly enjoyed the quirkiness of the design. We are sorry for any disturbance from the music, we do have sound levels in place and if we are aware of any disturbance, we will immediately check to see that such levels are correctly in place. We are delighted that you will be returning and please let us know when you are next at Sanderson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Big downside - the exterior appearance of the hotel. As you arrive it looks like an old office block. No grand lobby or entrance like you expect 5 star hotels to have.
However, inside it's lovely. Very different, modern decor and spacious. It is an oasis when you're consider you're steps away from the bustle of Oxford Street.
The rooms are very comfortable, all white everything and again quirky touches with the decor.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
We are pleased to note that you enjoyed the design and service during your stay, our staff are dedicated to creating a friendly, attentive and gracious service. The building itself is the original Sanderson wallpaper head office, and was specifically redesigned in the 1950s to bring a Madison Avenue, New York, style into London. The front exterior of the building was a completely new design at that time (the first in Europe) and Sanderson was awarded Grade II* listed status by English Heritage to include the front, the original stained glass window in the Billiard Room and the Courtyard, and such listing does not allow us to tamper with the fabric of the building. We look forward to welcoming you back and please let us know when you are next staying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
368 helpful votes 368 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I guess it all really depends on what you like in a hotel. I love the Sanderson to come to the bar; I like its courtyard and the Long Bar. So I decided to stay one night for an occasion, and was looking forward to it. For me, the rooms are a bit 'Emperor's New Clothes'. Yes, the decor is quirky - our room was white, white, white (fine), with a bed taking up the whole room and that's really about it. The Starck fittings are nice - and no doubt expensive - but the rest of it looks really cheap, if that makes sense - cheap MDF cupboards, really cheap plastic venetian blinds, cheap plastic hangers and drawers in the bathroom. This is not an experience which cries 'luxury', it's an experience which cries 'cool stripped down non-luxury'. Call me old fashioned; and I love a design hotel (Boundary in Shoreditch does this beautifully for example, and I love the Zetter in Clerkenwell) but this is too much of 'it's Philippe Starck, that should really be enough to justify the huge expense of your room'.
Well, it wasn't enough for me. I'll pay my money for a bit more luxury, please. The Firmdale Hotel group in London for example, or the ones I have mentioned above. Those do it very well. Having said all that, the staff were very nice always, the common areas as I say are cool, but this hotel just doesn't work for me. Perhaps that says more about me.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear Holly, thank you for your kind comments on service and Long Bar in particular, however it is obviously always disappointing to note a “but...” in the overall experience. We are planning a number of room refurbishments early next year to include more colour and comfort in the rooms and we are very excited about the new designs. We look forward to continuing to welcome you to the Long Bar and hope you will also consider staying with us again, please let us know when you have made a future reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

What a lovely hotel with fabulous staff, who provided incredible service. At check in just mentioned why we were in London, on return a bottle of champagne in the room. Worth every penny! Decor interesting to say the least, rooms light and bright, lifts a trip in space, modern but relaxing, a lovely place to stay, will definently stay at this hotel when in London. If have to say anything negative and it's not really, gym great but spa a little odd.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Thank you, Helen, for your great comments. We always love to celebrate our guests’ special occasions and we’re so please that you chose Sanderson to enjoy such an occasion. It is always our intention to create an original guest experience with friendly and attentive service and it is lovely to know that you will be returning to stay with us when you are next in London – please let us know when you have made your reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanderson London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanderson London Hotel

Address: 50 Berners Street, London W1T 3NG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Romantic Hotel in London
#54 Business Hotel in London
#62 Luxury Hotel in London
#105 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanderson London Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lavish "Urban Spa" in the heart of London’s West End, Sanderson offers a retreat from the bustle of the city into a world of fantasy and wellbeing. The landmarked 50s building has been transformed into a surreal Cocteau-like dream world, epitomizing a “new luxury” that is smart, pared down, and tempered with a healthy dose of wit and irony. Sanderson’s indoor/outdoor lobby is a layered and sophisticated environment that is totally original. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LondonMarketing.com, Splendia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Sanderson London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Sanderson Hotel
Sanderson London Hotel England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanderson London Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.