We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Halkin by COMO

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Halkin by COMO to your Saves list
The Halkin by COMO
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Halkin St., Belgravia, London SW1X 7DJ, England (Belgravia)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3 Nights, Pay for 2
Ranked #21 of 1,049 Hotels in London
hereford
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

Just returned from a weekend break in London with my better half to celebrate her birthday. All I can say is that the complete experience was first class. Just as you'd expect from a top London Hotel. I was in contact with the head of concierge before our stay (Stefano Trovo) He was so accommodating to my needs. He sent me numerous emails on request detailing limo hire, restaurants, where to park etc. When we arrived we were greeted with smiling, friendly, helpful staff. We had been given a free upgrade to a suite which was apparently one of their best rooms. Our room was not quite ready so we were treated to complementary green tea with silver service. Luggage was already delivered and unpacked in our rooms by the time we were shown in. The room was superb, very stylish, very modern, and very comfortable. Everything you could ever need was provided. From 40" Sony Bravia to slippers & bathrobe. All mod cons, air con, digitally controlled along with lights etc. Sony home entertainment system, Como grooming products, black and white marble bathroom, fully loaded mini bar along with crisps, nuts & jelly bellys, complementary bottled water.....the list goes on! The room was that good that we didn't want to leave it. The benchmark test for me for a good hotel is the quality of their club sandwich! After a quality night out at the theatre/cocktail bar we arrived back at hotel. Ordered room service at 2:30am, polite gentleman took my order. 15mins later waiter arrived with silver service again along with possibly the best club sandwich I ever tasted. Seriously, I can’t say enough about how much my girlfriend and I enjoyed our stay. The worst thing about it was leaving! The only downside for people staying in the week would be the lack of a hotel car par. You can park in the street but only for 4hrs max. All in all a quality experience not to be missed. Yes it’s pricey but you get what you pay for. To see the look on my girlfriends face when we were shown round was well....priceless. Needless to say a birthday weekend to remember. Hope this is useful to somebody. I would whole heartedly recommend this place to anybody. We are already looking to book one of their sister hotels in Bangkok for xmas/new year.
Glyn & Ally - Midlands

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWakefield, General Manager at The Halkin by COMO, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for your review of The Halkin!
Happy New Year and we look forward to seeing you this year!

Best Regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    42
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
28
186
31
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

A friend and I enjoyed a 1 night stay here, paying £329 for a Belgravia suite.
I'm not sure about its value for money, but it was certainly the nicest hotel I've stayed at in London.
The location is central yet quiet, rooms swish without being chintzy.
The day rooms if anything were a little too quiet, not so good for people watching.
The hotel is opposite the Caledonia Club which caters for weddings etc and caused a major noise nuisance until midnight.
Would stay again if someone else was paying..

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWakefield, General Manager at The Halkin by COMO, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for your review of The Halkin!
Happy New Year and we look forward to seeing you this year!

Best Regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

First of all I shoud say I have no idea of the cost so cant not make a call on its value for money. All I can say is that from the moment we stepped out of the cab and the bags were taken from our hands it was a lovely albeit short stay. Very calm and peaceful . Contemporary design with an Asian feel, slightly bland in places but not an issue obviously. Elisabeth on reception was quiet charming and (as it was our wedding anniversary) upgraded us to a Belgravia Suite which was a great size and the bathroom huge. (bigger that some of the travellers photos Ive seen posted). Lovely toiletries and some wonderful lavender scented bath salts! We were also given two complimentary glasses of champagne. I can not fault the room in anyway nor the service. We did not eat or drink there but did take breakfast and again the service was exemplary and menu broad as you would expect in this calibre of hotel.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWakefield, General Manager at The Halkin by COMO, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for your review of The Halkin!
Happy New Year and we look forward to seeing you this year!

Best Regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

Arriving into the Halkin is a moment in itself, as soon as you walk in you know youve come somwhere special.It's in the heart of one of the nicest places in London. I took my girlfriend for her 21st and it didnt dissapoint. I ordered a bottle of champagne to our amazing room on arrival and it was up within seconds. With a flat screen TV with all sky channels and a great big bath in the bathroom i was listening to sky sports via the amazing speakers in the bathroom.
The restaurant in the hotel "Nahm" which has a michelin star, is out of this world, being a lover of Thai food i was very very impressed and never eaten Thai like it (apart from in thailand) you will simply not regret staying here and eating in Nahm, i know its pricey, but we all have got to splash out every once in a while havent we?
Outstanding

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWakefield, General Manager at The Halkin by COMO, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for your review of The Halkin!
Happy New Year and we look forward to seeing you this year!

Best Regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weiden, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

For a three-day-trip to London we decided to stay at the Halkin Hotel. The main reason was its "Nahm"-Restaurant, which Thai food is a class of its own and worth the visit.
The hotal itself is in a quiet sideroad of Belgravia with a short walking distance to Hyde Park, the Palace and Knightsbridge and the City. The location seems nearly perfect to us.
The staff was very friendly and helpful, the rooms are not as spacius or stylish as you might exspect from the pictures, but they are very fine with a huge bathroom.
The breakfast takes place in the restaurant, all will be served, you will not have to go to a boring buffet - the quality of the food is superb.
We suggest the limousineservice from the airport - its just 50% more expensive than taxi, but the ride with a Mercedes S is worth the fun.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWakefield, General Manager at The Halkin by COMO, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for your review of The Halkin!
Happy New Year and we look forward to seeing you this year!

Best Regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

Had a wonderful stay at the Halkin (midweek). I booked the hotel dirrectly and the reservation staff were very helpful and friendly. My partner and I arrived after work, checked in and was shown around the Balgravia suite, a lovely upgrade. Room was spacious without being cavernous, chic but functional. We did not have dinner at the Thai restaurant (I have eaten there before and enjoyed the experience- dont go expecting traditional Thai food) Breakfast in the morning was very nice, all that you expect it should be. The Hotel is just off a very busy part of London but once you turn down the street the hotel is on its becomes a lot quieter. The hotel and its staff have a lot of charm and I would recommend this hotel to anyone who requires a little class.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWakefield, General Manager at The Halkin by COMO, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for your review of The Halkin!
Happy New Year and we look forward to seeing you this year!

Best Regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

I stayed at The Halkin while traveling on business to London. It was the perfect hotel for my needs as a single traveler, I loved the sense of security I felt while at The Halkin. The location was excellent, very close to all of my business meetings and near enough to the sites of London too.

I had one of the best meals ever at Nahm. If you have the time, be sure to vist the Nahm, you will be glad that you did. I understand that the Fitness Center is new, and it felt that way with the lastest cardio equipment.

I will certainly be returning to The Halkin on my next trip to London

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWakefield, General Manager at The Halkin by COMO, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for your review of The Halkin!
Happy New Year and we look forward to seeing you this year!

Best Regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Halkin by COMO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Halkin by COMO

Address: 5 Halkin St., Belgravia, London SW1X 7DJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in London
#19 Luxury Hotel in London
#19 Romantic Hotel in London
#27 Business Hotel in London
#152 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Halkin by COMO 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Halkin by COMO is a haven of luxury in the heart of London’s Belgravia with the shopping of Mayfair and Knightsbridge both within a 10-minute walk. With a discreet, efficient approach to service, everything about The Halkin is about elegant understatement and its intimate feel. With just 41 rooms and suites, The Halkin is a true boutique hotel. Bespoke Italian design is combined with subtle nuances of Oriental influence with wools, silks and linens in taupes and creams. Rooms are furnished with soft carpets and warm wood panelling, and boast some of the largest bathrooms in London. The hotel restaurant Ametsa with Arzak Instruction,is a unique collaboration between Elena Arzak – voted Veuve Clicquot World’s Best Female Chef in 2012 – along with her father Juan Mari Arzak, and Mikel Sorazu, Igor Zalakain and Xabier Gutierrez.Ametsa’s approach is rooted in the traditions of ‘New Basque Cuisine’, pairing the earthy flavours and techniques of Spain’s Basque region with modern, surprising twists featuring locally-sourced and organic produce from land and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, LondonMarketing.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Halkin by COMO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Halkin Hotel London
Halkin London
Halkin Hotel London
The Halkin By COMO London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Halkin by COMO, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.