We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another nice stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Halkin by COMO

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Halkin by COMO to your Saves list
The Halkin by COMO
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Halkin St., Belgravia, London SW1X 7DJ, England (Belgravia)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3 Nights, Pay for 2
Ranked #19 of 1,055 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“another nice stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We arrived, for our three night stay, after an early flight to drop our bags and received the usual warm welcome and offer of complimentary drinks. The good news was the room was available for an early check-in.

The hotel has a modern look and feel, but it has a calm atmosphere. The location is perfectly quiet and that’s why we choose to return. The transport links are good; a few minute’s walk from Hyde Park Corner for buses and tube. Please be aware that Hyde Park Corner tube station doesn't have a down escalator nor does it have a lift. There are only stairs available until the elevator renavation is completed.

The rooms are a good size and very comfortable. There is a large double bed, two arm chairs with a small table and a desk. The bathroom feels large with a bath and shower. At each side of the bed there are gadgets to control the lights, air conditioning and other essentials. The bed is really comfortable.

As time is always short in London we haven’t tried the restaurant for breakfast or dinner.
We checked out and left the luggage to collect later.
On departure, as the weather was wet and the extra case was heavy with shopping, we decided to get a car to the airport. The concierge arranged this at short notice and in no time we were on our way.

This is a very nice hotel with very professional staff and we will certainly return again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon_Wakefield, General Manager at The Halkin by COMO, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Dear threehens
Thank you for your lovely review. So pleased you had such a great stay and i do hope we can welcome you back soon.
Just to clarify for other readers we are not under any refurbishment and the lifts are working perfectly. I think threehens stayed whilst the lifts were having their regular safety inspection and hence one was closed for a short period of time during the day.
Best regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    42
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
28
186
31
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We really couldn't fault this amazing hotel with it's efficient and friendly staff, clean and comfortable room and peaceful position. The Halkin is an oasis in the midst of a bustling part of London, within walking distance of Piccadilly,Green Park and Buckingham Palace. . The attention to detail in our room and the first class attentive staff made our stay very memorable. We have no hesitation in recommending The Halkin by Como.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon_Wakefield, General Manager at The Halkin by COMO, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you Christine
Your review is much appreciated and i do hope we will see you again soon.
Christmas shopping is always a good time to have some relaxation after a hard day at the shops.
Best Regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Tipperary, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We booked this hotel based on prior trip advisor reviews and are so happy we did. First of all, the service is amazing. The staff is always happy to help with any question and ready with a friendly smile if you are just passing through the lobby. Every suggestion they made, for dining or the best way to travel, was spot-on.

We were in town to play tourist. The hotel is located near the Hyde Park Corner Underground station, but we found we almost never used the Underground to get anywhere. We could easily walk to Westminster Abbey, Victoria, Buckingham Palace, and Hyde Park. Then, because of the hotel's central location, it was often just as easy to grab a cab to where we needed to go. But when we did take the Underground, it was a quick walk to the station.

I really can't recommend this hotel enough!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon_Wakefield, General Manager at The Halkin by COMO, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Joey B

Thank you for your lovely review and highlighting the service as well as our great location.
Do please let me know when your next planning to visit so we can welcome you home.
Best Regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Hotel is new and sleek with a terrific staff that accommodates every request.

Hotel is located on a quiet street which is amazing and win the Mayfair district so everything is walkable including Buckingham palace)

I will certainly return and will only stay here. I stayed here twice in August 2014.

the BEST location in London.

Room Tip: from Heathrow.... take the Heathrow express and to Paddington and taxi to hotel (30 mins to hotel)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon_Wakefield, General Manager at The Halkin by COMO, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear kgera
Thank you for staying with us twice in August and also for your great tip. just to clarify the taxi ride should only take 10 mins from Paddington so the whole journey from Heathrow about 30 mins.

I see you live in Miami so you must try out our new hotel Metropolitan by COMO , Miami beach and tell Javier I recommended you !
Best Regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a 3 night stay at The Halkin. We chose this hotel as we had previously stayed in another Como Group hotel on our honeymoon.

The hotel is a boutique hotel, located in a quiet street in Belgravia. We didn't hear any road noise at all. It was a perfect base for our trip, very close to Hyde Park Corner tube stop and walking distance to a lot of sights.

We stayed in a deluxe room, number 209. The room was large and immaculately clean. It had a king sized bed, large tv, seating area and a huge wardrobe space. The room had black out blinds/curtains which made for a perfect night sleep.

When staying at hotels we try to make the most of the services that hotel offers. We ate breakfast in Ametsa restaurant, had drinks in the hotel bar and ate from room service. All of the food was immaculately presented and the room service arrived quickly and was piping hot.

The staff at the hotel were all very friendly and helpful.

We will definitely be back to stay at this hotel on our next trip to London.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon_Wakefield, General Manager at The Halkin by COMO, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear touristgirl86
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and also for staying at our sister COMO hotels.
Do let me know if you are planning to visit us or one of the other 11 hotels again soon.
Best Regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

If you like me prefer elegant, well kept and "not too busy" hotel this is the best London has to offer. The rooms are very spatious, nicely decorated and the service great. Location is perfect (right into Belgravia beside Green Park) for a leisure/shopping trip to London. I often spend a weekend in London and when I do I always stay at the Halkin. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon_Wakefield, General Manager at The Halkin by COMO, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Theo

Thank you for your great review highlighting the rooms, service and great location.
Zurich is very close so do come for more weekends !!
Best Regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Staying at Halkin, one can be as private as you wish. One can enter lobby and be up in your spacious room with no fuss. Great bathrooms with incredible showers. Really likes the express breakfast- delivered very promptly and at a sensible price. Room service for drinks and wine also delivered very quickly. Bar area a little sterile but friendly, attentive staff do as best they can to make up for its shortfalls. Have stayed here many times, love the location.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon_Wakefield, General Manager at The Halkin by COMO, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Matt
Thank you for the great review and summing up The Halkin so well.
Best Regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Halkin by COMO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Halkin by COMO

Address: 5 Halkin St., Belgravia, London SW1X 7DJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in London
#18 Romantic Hotel in London
#18 Luxury Hotel in London
#25 Business Hotel in London
#137 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Halkin by COMO 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Halkin by COMO is a haven of luxury in the heart of London’s Belgravia with the shopping of Mayfair and Knightsbridge both within a 10-minute walk. With a discreet, efficient approach to service, everything about The Halkin is about elegant understatement and its intimate feel. With just 41 rooms and suites, The Halkin is a true boutique hotel. Bespoke Italian design is combined with subtle nuances of Oriental influence with wools, silks and linens in taupes and creams. Rooms are furnished with soft carpets and warm wood panelling, and boast some of the largest bathrooms in London. The hotel restaurant Ametsa with Arzak Instruction,is a unique collaboration between Elena Arzak – voted Veuve Clicquot World’s Best Female Chef in 2012 – along with her father Juan Mari Arzak, and Mikel Sorazu, Igor Zalakain and Xabier Gutierrez.Ametsa’s approach is rooted in the traditions of ‘New Basque Cuisine’, pairing the earthy flavours and techniques of Spain’s Basque region with modern, surprising twists featuring locally-sourced and organic produce from land and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, LondonMarketing.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your The Halkin by COMO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Halkin Hotel London
Halkin London
Halkin Hotel London
The Halkin By COMO London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Halkin by COMO, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.