We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great small hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Halkin by COMO

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Bookmark
You added The Halkin by COMO to your Saves list
The Halkin by COMO
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Halkin St., Belgravia, London SW1X 7DJ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3 nights for price of 2
Ranked #13 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Harpenden
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great small hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The Halkin is a fairly small hotel located in a quiet side street in Belgravia. Staff were very efficient and helpful during check-in and throughout our short stay. The rooms were extremely comfortable and well-equipped, with good beds, efficient air conditioning and well-equipped (and fairly large) bathrooms. This was our first stay, but I would certainly recommend for those looking for an alternative to London's larger/grander hotels.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon_Wakefield, General Manager at The Halkin by COMO, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear ChipL-67
Thank you for your top marks review of the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back soon
Best Regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    39
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
28
179
29
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Stayed with my family and we enjoyed ever bit of the hotel. Small and very classy hotel. Centrally located but on a quiet street. Modern and comfortable rooms, with very friendly and helpful hotel staff. A really outstanding hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon_Wakefield, General Manager at The Halkin by COMO, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear ChipL-67

Thank you for your "classy" review of The Halkin. so pleased that your family had a great stay.
Do come and visit us again soon.
Best Regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel quiet a few times but had not been there for some time. It is as good as ever with the service simply outstanding . I would come here again and again but my budget does not always allow this.

This is the first time I have taken the time to write a review but the recognition upon arrival from the staff at reception to the people in room service is simply amazing. It is a special weekend away for me as i live very close to London and it is so worth it.

I do tend to eat out as the location is great and you are close to everything. The hotel is located in a quiet residential street.

thank you Halkin .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon_Wakefield, General Manager at The Halkin by COMO, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear rearthlondon
Thank you so much for taking the time to review The Halkin. Always a good feeling to see the recognition is noticed. Do ask for me the next time you are planning one of your weekends away.
Best Regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Reading the excellent reviews our expectations were really "enormous" but I
can confirm that this hotel is oustanding. Quiet, large and beautifully decorated room and
bathroom, fruitplate and newspaper every day, free internet. Very friendly and efficient
staff, greeting you with your name, you really feel at home..
Location is perfect, in walking distance to Knightsbridege and Piccadilly,
Desserves to be in the 5 best of London..

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon_Wakefield, General Manager at The Halkin by COMO, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Derobo
thank you for your lovely words - simple, accurate and perfect in summing up The Halkin.
Do come and visit us from the wonderful Monte Carlo soon
Best Regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

I am going to be really simple in my review.

This hotel was beautiful, friendly and some of the best pancakes I have ever had.

We stayed in a standard room and had plenty of space to relax when we were not working or site seeing.

The staff was amazing and that's an understatement.

My only negative was that it's location is so quiet it took us a day or two to finally find some pubs and food within walking distance but once found I was a happy man.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon_Wakefield, General Manager at The Halkin by COMO, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Jason
Thank you for your "Great Hotel" review and comments. Always nice when the only negative is also a positive but will make sure the concierge pre-empt that next time.
Thanks

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Laud, Florida
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Quiet elegance and modern chic.

We've toured around London very extensively. THIS hotel, staff, and neighborhood were the best.

Pros: Clean modern design, chic elegance, personal service, peaceful atmosphere, PEACEFUL neighborhood yet so close to tube stops and other important London locations. Easy access to transportation, shopping, restaurants, sightseeing. Knowledgeable and helpful staff.

We really enjoyed the ambiance and after a busy day returning to this peaceful neighborhood and peaceful hotel.

Very unique room amenities…..computerized lighting controls, environmental controls, and elegant wood paneling.

Cons: Breakfast in the dining room, although excellent quality, was very slow to come from the kitchen. Internet service in our room was unreliable.

We would DEFINITELY return for the personal service, convenient location, beautiful and quiet neighborhood, elegant surroundings.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon_Wakefield, General Manager at The Halkin by COMO, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Pacosmom
Thank you for your unique review of The Halkin. So happy you had such a wonderful stay and note your breakfast feedback. Always good to keep the team focussed on every area.
Come back soon
Best Regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Just spent a night here and had a wonderful stay, the greeting as we came in was warm and friendly and staff great throughout the stay. In particular Sarah on reception and the concierge.

We loved the curved walls in the hallway and the hotel demonstrated how thinking about all the small things makes a difference from the quality of the towels and sheets to the layout and openness of the rooms. We couldn't believe how quiet it was given we were 2-min from Hyde Park Corner, I can see why Belgravia is popular with the super rich.

We were here as a couple but I could equally see myself here on business as a relaxing oasis away from the London hub bub.

The restaurant was stylish and light, perfectly capturing the morning light. We didn't have dinner but the breakfast was great and coffee perfect after a few cocktails the night before.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon_Wakefield, General Manager at The Halkin by COMO, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Martin
Thank you for your "Best" review and you made Sara's day. She was so happy that you enjoyed your visit and to mention her has made her proud.
Cardiff is not far and the train can take the strain, so we look forward to seeing you soon.
Best Regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Halkin by COMO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Halkin by COMO

Address: 5 Halkin St., Belgravia, London SW1X 7DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in London
#12 Luxury Hotel in London
#17 Romantic Hotel in London
#32 Business Hotel in London
#86 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Halkin by COMO 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Halkin by COMO is a haven of luxury in the heart of London’s Belgravia with the shopping of Mayfair and Knightsbridge both within a 10-minute walk. With a discreet, efficient approach to service, everything about The Halkin is about elegant understatement and its intimate feel. With just 41 rooms and suites, The Halkin is a true boutique hotel. Bespoke Italian design is combined with subtle nuances of Oriental influence with wools, silks and linens in taupes and creams. Rooms are furnished with soft carpets and warm wood panelling, and boast some of the largest bathrooms in London. The hotel restaurant Ametsa with Arzak Instruction,is a unique collaboration between Elena Arzak – voted Veuve Clicquot World’s Best Female Chef in 2012 – along with her father Juan Mari Arzak, and Mikel Sorazu, Igor Zalakain and Xabier Gutierrez.Ametsa’s approach is rooted in the traditions of ‘New Basque Cuisine’, pairing the earthy flavours and techniques of Spain’s Basque region with modern, surprising twists featuring locally-sourced and organic produce from land and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Venere, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Halkin by COMO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Halkin Hotel London
Halkin London
Halkin Hotel London
The Halkin By COMO London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Halkin by COMO, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.