We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in great location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Halkin by COMO

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added The Halkin by COMO to your Saves list
The Halkin by COMO
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Halkin St., Belgravia, London SW1X 7DJ, England (Belgravia)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3 Nights, Pay for 2
Ranked #19 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in great location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at The Halkin on a business trip and found the hotel to be very nice. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are nicely appointed for the business traveler. Great location within an easy walk to many popular locations on the West End of London. I'll be back.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWakefield, General Manager at The Halkin by COMO, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Jon C,

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback. I am delighted that you had such a great stay and look forward to welcoming you back to The Halkin by COMO soon!

With warm regards,

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    42
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
28
185
31
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Congratulations!
The hotel is amazing: perfect location, very profesional staff and woderful service
We had a woderful stay Our room ( deluxe room) was beautiful and very cosy.
Thank you so much for evrything We enjoyed Our stay and we will be back

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWakefield, General Manager at The Halkin by COMO, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear CGALLART,

Many thanks for your comments following your recent stay. I am delighted that The Halkin by COMO has exceeded your expectations in so many ways and I am looking very much forward to welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future.

All the best,

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights. It was our first visit to London for many years. I did some extensive internet research before deciding on the Halkin. I'm not a fan of English chinz so the modern look of the Halkin plus it's location and the quick, efficient reply to my initial email helped me make the choice.

I do find the costs of accommodation in London and the UK generally to be exorbitant and generally not value for money - and while the Halkin isn't cheap, given the level of service all round, quality of accommodation and fabulous breakfast, it did provide value for money.

As many other reviewers have said, Claudia, the Manager at the front desk was fabulous. She is a real gem and the hotel is lucky to have her. Same goes for the Concierge (Italian?) who assisted us with restaurant suggestions and made the booking on our second night.

We arrived off our flight from Sydney at a ridiculously early time and understandably our room wasn't ready when we arrived at around 8.30am. Claudia however did more than her best to get us into a room - a much better one than the one we'd booked - within 20 minutes. It cannot be underestimated what a great service this was for us.

The room was lovely. Modern, luxurious, quiet with everything you could possibly want.

The location in Belgravia is close to the underground, Knightsbridge, the Palace, parks - the lot.

Would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWakefield, General Manager at The Halkin by COMO, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Julie S,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience following your recent stay here at The Halkin by COMO. I am very pleased that you had such a memorable stay and that your arrival experience was so smooth. I will gladly share your comments with the team and look forward to meeting you in person during your next visit.

Best,

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This is one of the few 'gems' out there that I have never shared with this site for fear it becomes too popular. After many many years of London hotels, this remains my favourite and regular if for no other reason that it has the most comfortable beds in the darkest and quietest rooms of almost any hotel I have stayed in anywere. Room service breakfasts are wonderful, Stefano the concierge who has been standing this position for all the many years I have been staying here is excellent, hospitable, knowledgeable and approachable. The location is right off Belgrave Square, so just perfect. Staff are lovely and I cannot fault them. At the risk of this hotel becoming too popular I can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWakefield, General Manager at The Halkin by COMO, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear EmaJayKay,

Thank you so much for your kind words following your recent stay with us here at The Halkin by COMO. I am so pleased that the hotel and its facilities are such a joy for you. Please rest assured that there will always be a place for you here.

Looking forward to meeting you in person during your next stay.

All the best,

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantucket, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This hotel was wonderful!!!! Everyone there was extremely accommodating from Claudia at the front desk to Martinez in the bar and Phillipe at the concierge desk. Wish I could remember everyone's names. Intend to return. Treat yourself and book a room here. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWakefield, General Manager at The Halkin by COMO, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear RSW-AckFood,

I am delighted that you and your friends had such a great time with us and that my team made you feel so comfortable. Thank you for sharing your experience. I am looking forward to welcoming you back to your new London home!

All the best,

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Having just spent 4 days in London at the Halkin Hotel, I can say that I experienced English service at it's finest. The Halkin is a small boutique hotel, fifty some rooms, situated in the heart of west London. The hotel is new and modern. The rooms are impeccable, the staff is professional,
the restaurant first class. When sitting at the bar or having breakfast at the restaurant we never had to sign a tab. They knew who you were. The concierge was not only helpful, but extremely patience with out inquiries and change of plans. When we left we felt that we were leaving long lost cousins. I can not tell how lovely this hotel is. I own a small Inn myself in Carmel California. These people, and this hotel, is an inspiration to all of us in the hospitality business!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWakefield, General Manager at The Halkin by COMO, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear chris t,

Many thanks for your lovely review following your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to hear that you had such a delightful stay here at The Halkin by COMO and would like to thank you for sharing your experience with other travellers from around the world.

Looking very much forward to meeting you in person on your next stay!

Warm regards,

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
128 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
983 helpful votes 983 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My husband and I returned to the Halkin for our second time in a year, having last visited in October 2013. We had some issues with air con and concomitant service, but otherwise we absolutely loved the property. Claudia from the Halkin had been in touch following my mixed review herein, and she absolutely took care of us for our return visit.

We still love the Halkin. We love its location--convenient walking distance to much of the London we like and super convenient Tube access with the Hyde Park Corner stop just a few blocks away. Its location off a side street makes it very quiet, too, feeling more like you're part of the neighborhood rather than in a hotel within it. We love its size--boutique yet with all of the services which we need, including 24 hr room service. (I don't care about spas, but my husband does sometimes.) Most of all, we love its service--it evokes the service we experience most at Aman and the best Four Seasons properties, and that is something to cherish.

For this visit, we were upgraded complimentarily to a COMO Suite with balcony, room 304. We loved it. I had a slight concern about the air con in the bedroom of the suite, but the hotel staff (especially Claudia again) took care of us, offering to move us again and then, upon our declining, offering to hold another suite for us in case we changed our minds later that weekend. Amazing service. It seems that the older part of the hotel has more air con issues for a crazy person like me, so the newer, remodeled side is where we likely will stay on future visits. For most people, I'm sure the air con will be more than sufficient regardless. Ultimately, the air con in the living room worked so well that it helped cool the bedroom eventually--so I was perfectly comfortable for all 3 nights. My only "complaint" would be that the bedspread didn't seem big enough for our king bed...so the hotel replaced it quickly with a slightly bigger spread. Still not truly big enough in my estimation, but then maybe we are too tall (6'2" and 6'5").

We availed ourselves of room service breakfast one morning, and it was sensationally good (and fast again). I had room service lunch one afternoon, and again it was great. We dined at the Ametsa restaurant for dinner on our last evening (see separate review), and we very much enjoyed it--a much needed improvement over the previous occupant, Nahm. Breakfast in the Ametsa space was delightful--though we did have a few service issues, overall the service and food was very good.

The Halkin to me is a perfect hideaway in the bustle of London. It offers all the 5 star touches I love without being too big and impersonal. It has clean chic style while still being very comfortable. And the service is phenomenal. Claudia wasn't even in the hotel on the weekend, and yet I had an email from her checking in with me to make sure things were going well.

The Halkin will be our go-to hotel for sure from now on in London. We highly recommend it and applaud the hotel and Claudia for allowing us such a blissful return! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Room Tip: Try to choose rooms on the newer, remodeled side if you need better air con. Avoid the lower rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWakefield, General Manager at The Halkin by COMO, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Tar Heel Bill 92,

Thank you very much indeed for your excellent feedback. It was such a pleasure to read about your recent experience here at The Halkin by COMO and I am delighted that we were able to gain your trust in us back. It will certainly be my absolute pleasure to share your comments with my team and we all look forward to seeing you again in the hopefully not too distant future.

All the best,

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Halkin by COMO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Halkin by COMO

Address: 5 Halkin St., Belgravia, London SW1X 7DJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in London
#15 Romantic Hotel in London
#16 Luxury Hotel in London
#23 Business Hotel in London
#127 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Halkin by COMO 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Halkin by COMO is a haven of luxury in the heart of London’s Belgravia with the shopping of Mayfair and Knightsbridge both within a 10-minute walk. With a discreet, efficient approach to service, everything about The Halkin is about elegant understatement and its intimate feel. With just 41 rooms and suites, The Halkin is a true boutique hotel. Bespoke Italian design is combined with subtle nuances of Oriental influence with wools, silks and linens in taupes and creams. Rooms are furnished with soft carpets and warm wood panelling, and boast some of the largest bathrooms in London. The hotel restaurant Ametsa with Arzak Instruction,is a unique collaboration between Elena Arzak – voted Veuve Clicquot World’s Best Female Chef in 2012 – along with her father Juan Mari Arzak, and Mikel Sorazu, Igor Zalakain and Xabier Gutierrez.Ametsa’s approach is rooted in the traditions of ‘New Basque Cuisine’, pairing the earthy flavours and techniques of Spain’s Basque region with modern, surprising twists featuring locally-sourced and organic produce from land and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, Splendia, Hotel.de, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, LondonMarketing.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Halkin by COMO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Halkin Hotel London
Halkin London
Halkin Hotel London
The Halkin By COMO London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Halkin by COMO, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.