We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Wish I Lived at The Halkin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Halkin by COMO

Save Saved
You added The Halkin by COMO to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Halkin by COMO
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Halkin St., Belgravia, London SW1X 7DJ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 1,075 hotels in London
Houston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“I Wish I Lived at The Halkin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

A one night's stay (like I had last week) is definitely not enough at The Halkin. It is a spectacular hotel, with an accomodating staff and fantastic rooms. I wish every hotel could be like The Halkin! The room rates are high, but if you book far enough in advance and are willing to pre-pay for your stay, you can generally get a somewhat discounted rate. But, even at full rates, the hotel is really spectacular, with a very good location, wonderful ambience and attention to detail/luxury that truly makes you feel pampered. I highly recommend it and am already saving up for my next stay there!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon W, General Manager at The Halkin by COMO, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear JAPHouston,

It has been an absolute pleausure to have you as our guest. I am delighted to hear that your first stay with us has been such a memorable one and we look forward to many more in the future.

With best wishes,

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    272
    35
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
25
165
27
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Macroom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I have been staying at the Halkin for years and thoroughly enjoy staying there. They make sure that everything works very effectively for me. I am almost nervous about sharing my thoughts as I would hate the Halkin to be full of new guests the next time I book.

This hotel is my home from home in London.

Room Tip: All the rooms I have used are excellent, quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon W, General Manager at The Halkin by COMO, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Cynthia B,

Thank you very much indeed for sharing your experience. We truly appreciate your loyalty to The Halkin by COMO and look forward to many more years together! And rest assured there will always be a room for you at your London home!

Until next time,

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I really can't overstate my experience at this hotel. Beginning with the ambiance and the total attention to detail, the Halkin ranks with the best small luxury hotels I've ever visited. We spent a week in London in March, which was altogether enjoyable in large part because of our stay at the Halkin. I must say that all the excellent accommodations were exceeded only by the staff, which we got to know during the week. They really went out of their way to see that any convenience was attended to. It's a quiet, spotless hotel, that seems to be a little secret for the distinguished traveler set. The hotel is nestled in the Belgravia area, which is an oasis of handsome embassies and georgian buildings. Very glad I took a chance on this one. It's pricey but I doubt you can beat the quality.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon W, General Manager at The Halkin by COMO, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear DavidG958,

I was delighted to read about your recent experience here at The Halkin by COMO and thank you very much for sharing it with us and the travel community. While I am of course very happy that the hotel and its facilities exceeded your expectations, I am even more delighted that the team has created such a memorable environment.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future and wish you a nice weekend.

Best,

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Small hotel in the midst of the consulates and embassies therefore a very classy neighborhood. The hotel is quiet however it boasts one of the best restaurants - Ametsa. Very close to fabulous shopping.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon W, General Manager at The Halkin by COMO, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear lillambiepie,
Great to hear that you had such a memorable stay and a chance to experience Ametsa with Arzak Instruction. Looking forward to meeting you during your next visit.

Best,
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I stayed at the Halkin about three weeks ago when I was in London for the weekend. The staff was attentive without being intrusive, the room was spacious and comfortable, and it was very convenient to the Tube. In addition, the restaurant in the lobby of the hotel, Ametsa with Arzak Instruction, was opening that weekend and the concierge was able to get me a reservation. As a foodie from New York, I was excited to do the tasting menu and it did not disappoint! It was inventive and delicious and the service was great. All in all, I had a fabulous weekend in London and will definitely be staying at the Halking again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon W, General Manager at The Halkin by COMO, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear leeemmel,
Thank you for your great comments following your recent stay! Thank you for making The Halkin by COMO the hotel of your choice. We are looking forward to many more visits in future.

Have a great weekend,

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Our visit to the new restaurant Ametsa was a treat that we were looking forward to . Lunch, the set menu and the wine pairings menu is easy to read and the a la carte is short and formidable.

I had the set menu at £68 and it was well worth the price each piece was a sculptural delight to the eye and a sensation on the tongue, another member of the family choose the ox tongue which was a success and the hake for the other member was apparently delicious, the combinations the execution all faultless, the service and staff impeccable. special mention to the wine waiter, i never drink white but he persuaded me and i was hooked the wine menu deserves a mention in its clever concept of "if you like a white Sancerre you will like this " Spanish equivalent . All in all a great time

Room Tip: reviewing the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon W, General Manager at The Halkin by COMO, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear redruby77,
Thank you very much for your great feedback following your first visit to Ametsa with Arzak Instruction. It is very rewarding to see that our efforts to create a unique dining experience are so well received and I will gladly share your comments with the entire team.
Sincerely,
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Remarkable. Of all the hotels I have stayed in in my 50 years of travelling, this has to be one of the most attentive and welcoming. Value also has to be added to that statement......long may that be the case. K

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon W, General Manager at The Halkin by COMO, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear WiltshireKaren,

Many thanks for sharing your experience. I very much appreciate your time and feedback and look forward to meeting you during your next stay at your new London home.

With kind regards,

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Halkin by COMO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Halkin by COMO

Address: 5 Halkin St., Belgravia, London SW1X 7DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in London
#6 Luxury Hotel in London
#11 Romantic Hotel in London
#23 Business Hotel in London
#116 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Halkin by COMO 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Halkin by COMO is a haven of luxury in the heart of London’s Belgravia with the shopping of Mayfair and Knightsbridge both within a 10-minute walk. With a discreet, efficient approach to service, everything about The Halkin is about elegant understatement and its intimate feel. With just 41 rooms and suites, The Halkin is a true boutique hotel. Bespoke Italian design is combined with subtle nuances of Oriental influence with wools, silks and linens in taupes and creams. Rooms are furnished with soft carpets and warm wood panelling, and boast some of the largest bathrooms in London. The hotel restaurant Ametsa with Arzak Instruction,is a unique collaboration between Elena Arzak – voted Veuve Clicquot World’s Best Female Chef in 2012 – along with her father Juan Mari Arzak, and Mikel Sorazu, Igor Zalakain and Xabier Gutierrez.Ametsa’s approach is rooted in the traditions of ‘New Basque Cuisine’, pairing the earthy flavours and techniques of Spain’s Basque region with modern, surprising twists featuring locally-sourced and organic produce from land and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, LondonMarketing.com, Priceline, Jetsetter and Venere so you can book your The Halkin by COMO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Halkin Hotel London
Halkin London
Halkin Hotel London
The Halkin By COMO London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Halkin by COMO, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.