We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Halkin by COMO

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Halkin by COMO to your Saves list
The Halkin by COMO
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Halkin St., Belgravia, London SW1X 7DJ, England (Belgravia)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3 Nights, Pay for 2
Ranked #21 of 1,049 Hotels in London
birmingham, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2008

Perfect in every way. I booked the halkin, for my wife's 30th birthday on recomendation. The hotel is tucked away, near all the embassies. the rooms are luxurious, with really comfortable beds,
the restaurant ( Nahm is lovely). What really sets this hotel apart from the rest is the concierge. I had a list of things i wanted to book for the birthday trip and all i did was sent them an email with a list and they did the rest, They sorted out horse riding in hyde park, private cabins on the london eye, tickets to phantom of the opera, and private dining in some of london's finest restaurants. I barely had to lift a finger. Stefano, Diego and Justin really looked after us. if you want a taxi from the hotel they go outside, find one and bring it to the front of the hotel too, Justin even queued up outside the british museum from 6 am to get us tickets for the terracotta army at the british museum. Perfect. Go. Enjoy.

  • Liked — concierge
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWakefield, General Manager at The Halkin by COMO, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for your review of The Halkin!
Happy New Year and we look forward to seeing you this year!

Best Regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    42
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
28
186
31
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan, NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2007

Overall I really liked The Halkin. It is on a quiet street in Belgravia and within walking easy walking distance to Sloane Street, Harrods and Beauchamp Place. I loved the bed, as well as the electronic control of the lighting and temperature. Turndown service was great. Minor problems: the closet doors were hard to open and shut and not very convenient for putting clothes in and getting them out. The small flat screen TV was not ideally situated in terms of viewing from the bed. The bathroom was great because it had windows (I had a corner room) and you could listen to the TV in there, but the showerhead was not adjusting as it should have, and the towels were not very fluffy. Also, the room was a bit cold, even after putting the heat on maximum, although that is kind of typical in London. I did not like the Como shambala bath products. Hyde Park Corner underground is five minutes away by foot.

  • Liked — The bed
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWakefield, General Manager at The Halkin by COMO, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for your review of The Halkin!
Happy New Year and we look forward to seeing you this year!

Best Regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, france
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2007

It is difficult to make up my mind about the Halkin, where i have stayed 3 times. What's excellent is the small size of the hotel and the huge size of my deluxe rooms, the Thai restaurant and the immediate access to Nobu in the sister hotel Metropolitan. What is less than excellent is the bathrooms-huge, very design and very luxurious but impractical. You can hardly go in and out the bathtub and the separate shower dispenses water to the entire floor. Service is a bit erratic, though overall good though not for a 380 pound a night hotel.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWakefield, General Manager at The Halkin by COMO, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for your review of The Halkin!
Happy New Year and we look forward to seeing you this year!

Best Regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
430 helpful votes 430 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2007

I recently spent a few days in a Belgravia Suite at the Halkin. It was simply my best hotel stay in London so far.

Greeted with truffles from Charbonnel et Walker, fruit, fresh orange juice and water. Large and very comfortable room with a separate sitting area, superior technology (Hi and Wifi, lighting), brown marble bathroom with separate shower, excellent toiletries from Como Shambhala, bath salts, two types of robes, etc. Good turndown service.

I had lunch and dinner at Nahm, and both were excellent (service a little stiff). Breakfast (à la carte) was unusually good for London: really fresh juice (this is getting rare in hotels), honeycomb, good jams, muesli from Southern Alps, excellent egg-white omelette, loose-leaf tea.

The hotel has no spa but I walked (about ten minutes) to the Metropolitan and used the spa there. It is nothing special (very 1990s, rather small and in the basement) but I was told they plan to build a new spa on the top floor.

I had almost given up on luxury hotels in London but I loved my stay at the Hakin: Asian restraint + Italian style + good location + quiet.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWakefield, General Manager at The Halkin by COMO, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for your review of The Halkin!
Happy New Year and we look forward to seeing you this year!

Best Regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2007

I recently enjoyed a five day stay at The Halkin in London. The Halkin is located in Belgravia, one of London's most exclusive neighborhoods, just a two and a half block walk to Hyde Park. You can walk from The Halkin to Harvey Nichols or Harrod's department stores in about five to ten minutes. The Hyde Park Corner Underground station is two and a half blocks from the front door of the hotel...this is very convenient because you can take the Underground's Picadilly Line directly from Heathrow Airport to the Hyde Park Corner station in about 45 minutes and then walk to the hotel...The Underground will cost you only 3 or 4 pounds (if you have an Oyster card) versus 40-50 pounds via taxi. Then again, people who stay at The Halkin probably are not too concerned with saving money, given that rooms start at about $500.00 per night.

I stayed in a King Double room which is the lowest price room at The Halkin. My room was on the fifth floor, the top floor of the hotel. The fifth floor is popular because the rooms there have curved ceilings which give the space a very dramatic, architectural quality (I've posted pictures so that you can see). My room also had a rather large amount of custom wood panelling that had a minimalist aesthetic. The bathroom had loads of beautiful black marble with an inlay on the floor.

The furnishings in my room were tasteful and in very good condition (in fact, the room looked almost brand new). Lighting is controlled by an electronic panel on the wall which also has buttons that you press to let housekeeping know that you don't want to be disturbed, or, conversely that you'd like the room to be made up. There are touch screen displays on each side of the bed which allowed me to control the lighting without even having to get out of bed. Very nice.

The staff was courteous and professional. I only ate breakfast in the restaurant, but the food was great. In fact, someone told me the restaurant is considered one of the best in town.

I only have two complaints about The Halkin:

The Halkin is the sort of place where guests dress as though they are either about to head out to Harrods for an afternoon of power shopping or about to have lunch at the country club before hitting the links for a round of golf. On the other hand, I tend to dress extremely casually. Don't get me wrong, I'm not one of these people who wears sweatsuits everywhere...but I do live in a pair boots, a pair of jeans and a hip t-shirt. I felt uncomfortable at The Halkin because I was dressed so much more casually than any other person there.

My second complaint concerns noise in the hotel. It has been noted that The Halkin borders an ongoing construction project. This is true. And yet, I never heard a peep from the construction even though my room overlooked the construction site. Unfortunately, the same cannot be said about the housekeeping closet which was located directly across the hall from my room. Unlike most hotels in which the housekeeping staff pushes a cart from room to room, housekeeping staff at The Halkin keep supplies in a closet and walk back and forth between the rooms they are working in and the closet containing supplies. This meant that every morning, all morning long, I heard the housekeeping staff rummaging around in that closet and opening and closing the door to that closet. And yes, it was loud enough to wake me. I feel sure I was the only room on my floor disturbed by this noise given my proximity to the housekeeping closet. So if you stay at The Halkin, make certain the housekeeping closet is not across the hall from your front door.

Overall, I really enjoyed my stay at The Halkin. I would definitely recommend it for anyone wanting to indulge in a bit of luxury. And I would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — luxurious accommodations
  • Disliked — hotel was a bit formal
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWakefield, General Manager at The Halkin by COMO, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for your review of The Halkin!
Happy New Year and we look forward to seeing you this year!

Best Regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2007

From the elegant entrance to our spectacular suite,
The Halkin was first class all the way! The location
was central to many of the tourist attractions that we
wanted to see, and the staff was polished and
professional. The modern design somehow melded
beautifully with the historical surroundings. The room
even had a computer system that controlled everything
from the lights to the ac, and even maid or butler
service!
We did not try the in house restaurant (Thai food),
but the room service was to die for (mozzarella and
pesto burger, anyone?).
The only downside was the high price tag, but the
luxury that the hotel provided was well worth it for
this once in a lifetime European vacation.

  • Liked — The room, the service, the location
  • Disliked — High price tag
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWakefield, General Manager at The Halkin by COMO, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for your review of The Halkin!
Happy New Year and we look forward to seeing you this year!

Best Regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2007

What a fantastic place. Cannot agree with the other reviews enough, from checking in to checking out the next morning, everything was first rate.
The decor is not in any way tired but is understated and just has a overall feeling of quality and class. We had the most basic room, but it was easily big enough with an amazing bathroom.
My wife loved the bathing products and I loved the in room entertainment facility, the jukebox was huge with more than enough choice at the touch of a button.
The staff were attentive, but not in your face and everything we asked for was provided with courtesy and care.
We didn't eat at the restaurant, but the breakfast was simply amazing.
Loved this place and cannot recommend it enough.

  • Liked — Location, service and ambience
  • Disliked — the cost, but it was worth every penny!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWakefield, General Manager at The Halkin by COMO, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for your review of The Halkin!
Happy New Year and we look forward to seeing you this year!

Best Regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Halkin by COMO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Halkin by COMO

Address: 5 Halkin St., Belgravia, London SW1X 7DJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in London
#19 Luxury Hotel in London
#19 Romantic Hotel in London
#27 Business Hotel in London
#152 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Halkin by COMO 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Halkin by COMO is a haven of luxury in the heart of London’s Belgravia with the shopping of Mayfair and Knightsbridge both within a 10-minute walk. With a discreet, efficient approach to service, everything about The Halkin is about elegant understatement and its intimate feel. With just 41 rooms and suites, The Halkin is a true boutique hotel. Bespoke Italian design is combined with subtle nuances of Oriental influence with wools, silks and linens in taupes and creams. Rooms are furnished with soft carpets and warm wood panelling, and boast some of the largest bathrooms in London. The hotel restaurant Ametsa with Arzak Instruction,is a unique collaboration between Elena Arzak – voted Veuve Clicquot World’s Best Female Chef in 2012 – along with her father Juan Mari Arzak, and Mikel Sorazu, Igor Zalakain and Xabier Gutierrez.Ametsa’s approach is rooted in the traditions of ‘New Basque Cuisine’, pairing the earthy flavours and techniques of Spain’s Basque region with modern, surprising twists featuring locally-sourced and organic produce from land and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, LondonMarketing.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Halkin by COMO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Halkin Hotel London
Halkin London
Halkin Hotel London
The Halkin By COMO London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Halkin by COMO, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.