We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Halkin by COMO

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Halkin by COMO to your Saves list
The Halkin by COMO
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Halkin St., Belgravia, London SW1X 7DJ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3 nights for price of 2
Ranked #14 of 1,062 Hotels in London
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
271 reviews 271 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Pros
Modern facility with large rooms
Friendly staff
Excellent location
Quiet rooms and neighbourhood but easy access to many sites in London
Cons
Quite expensive
Windows are sealed however you can ask the staff to get them open

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia C, Front Office Manager at The Halkin by COMO, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear MILOUW,

Thank you very much indeed for your valued feedback following your recent stay. I am very pleased that you enjoyed our facilities and the excellent location of the hotel.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future.

Warm regards,

Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    39
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
28
175
29
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

we decided to have a city break in london.the halkin is so well situated and we were totally happy we the whole setup of the hotel. staff were charming and efficent and our room was beautifuuly appointed and comfortable.only drawback-dinner at resraurant not up to expectation---breakfast was superb

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia C, Front Office Manager at The Halkin by COMO, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear doctor30,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience here at The Halkin following your stay last November. While I was delighted to read that you overall had a great stay, I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the not so memorable dinner experience you had. This is certainly not indicative for the high service standards we strive for and we welcome every opportunity to improve any areas of concern.

Please do let me know when your travel plans will bring you back to London.

Sincerely,

Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had a very nice stay at the Halkin. Room was nicely decorated, with everything you could need, and a nice bathroom with large bath and very powerful shower. Very comfortable bed.

Staff were friendly and a complimentary bottle of bubbly as it was my wife's birthday was a nice touch.

We also had afternoon tea, which was very nice and they accommodated my wfie's gluten allergy.

My only complaint is the price of the afternoon tea - £100 for 2, which included half a glass of champagne, was too much (3 half sandwiches, 6 mini scones and 2 cakes), I think this is not good value for money compared to other establishments, and the bar / restaurant are is lacking atmosphere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia C, Front Office Manager at The Halkin by COMO, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear edwowen,

Many thanks for sharing your experience following your recent visit earlier in January. While I was very happy to read that you and your wife overall had a lovely time celebrating this special occasion, I was of course disappointed that your afternoon tea experience was not as memorable as we would have hoped for. Please rest assured that your feedback is very important to us and that we will do our utmost to improve the areas of concern.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to The Halkin by COMO, I remain at your service should there be anything I can assist you with.

Kind regards,

Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

lovely hotel central to most places.food was very good, rooms spacious and well equiped. staff and service excellent! cocktails & bar open until late.stayed for three nights and would definatley stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia C, Front Office Manager at The Halkin by COMO, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Denise B,

I am delighted to read about the memorable experience you had here at The Halkin by COMO last year. I am very pleased that you not only enjoyed the various services we offer, but also felt that our team took excellent care of you.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel and I remain at your services, should there be anything I can assist with in planning your next visit.

All the best,

Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This hotel, for me, is quite simply one of the best in London. Our standard double room was a good size and clean. Staff were possibly the most welcoming and accomodating that we've met.
We stayed room only so cannot comment on the food. The breakfast room was bright and cheery rather than oppulent.
Would we stay again? Absolutely!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia C, Front Office Manager at The Halkin by COMO, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear AlanS600,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience here at The Halkin by COMO following your recent stay. It is an absolut pleasure to see comments like yours and I was particularly pleased to read about your memorable encounters with the team!

Please feel free to contact me at any time should there be anything I can ever assist with.

With warm regards,

Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Rooms lovely, big modern and clean. Staff great. That's all you need and that is what you get. The location is without peer and - don't laugh - get an oyster card and use the buses that come constantly past the end of the street to get around.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia C, Front Office Manager at The Halkin by COMO, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback following your recent stay with us. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future. Please also feel free to contact me directly when planning your next visit to London.

Sincerely yours,

Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed for one night with my husband. We have eaten at Nahm quite a few times and loved it so we thought we would try a stay at the hotel as soon as we had an excuse.

We arrived before published check in time. This was not a problem for the receptionist, they offered to sort us out a room early but we intended to go out for lunch any way. We had a quick coffee to warm up and headed out. When we returned they informed us that our room had been up graded to a studio suite. The room was lovely. Great bed and quality bedding, a good size seating area and a little dressing area. The bathroom had the most powerful shower I have ever experienced. Really liked the toiletries - aromatherapy type smell to them. Nespresso coffee machine with choice of coffee but no tea making facilities in the room.

We dined at Nahm in the evening. The food was amazing and the service excellent. In fact all of the staff we met were friendly and efficient.

The hotel is in a great location for shops and restaurants and only short walk from Hyde Park Corner tube station. There is an interesting pub round the corner also if you fancy something like that. It's called the Grenadier and in the middle of a row of mews houses.

Breakfast was also very good. Fast service and plenty of choice. My husband selected boiled eggs which were slightly underdone for his liking but still a very good breakfast over all. Great choice of preserves for toast. Great fresh juices.

I would definitely stay here again. I think it might be my favourite London stay so far!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia C, Front Office Manager at The Halkin by COMO, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you very much for sharing your valuable feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed The Halkin in some many different ways and had some memorable encounters with the team. Please do not hesitate to contact me at your convenience when planning your next visit to London as I would be delighted to personally assist in making the necessary arrangements.

Kind regards,

Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Halkin by COMO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Halkin by COMO

Address: 5 Halkin St., Belgravia, London SW1X 7DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in London
#13 Luxury Hotel in London
#20 Romantic Hotel in London
#35 Business Hotel in London
#70 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Halkin by COMO 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Halkin by COMO is a haven of luxury in the heart of London’s Belgravia with the shopping of Mayfair and Knightsbridge both within a 10-minute walk. With a discreet, efficient approach to service, everything about The Halkin is about elegant understatement and its intimate feel. With just 41 rooms and suites, The Halkin is a true boutique hotel. Bespoke Italian design is combined with subtle nuances of Oriental influence with wools, silks and linens in taupes and creams. Rooms are furnished with soft carpets and warm wood panelling, and boast some of the largest bathrooms in London. The hotel restaurant Ametsa with Arzak Instruction,is a unique collaboration between Elena Arzak – voted Veuve Clicquot World’s Best Female Chef in 2012 – along with her father Juan Mari Arzak, and Mikel Sorazu, Igor Zalakain and Xabier Gutierrez.Ametsa’s approach is rooted in the traditions of ‘New Basque Cuisine’, pairing the earthy flavours and techniques of Spain’s Basque region with modern, surprising twists featuring locally-sourced and organic produce from land and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Venere, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Halkin by COMO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Halkin Hotel London
Halkin London
Halkin Hotel London
The Halkin By COMO London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Halkin by COMO, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.