We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and friendly but with a compromised design/layout we thought” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane

Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hamilton Place | Park Lane, London W1J 7DR, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3 Nights & Save 20%
Ranked #23 of 1,075 hotels in London
Bray, Ireland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Warm and friendly but with a compromised design/layout we thought”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

First off ,I have to say,we thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at this newly refurbished four seasons.
Service was excellent throughout,from the guys that meet you at the front door through to the reception staff that bring you to your room,the bartenders, and the waiting staff at Amaranto.
It was obvious that the training is excellent in all the staff and they perform their duties with a kind of loving attention that makes you feel you are their only and their favorite guest.
This is excellence as it should be in hospitality and it's good to see.
We highly recommend this hotel for the service alone.

The design of the hotel though looked like it has to cope within the confines of the building.It's very contemporary,modern and lush and in fact youthful,like it's borrowed a little from the style of a W hotel except applied a four seasons touch.
It's not country manor style like many four seasons or Ritz carltons that you may be used to.
It's a little dark and from the front reception down to the bar is quite narrow,making it feel a little pokey.

Amaranto, the main restaurant is is down towards the end of that "hall" containing the bar (for want of a better description) in the conservatory.Here it's much roomier,the food is lovely,not award winning but lovely none the less.
They have an excellent wine list and someone who knows their wines inside out,so a big plus there!
Service at amaranto that evening and again at breakfast was the same as at other areas of the hotel,a ten out of ten earned.

The 10th floor lounge is remarkable for it's views as is the excellently equipped Gym.
If you are staying for a few days,ordering room service breakfast once at this lounge is a must!

Finally,We were in a deluxe room,which is the same size as their premier room.
I have to say I found this disappointingly small.It's bathroom was positively claustrophobic and similar to what you might find in the most basic room at the sofitel heathrow. Thats fine for there but very lacking at a four seasons.
The general wisdom would be to go for the much larger conservatory rooms or a suite all be it at triple the cost or more.
This would be by far the smallest four seasons room we've stayed in and as most people get a room as opposed to a suite,it's disappointing.
I've attached a picture of the bathroom to show how tight the space is.

I'd certainly recommend this hotel to a friend but with the caveats mentioned.
You will be loved here and thats what you want but your room is also a big percentage of the experience which we found here to disappoint.
For that reason,it's up there among my London favorites now but not the favorite,which remains the covent garden hotel over on monmouth street but just by a shade or two.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    362
    60
    18
    6
    0
See reviews for
94
143
29
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

We stayed here to celebrate my partner's birthday and were upgraded to a suite, It was huge, had everything one could think of, and all that at special opening rates. Service was professional and very friendly, much more so than your average 5 star hotel and conveniently close to the Hyde Park Corner tube. Highly recommended, and probably better value than the Hilton or InterContinental across the road.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenmore Hills
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

We were fortunate enough to have planned the London leg of a recent world tour in the very week of opening of the refurbished 4 Seasons.

The lobby, bar and restaurant have a red and black theme which immediately won over my partner, whose car and most of her clothing are based on that combination.

Rooms (we had a mid range double) have been cleverly designed to maximise space. It was not huge, but was spacious by London standards, and by providing the (generous) clothes stoirage as part of the wall separating the living area from the bathroom, the livings/sleeping area is uncluttered seems bigger than it really is. Certaintly, it is all 5 star.

Restaurant and bat staff knowledgable and friendly and concierge expcetional. My friend inquired about a hair cut and ended up before she knew what was happenning being shuttled in a Bentley to and from the local salon. No charge for that.

Only minor glitch was an over enthusiatic junior in the rstaurant; we were dressed appropriatylly but casually one night and decided to eat in. We had not reserved and he did not recognise us as guests, and tried to tell us that without a reservation we had no business being there - basically that we were not good enough for the 4 Seasons. He got a serious (metaphorical) clip over the ear from his superiors and stayed right away from us for the rest of the stay. A funny incident more than a real issue.

We had the benefit of a very genous opening week price, but even at normal rates I will be back. Full marks.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheam, Surrey, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

We stayed at the Four Seasons on Saturday night to celebrate my husband's Birthday. It was totally amazing and I can't say enough good things about it. The rooms are incredibly comfortable with loads of storage and very well designed - total luxury. The bathroom was so nice, the in-mirror TV above the sink was great. The public areas are beautifully designed and we took a peak at the Spa, even though it's not open yet and the views are great. The complimentary trips in the Rolls Royce will never be forgotten by John and I - we're ordinary people who were made to feel like royalty for one very special weekend. Overall the number one compliment must go to the Staff - thank you for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

This is an amazing hotel. Where do I begin. The food, the service, the decor, the rooms! The staff jumped through hoops to help us for even the most minor things.
The renovations are outstanding it is now a contemporary art deco look and just beautiful. They even offered us a Rolls Royce limo to take us to our restaurant, no charge, but just to make our stay more wonderful. I would absolutedly stay here again and recommend it 100%.

Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

I spent THE first night after THE re opening in à superior room. With à great ambiance and service THE four seasons London Will be THE number one in town. From THE check in to THE check out you get an experience you Will never forget. Maybe some small starting problems but after some weeks it Will be à leader of THE four seasons groupie such as THE George v in paris.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane

Address: Hamilton Place | Park Lane, London W1J 7DR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in London
#7 Business Hotel in London
#9 Spa Hotel in London
#20 Luxury Hotel in London
#36 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Mayfair, set back from Park Lane and just steps away from Hyde Park and Knightsbridge, Four Seasons London at Park Lane captures a unique sense of place with its distinctive parkside location at the finest address in the city. Re-opened in January 2011, following an extensive two year-transformation, the hotel's 193 guest rooms and suites including 46 one, two and three-bedroom suites, many with fireplaces and private terraces, balance eclectic British sophistication with a sleek modern look. Amaranto Restaurant with its own private garden serves up modern Italian cuisine. The Amaranto Bar with its distinctive British clubby feel offers an ecclectic cocktail menu while Amaranto Lounge makes for the ideal spot for Traditional Afternoon Tea. The Spa at Four Seasons is a 10th floor rooftop retreat with nine treatment rooms, each benefitting from their own individual relaxation pod, and with an extensive treatment room. The Fitness Centre offers sweeping views across the city and features state-of-the-art cardio and weight training equipment. The hotel also has nine banquet and private dining rooms, most with natural light. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Amex, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel London At Park Lane
Four Seasons Hotel London At Park Lane England
Four Seasons London
London Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.