We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's like coming home....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Capital Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Capital Hotel to your Saves list
The Capital Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 - 24 Basil Street | Knightsbridge, London SW3 1AT , England (Knightsbridge / South Kensington)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“It's like coming home....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I have to say that I have stayed at The Capital on several occasions and on each return the pleasure increases. The welcome at the door, in the bar, at breakfast.. it all appears to be totally genuine and from people who really are pleased to see you. The rooms are spotlessly clean (I love the fact that I have been put in the same room and don't have to orientate myself all over again) with a delicious selection of bathroom products - you need ask for no more.

So thank you, just keep doing what you are doing and I am so looking forward to experiencing Nathan Outlaws cuisine when I return. I too am a hotelier, so understand how difficult it is to keep everything pristine at all times and I applaud you!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecapitalhotel, General Manager at The Capital Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. I was delighted to read that you are enjoying your return visits to the hotel just as much as your first! The team are always so thrilled to see returning guests; as a family run hotel we strive to make sure our guests feel at home here and so there is no greater compliment. We are very proud of our new restaurant and look forward to tempting you with the delicious menu on your next visit to London.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Kind regards

Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    59
    13
    14
    3
See reviews for
54
143
39
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Magor, Wales, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

My daughter took me for afternoon tea and it was wonderful. All staff very attentive and helpful. Sandwiches, cakes, scones delicious. We had a love time spending time together. Such a lovely treat. I am disabled and use crutches. The afternoon tea is served in a lovely little dining room and all on the ground floor as are the toilets etc. As a bonus Harrod's is just around the corner.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecapitalhotel, General Manager at The Capital Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
I am so pleased to read that you and your daughter had such a good experience when you came for afternoon tea, what a lovely way to spend an afternoon together! I have a particular soft spot for our Eccles cakes that make up part of our tea and I hope that you enjoyed them as much as I do. Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review and we very much hope to welcome you both back to the hotel when you are next in Knightsbridge.

Kind regards

Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

A wonderful hotel, with attentive, friendly staff. Located steps from Harrods in a toney part of town. Our go-to hotel in London for its quaint, cozy rooms , and British hospitality. The bar is a great place for a cup of tea or a cocktail before dinner. The Concierge always has a smile and always ready to help. This is our second visit and one of our favorite small luxury hotels in London.

Room Tip: A room overlooking Basile street is a plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecapitalhotel, General Manager at The Capital Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
The team at the hotel were very happy to read that you had enjoyed your visit to The Capital and London. We are spoiled with our location so close to Harrods and Sloane Street and I am so pleased that it suited you well. Cesar in the bar is a true legend and looks forward to welcoming you back with a restorative cup of tea or something a little stronger!

Kind regards

Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Wonderful location for London shopping ,restaurants and theatres with parking provided .The rooms are very tastefully decorated , super comfortable beds and quiet all of which makes for a good night 's sleep. Free internet access but a little slow.
Small restaurant but light and airy . Great english cooking and the set lunch uper value. House wines are good . Wine list possibly a little expensive. Breakfast excellent.
All the staff happy to help and well trained.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecapitalhotel, General Manager at The Capital Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay at the Capital. Having a car park here in the centre of Knightsbridge is certainly a useful thing! I was very pleased that you liked your bedroom and it all resulted in a good night’s sleep. Our house wines come from my father’s vineyard in the Loire so he was particularly pleased to hear that you had enjoyed them.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards

Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

When I was in London 2 years ago, I visited Capital hotel for afternoon tea. That time I didnt have reservation and it was very busy day. But staffs from Bar took me to the bar and set sup cozy corner but it was dark. But experience of afternoon tea was great and service was absolutely good Mongolian boy/ cant remember his name/ who looked after us very well and talked about the Japan and so on. That time I am very impressed with service which they provided.
This year when I went to London I went for afternoon tea again with booking. Room was so nice next to window but tea was great sandwihes as well as but only one thing was missing it was talking with staff. they were serving right but not same as last waiter /Mongolian waiter/ who made us memorable afternoon tea 2 years back.


But I will definetly go back for afternoon tea it was one of the best in London

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecapitalhotel, General Manager at The Capital Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
I am delighted that you enjoyed your most recent afternoon tea at the Capital. On your first visit you were looked after by Ink who is a wonderful person and we were so sorry when he returned to Mongolia last year. Cesar’s team are very charming and I hope that on your next visit you will be served someone you like as much as Ink.

The sitting room is indeed charming and I am glad that you have now experienced the full afternoon tea at the Capital. We all look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Knightsbridge for this very English tradition.

Kind regards

Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Great locations; super close to Harrods, Harvey Nicoles and Sloan Street.
They use double-layer glass windows. So it is really quiet during the night.
Staff were super friendly.
Excellent service!
I also ordered the English breakfast. It tastes great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecapitalhotel, General Manager at The Capital Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are very spoiled with our location so close to the shops and museums. As you mention though we are lucky enough to be on a small residential street and have double glazing so we hope our guests find a quiet and restful place to enjoy. Our restaurant team were delighted to read that you thought highly of your breakfast, it really is the most important meal of the day!

We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit.

Kind regards

Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TROYES
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Very good service, great location.The nearest hotel from Harrod's.
The staff is very attentive to all your needs. The food is very good. The decoration is a bit classical in the rooms but you feel like in a typical british hotel. Very nice selection of whisky in the bar.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecapitalhotel, General Manager at The Capital Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. Cesar does indeed have a wonderful stock of amazing whiskeys in the bar and as the youngest Keeper of the Quiach he is very involved with the entire industry. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to London.

Kind regards

Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capital Hotel

Address: 22 - 24 Basil Street | Knightsbridge, London SW3 1AT , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Knightsbridge / South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in London
#64 Romantic Hotel in London
#71 Family Hotel in London
#94 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Capital Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hotel London
The Capital Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Capital Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.