We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From Russia with love?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Berkeley

Save Saved
You added The Berkeley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Berkeley
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wilton Place | Knightsbridge, London SW1X 7RL, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Daze from £390
Ranked #88 of 1,075 hotels in London
Truro, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“From Russia with love?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Ok , so the Maybourne group , three 5 star hotels, Claridges is very good, but you need to pay for a more expensive room to avoid some remaining shabby ones, the Connaught, well that's pretty well perfect throughout with no disappointments, and so we arrive for the first time at the Berkeley, 5 stars, polite staff and a deluxe King room, not the base version, not the best, but all the same, not the cleanest, and a bit shabby, but not in the chic type of shabby.
We decided to stay here when we last dined in the reastaurant (Marcus Wareing) and I had thought that this would be on a par with the Connaught, it's not. I also realised that almost all of the staff , reception, bar area, doormen, had , well , not the greatest understanding of English.
For example, "room service, please send up a tray of tea for two " is repeated back ," you would like breakfast for three" Reception , when sat to be booked ,promptly took a phone call, and lost interest, end result.....find the room yourself!
Door man.... Here is your car sir, you will have a late penalty payment having now checked out? Which, translated is ," we will take the 2 days parking fee from your card details "
Obviously this is still a popular choice, but not the most restful of places , especially with the numbers of personal protection staff sat outside of their employers bedrooms, or on surveillance in the foyer.
All in all seemed like we had booked 2 days in a Russian hotel from the 70's

Room Tip: The more you pay......also a lot of cheaper rooms are on the inside looking at ducting!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    323
    95
    41
    24
    16
See reviews for
79
182
29
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Having previously stayed at Claridges and the Connaught we decided to try the Berkeley on this trip to London. We booked a Deluxe King room and were somewhat underwhelmed by it. It was clean, had everything we needed but seemed to lack soul. Staff seemed polite but lacking the edge that marks out a good hotel from a great hotel and it was an ongoing frustration over our stay that there appeared to be a certain lack of understanding from some staff members when it came to conversing in English. I know everyone has to learn somewhere, but constantly having to correct staff is a little tiresome.

Breakfast in the caramel room was a bonus and we enjoyed a late latte and toast before hitting the shops in time honoured tradition. This worked out for us to be more cost effective than paying for the full Monty in Kauffmans.

We probably wouldn't go back to the Berkeley but re-visit the Connaught. However, the position of the Berkeley is excellent and this is just our personal preference.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Often stay in London but gave this hotel a try for two nights. Friendliest hotel in London I have found so far, nothing is too much trouble, but then no more than expected. Koffman's excellent, Waring's good. Only black mark the breakfast area was full, so went to Harrods. Blue Bar busy and excellent service, very good staff.

Room Tip: Have room service for breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usk
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Having stayed many times, this is in my opinion as good as it gets in London.

The attention to detail is impressive and the staff are extremely polite and nothing is ever too much trouble. This experience that starts at the front door and whilst not cheap, is always worth every penny.

Room Tip: Balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Very comfortable, but drinks at the bar are very pricey as would be expected. Was disappointed that my room which faced onto the park on the 4th floor had quite a lot of road noise. Gym is good, nice pool and modern equipment.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I was taken to The Berkeley for tea by a friend as a 50th birthday treat. Whether the waiters tried extra hard because of that I don't know, but we had a fabulous tea & the waiters were friendly & polite. You are offered replenishments of all sandwiches, cakes & desserts, as well as refills or fresh choices of the various teas on offer (which were many!).
If I had to find fault it would be that, having visited in an autumn month, it was mildly disappointing that the tea theme was still languishing in 2013 Spring/Summer styles/colours, but they were still delicious!
Have recommended this treat to all my friends!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Berkeley is rare among London hotels: the service is exceptionally good. From the greeting at the door to checking out and everything in between the attentiveness and helpfulness from everyone was excellent. In fact good service should be the minimum expectation but on several ocassions staff went beyond that. And prices are completely in line with other top-end London hotels.

Although the spa is small there is a decent selection of treatments and worth a visit.

In my experience there's nothing not to like about this hotel.

Room Tip: If you're feeling indulgent, get one of the corner suites - they have their own conservatory and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berkeley

Address: Wilton Place | Knightsbridge, London SW1X 7RL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in London
#58 Romantic Hotel in London
#70 Luxury Hotel in London
#149 Business Hotel in London
#160 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Berkeley 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately hotel with elegant ambience; multilingual staff; located in Knightsbridge across from Hyde Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Berkeley Hotel London
Berkeley London
Berkeley Hotel London
The Berkeley London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Berkeley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.