We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Berkeley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Berkeley to your Saves list
The Berkeley
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wilton Place | Knightsbridge, London SW1X 7RL, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Winter Welcome -from �390
Ranked #74 of 1,066 Hotels in London
North New Jersey, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“AWESOME!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Great location, literally blocks from Harrods. My room wasn't ready when I arrived, so I used the spa to change and then came back 4 hours later, but the room was still not ready so they upgraded me to a suite. It was awesome, everything about this hotel is top shelf. Great rooms, very cool place if you have the $$$$.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    105
    45
    24
    16
See reviews for
91
202
32
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

was taken to pret-a-portea at The Berkeley for my 21st birthday. as a big fan of fashion i was delighted about this - all of the cakes are based on collections from fashion week.
the service we got was fabulous. we could have as many savories/sandwiches and cakes as we wanted, as soon as we were finished they came over and asked if we wanted more. we ended up taking a few bags back to our hotel. we just missed out on the new cake collection - they change each fashion season.
very happy photos are allowed - as some hotels with afternoon tea don't allow this. also never felt rushed to finish.
definitely recommend going - once in a lifetime experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I spent the night at this hotel while in London for a business trip. Service was inpeccable, with attention to detail from check in to check out. The conceirge is excellent! The location is unbeatable. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking Wilton St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This was our first trip to London and feel fortunate to have found such an amazing hotel. We have stayed at many top end hotels in Europe and would rank The Berkeley at or near the top. Elegant and discreet with a huge room, lively bar and excellent restaurants. We were there during Wimbledon so the price of the room naturally went up but still offered great value. We didn't use the spa as it was just reopening after renovations and it was a little too cool to enjoy the beautiful rooftop garden. The staff were always around to look after whatever request we had. The concierge in particular was most helpful. Situated in Knightsbridge near Kensington and Mayfair, we found the location to be very convenient with access to the Tube close by. Would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the best hotels I have stayed in, the staff were charming, the food was great, the room was very well decorated and the location was great.

The spa is very nice, with a great view over London and there was a little garden on the roof.

It is in a very convenient location, I really recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

What an experience. A friend had booked a table for a friends birthday and the three of us went from the Grosvevor House Hotel in Park Lane by cab down to the Berkeley Hotel for dinner, where we were assured that Marcus Wareing would not disapoint, and he certainly didn't.
We opted for the Food tasting, which was 7 courses, with wine to match each dish. The Barratta starter was lovely, with amazing tastes whizzing round the mouth, as was the Quail, Lamb, Turbot all exceptional. In fact you couldn't fault any of the dishes which were beautifully served. With Champagne to start and vintage port to finish, it was quite an expensive meal, but one that's worth every penny. If you want to go to a special place for a wonderful mix of delicious food and fine wine - this is the place for you. The waiters, both wine and food were all very friendly and knew their jobs, and answered any questions with informed gusto. We were asked if we'd like to see the kitchens, and again chefs, cooks and general staff were busy, but found the time to answer questions and smile at the fact we had enjoyed what they had been making. A great night out - Book - it gets busy - the word is spreading fast, and I for one will certainly be going again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The Bottom Line: Incredibly attentive, luxury hotel for high-end travelers.

Note: The Berkeley is a luxury hotel that is incredibly expensive. This review is acknowledging that as a given.

The Great: The service at the hotel is superb. The staff is incredibly polite and attentive and eager to please and meet requests. One of the children in our party is a vegetarian. A vegetable burger was not on the menu (despite 1 and 2 Michelin star restaurants in the hotel). After failing to find a vegetable burger at several nearby restaurants, the concierge flogged the kitchen staff into making one from scratch, stating "Our kitchen staff should be able to handle this!" This anecdote captures the lengths the staff would go to for pleasing their guests.

The rooms were well appointed in "Traditional" London style. Our party had both regular rooms and a suite, all of which were excellent. The breakfast and tea in the Caramel room were excellent, and the Blue Room bar was also superb. Closet space was good.

Also worth noting is that while countless items were incredibly expensive, WiFi was free. Although a small note, it is worth mentioning as many luxury hotels also gouge for WiFi.

The Mediocre but Expected: Everything is incredibly expensive. But if you're staying here, you likely have taken that into account. Also of note is the tub/shower was European style, with only a partial glass curtain, which is a bit odd if you're an American (although not uncommon in Europe).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berkeley

Address: Wilton Place | Knightsbridge, London SW1X 7RL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in London
#46 Romantic Hotel in London
#61 Luxury Hotel in London
#106 Family Hotel in London
#121 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Berkeley 5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately hotel with elegant ambience; multilingual staff; located in Knightsbridge across from Hyde Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Berkeley Hotel London
Berkeley London
Berkeley Hotel London
The Berkeley London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Berkeley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.