We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but toppy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Berkeley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Berkeley to your Saves list
The Berkeley
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wilton Place | Knightsbridge, London SW1X 7RL, England (Belgravia)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
£390 (GBP)
Ranked #84 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice but toppy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Low key, well designed and well positioned for knightsbridge. Reasonably sized rooms, expensive room service food, good quality service.

I'd return if i needed to be in knightsbridge otherwise there is better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    117
    45
    24
    14
See reviews for
99
215
32
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bahrain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I've stayed in this hotel once before , it's very clean , comfortable , nice and helpful staff , even the quest relations manager kept a welcoming card in my room with a print of one of my painting on it . I thought how did they know I was a painter ?
The location is brilliant , Hyde park across the road , main shops cafes restaurants are a walking distance .
The rooms should be up-graded soon to stay level with competition .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Lovely, intimate, luxurious, old world, yet hip. Great shopping and touring location.

Priced accordingly; eg high.

Rooms can be small for families .... not really a family hotel, as i think they'd agree.


PS We stayed four years ago in April.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here before on business trips. Very professional staff, clean hotel. Rooms and bathrooms are well maintained. Location excellent as it is close to pubs, a number of excellent restaurants, and excellent shopping. Very good hotel restaurant for breakfast. One bad thing this trip was closure of fitness facility due to renovation - they relocated equipment to a 1st floor suite but not the experience I was looking for from this hotel. Their rooftop facility was so much nicer so hoping the changes come thru for next trip.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed here in February 2013 and the room was immaculate. Very large main room with pretty decor. Our room also had a large dressing/make-up room which led to a seperate (again large) bathroom.

Service was unfaultable throughout our stay.

On arrival our room wasn't quite ready so we were taken to one of the bar/sitting areas where we were given complimentary tea and a variety of shortcake biscuits which were lovely.

The location of this hotel is great too, everything you could want is within walking distance and even though it is in the centre of London the bedrooms are absolutley silent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband and I use this hotel whenever we're in London,on this occasion I was with my 11 tear old grandson. As always we received excellent service from all the staff,from the doormen,who whisked away the car,to reservations,who remembered we were booking in early, and then the Carmel room, our normal table booked for supper,and an extra menu produced when my grandson couldn't make up his mind.This hotel always goes the extra mile,service,food and rooms....exceptional...try it!

Room Tip: overlooking the church is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Room was very comfortable and well appointed. Bed very comfortable and the large bathroom was a plus also. Breakfast was also excellent- great buffet choices for continental or a full English option as well. Concierges were also very helpful. Would stay again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berkeley

Address: Wilton Place | Knightsbridge, London SW1X 7RL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in London
#50 Romantic Hotel in London
#72 Luxury Hotel in London
#109 Business Hotel in London
#118 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Berkeley 5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately hotel with elegant ambience; multilingual staff; located in Knightsbridge across from Hyde Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your The Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Berkeley Hotel London
Berkeley London
Berkeley Hotel London
The Berkeley London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Berkeley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.