We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but beware the basement rooms!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Beaufort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Beaufort Hotel to your Saves list
The Beaufort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Beaufort Gardens | Knightsbridge, London SW3 1PP, England (Knightsbridge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #110 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful but beware the basement rooms!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2008

We have just returned from a weekend at The Beaufort and on the whole have to agree with all the other reviews.
It truly is a beautiful hotel, very well located and with the little extras such as the complimentary bar and cream teas (delicious).
However I would advise anyone to check which room they have been allocated before confirming a booking. Room 4 is a very small basement room, only room for a bedside cabinet on one side of the bed. It did have a small window which looked out onto ventilation shafts and drain pipes but we were unable even to tell what the weather was like. The mobile signal is non existant - important when you have left children with a relative. There was one fresh flower in the room and two after dinner sized chocolates. The bathroom was lovely, however the flooring in the bedroom was "cheap", poorly laid laminate, the bed was comfortable but one of the throws on the bed had stains on it. We were able to hear the guests in Room 3 using the bathroom facilities and guests in the lounge talking late into the night. We did ask to change rooms but apparently the hotel was fully booked.
All said a great hotel but do avoid the basement rooms

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    138
    34
    17
    19
See reviews for
70
222
64
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hydes, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2008

We just returned from London where we had a wonderful stay at the Beaufort Hotel in Knightsbridge. Very comfortable, welcoming staff.

The room was small by American standards but very nice. While I would have preferred to have better control of the temperature, opening the window worked just fine. Free bottled water in the room, chocolate in the evening with a nice turndown service.

We are still not that crazy about English showers but it was alright at the hotel. I like a bit more water pressure though but I am being nitpicky.

We stayed on the third floor at the back of the hotel with a view over the roof tops. One word to those who are claustrophobic, the elevator is very, very small. Two people maximum with out luggage... believe me there was no room for it. But it works fine and the staff brought up all our bags.

Nice extra's, cream tea in the afternoon included, wine and beer in the evening included, use of the computer in the lounge and we could print our boarding passes.

The hotel took good care of us and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2008

Excellent location, great staff, excellent value for money. I f you are lookig for a casual and friendly atmosphere, that's the place to stay ! We'll be back for sure.

  • Liked — Atmosphere
  • Disliked — The matress
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2008

This is my third stay. Well worth the cost for a special occasion such as an anniversary if coming to London, going to a show and visiting Harrods. - Food (Breakfast / afternoon tea) top knotch and plenty of nice touches.

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2008

A well priced, small Hotel in the exclusive shopping area of Knightsbridge in London. The rooms are small in size but stylish in design and amenities. It is run by a very helpful, cheerful and courteous group of people. Our stay there certainly added to the enjoyment of our short break in London.

  • Liked — Location & Price
  • Disliked — No dislikes
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florence
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2008

We stayed at The Beaufort Hotel last week.Our staying was wonderful.The hotel it's very nice ,clean,the front desk it's excellent,and very helpfull,to give you recommandations and
directions. The rooms are very beautiful and quiet.If you come on vacation or for work it's very nice to stay in a peaceful street.The location is the best.Right next to Harrods,ready for shopping!!
We will be back atThe Beaufort and we will recommend this hotel
to everybody who want an unforgettable stay in London.
Ilaria Gabbrielli-Marco Donati( Florence Italy)

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed August 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2008

i recently stayed at the beaufort for mine and my partners anniversary!! from the moment we got their it was beautiful and peaceful, and very romantic with the music playing in the room when we entered! We loved it so much we wish we hadn't booked to go to see the lion king at the thearte, all we wanted to do was relax! the complimentary bar was amazing, sipping on champagne before going out. We only stayed there for 1 night and i wish we could of stayed for more. absolutely enjoyed out stay.

  • Liked — how peaceful it was
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beaufort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beaufort Hotel

Address: 33 Beaufort Gardens | Knightsbridge, London SW3 1PP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Knightsbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#91 Romantic Hotel in London
#92 Luxury Hotel in London
#106 Business Hotel in London
#165 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Beaufort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This friendly, attractive boutique hotel enjoys a peaceful location in a tree-lined cul-de-sac just a few minutes walk from the famous department store Harrods and Hyde Park. Direct link from Heathrow airport. All 29 bedrooms have air-conditioning and have been thoughtfully furnished. Wifi complimentary, and 24 hours soft drinks available free of charge together with afternoon cream tea with home baked scones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Hotel.de, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Beaufort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaufort Hotel London
Beaufort London
The Beaufort Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beaufort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.