We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Crown and Sceptre

Crown and Sceptre
34 Holland Rd | Kensington Olympia, London W14 8BA, England (Westminster / Belgravia)
+44 20 7603 2007
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 1,197 Nightlife in London
Type: Bar/ Clubs, Clubs
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Crown and Sceptre is a great place to dine or just to relax. A beautiful pub, restaurant and hotel with verve and style. Our kitchen offers British & Italian cookery to the highest standard, made by a dedicated team of professionals. Always fresh, always excellent. Our boutique hotel offers a rare mix of classic London hospitality and luxury en-suite accommodation from £90 which allows our guests to feel relaxed and refreshed for the next day at the exhibition hall.
London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Not often one to complain, a recent night's stay at the Crown and Sceptre did not match up to these great reviews.

Cannot speak for the food, and certainly the staff were very welcoming- alas, the rooms left a lot to be desired. Scruffy hallway made a poor first impression, as did curtain hanging off rail at window. Bedroom was a little more style over substance. Few amenities; no hair dryer, only shampoo and bar soap in bathroom; tea/coffee facilities covered in crumbs. Lumpy carpet, worn upholstery, snagged throw and empty flower vase were far more shabby than chic.

Certainly comfortable for the price, but 'luxurious boutique rooms' require a little more attention to detail.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    8
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Worth an award”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Had dinner late on sunday one of the last orders but food as fresh as if it was the first. Big plate full of meat and fresh veg. Ran out of yorkshire pud and offered bread instead when it cam grilled ad drizzled with pesto brill. I have had sunday dinners in celeb chefs restaurants and this was better

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Stumbled across this friendly welcoming hotel/pub, fantastic atmosphere and hosts
Great food with the open kitchen, been back many times, love it, rooms are spacious and boutique and very cheap,
Definitely recommend this place

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 1 night for our anniversary recently. The room was very well kept. It was clean and well appointed. The bed was smaller than a traditional double but we're both small so that was fine. The service was pleasant and the continental breakfast that came free with the room booking was nice and well presented. The pub/hotel is 2 mins walk from Kensington Olympia and 10-15 mins walk to high street Kensington tube station for central London. Overall we really enjoyed our stay.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Had a very comfortable stay here with the girlfriend, rooms were clean and the bathroom facilities excellent. Staff were friendly and the atmosphere there generally welcoming. If there is any downside then its the fact that transport into central London requires a bit of navigation (have to take an indirect approach into central London) from overground trains to underground trains (i would recommend taking the overground to shepherds bush and then switching to the underground central line for easy access to the shopping districts such as regents street and bond street). Would definitely stay there again.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crown and Sceptre also viewed

 

Been to Crown and Sceptre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown and Sceptre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.