We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very British!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Draycott Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Draycott Hotel to your Saves list
Draycott Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Cadogan Gardens, London SW3 2RP, England (Chelsea)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
St. Michaels, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very very British!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

What a lovely hotel located in Central London! The room was charming and cozy. The staff was incredibly welcoming and helpful. The garden was beautiful. Tea, champagne and hot chocolate each afternoon. It was perfect. We felt so at home -- I didn't want to leave. Highly recommend the Draycott.

Room Tip: Ask for the Bernard Shaw room if available -- access to the garden. So British!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    38
    6
    8
    5
See reviews for
40
102
58
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights to visit the Chelsea Flower Show. As soon as we walked in, we felt relaxed. The hotel is in a gorgeous old building which feels very intimate, like you are in a country house. Didn't want to leave. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms are all named after actors. We stayed in the Joyce Grenfell room and it was very large with nice views of the garden area. Having a bath as well as a shower was much appreciated. The personal touches are everywhere. At 4pm you can enjoy complimentary afternoon tea, 6pm is a free glass of champage with crisps/nuts and 9pm there is hot chocolate all served in the comfy drawing room. We enjoyed returning after a busy day to enjoy a glass of champagne. The shared areas; drawing room and library all have open fires and comfy sofas and chairs - perfect for relaxing in. Breakfast was included in our rate and there was a large selection of cold and hot breakfast food. If it is not included in your rate, it is very expensive (£21 for cooked breakfast) and there are lots of places nearby to have breakfast.
It is in a good location, as it is only a few minutes walk from Sloane Square tube and there are lots of places nearby to eat, drink and shop. The trip was a present so I don't know how much it is to stay here. Would definitely recommend this hotel for a romantic break. Your loved one will be impressed - I was.

Room Tip: The Grenfell room was big, with a king bed, sofa, coffee table, ipod dock, min bar, books on shelves...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night only and wish we had the time to stay longer!! Staff here is very friendly and helpful and want to make sure your stay is nice. The greeting you get when you walk in the door is like you are their friends. Our room was "old world" along with modern amenities. Classical music was playing when we walked into our room. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable and our room had a fireplace. Complimentary tea and champagne in afternoon in the parlor was very enjoyable. Location is also great with plenty of shopping close by and the area overall is very charming. If you are staying in Chelsea, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: try to get a fireplace room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern, us
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Having just returned from another wonderful stay at the Draycott Hotel, I still hold fast that it its simply the best hotel in London. For anyone looking for that perfect English atmosphere - the kind one reads about in books, the kind one dreams about - this is the place where it still exists. Beautiful, quiet location within walking distance to the best the old city has to offer. Kind and friendly staff. Incredibly comfortable, incredibly lovely rooms. I'll never even consider another place to stay in London.

Room Tip: The garden rooms are to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albuquerque
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I am a harsh critic of Hotels and have stayed in many but very few can create the perfect quiet ambiance and warmth of the Draycott. After a long trans Atlantic flight, no other hotel will warmly receive you and make you feel like you are returning to your own private mansion home. The staff are so welcoming and accommodating. They exude British hospitality and warmth. They make every effort to make your stay special. We had several amazing meals in the small intimate and romantic dining room and looked forward to the next one. If you want a beautiful London gem of a hotel...this is it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draycottfeedback, General Manager at Draycott Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
I was delighted to read your feedback, thank you. It is always encouraging when guests notice the staff and their performance, as we truly believe this is the secret at the Draycott. I have shared your thoughts and comments with all of our staff.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Melissa Stoman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We found this hotel through Trivago and we got a great rate for a 5 star hotel in London. There are so many great things to say about this hotel, the location is perfect, just a stones throw from Sloane Square, yet tucked away in a quiet location overlooking the beautiful garden square. We had the Irving room, which I shared with my 2 daughters age 10 and 13. They provided an extra bed and there was still ample room for us all. Thoughtful little touches such as a handwritten note, a teddy on the bed and a bag of sweets, delighted the girls. The only problem we encountered was that the shower did not work and this was swiftly remedied. One minor but irritating point was that the mirror above the dressing table was hung so high that you had to stand to see in it.
All the staff were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. A fantastic advantage to this hotel is that they serve complimentary tea at 4, champagne at 7 and hot chocolate at 9.30, which the kids loved.
We will definitely be returning to this lovely hotel again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I have been to the Draycott Hotel many years ago twice and always liked it. In the meantime the hotel underwent same changes and I have to say for the better. We had a lovely Deluxe Double with views over the garden. The hotel is in an quiet street but with easy access to the bus and underground. And one can walk to a lot of places and shops. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast should have a little bit more of a choice, it is just ok. They are working on it, I was told. But, and this was a very nice gesture, they let us buy a breakfast tray as we liked it so much. All in all: We will most certainly be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Draycott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Draycott Hotel

Address: 26 Cadogan Gardens, London SW3 2RP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in London
#22 Luxury Hotel in London
#44 Romantic Hotel in London
#73 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Draycott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic Town-House Hotel situated in Knightsbridge, around the corner from Sloane Square & tube station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, LondonMarketing.com and Priceline so you can book your Draycott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Draycott Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Draycott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.