We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The May Fair Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The May Fair Hotel to your Saves list
The May Fair Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stratton Street, London W1J 8LT, England (Mayfair)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enjoy breakfast for less
Ranked #212 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Personal service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We were lucky enough to stay in the Azure Suite for the second year in a row for our Christmas 'gathering'. Great service from the Doormen, Andrey on front desk and the Guest Relations team. Sophie and Fatima done their best to accommodate us and did not disappoint. We met Ipek the next day for check out who was also lovely.

We hope they finally sort out the technology in the Azure Suite soon as the new slightly smaller suites look amazing!

See you next year guys!

Room Tip: Splash out on a Suite! Breakfast is nothing special for the price, better off hitting somewhere els...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for your kind review.
I was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you so much for your special mentions about our team here.
We look forward to welcoming you back next year!
With my best wishes,
Anthony
Anthony Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,180
    673
    327
    210
    148
See reviews for
306
1,055
138
521
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Just had an amazing 2 night stay at The May Fair, not one problem. Efficient check in, gorgeous room and no noise heard for 2 nights. Large spacious room with comfy bed & all area immaculately clean. Just as it should be.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for your kind review.
I was so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and your comments are truly appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
With best wishes,
Anthony
Anthony Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

big hotel , but service was excellent and the concierge very efficient , rooms are large enough.
very good breakfeast , and very very good location in London if you want to stay in Mayfair area .
next to the hotel is Nobu restaurant and a new restaurant called Novikov

Room Tip: try to avoid rooms 400 to 410 , it's a very long walk from them to the elevators , but rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review.
I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and you will be returning in the future.
We very much look forward to looking after you again and until then, I send you my warmest wishes.
Anthony
Anthony Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I stayed in the hotel last week for a couple of days. Everything was really good, the location is really convenient and the rooms are fairly nice. The service in general was really good as well, quick and well trained. Special mention to Mary, the Italian receptionist. She was just lovely, really helpful and nice. Would definetely come back, it's a really good value for the price in central London.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for your kind review.
I was delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind compliments. I will certainly pass on your feedback to Mary, this is lovely to hear.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.
With best wishes,
Anthony
Anthony Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We were due to check in at 2pm, however as we travelled by train, we took our luggage straight to the hotel, at 11am. Our room was already ready for us, which was great to be able to get changed before we went back out. We had a family room, which was really spacious and luxurious.

Nothing was a problem to any staff, they were all very polite and helpful.

We ordered room service on the Saturday night which was lovely food and plenty of it! Again, on the Sunday morning the breakfast didn't disapoint, we had everything we could imagine offered to us, muffins, pancakes, cereals, full english, all very well presented.

The hotel is very well situated in May Fair for shopping, restaurants and the parks etc.

Would I recommend to my friends? Absolutely! Would I stay again? Already looking to book for March! Wouldn't stay anywhere else now!

Room Tip: Family rooms are really spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for your kind review and I was pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Your comments were a pleasure to read and I am just so delighted you had such a nice time and will be returning in March!
We very much look forward to welcoming you back then.
With best wishes,
Anthony
Anthony Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed at the Mayfair for my sisters friends hen do, was given complimentry cocktails on arrival & the rooms where lovely & spacious. Really enjoyed our stay also had the the buffet breakfast with a lot of varity of food. The staff & service was excellent would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for your review.
I was delighted to hear the "Hen do" was a success and pleased to hear you all enjoyed your stay with us so much.
We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
We my best wishes to you all.
Anthony
Anthony Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Free wifi. Short walk to London Big Bus (Sight seeing) first stop. Sainsbury supermarket is just opposite hotel . Marks & Spencer is further down the corner . Short walk to many good restaurants and designer shopping. The Family Room is nicely designed with spacious bathroom. Service is pretty good. Love it!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for your review.
I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and found the local facilities useful.
We do hope to welcome you back again soon.
With my best wishes,
Anthony
Anthony Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The May Fair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The May Fair Hotel

Address: Stratton Street, London W1J 8LT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in London
#40 Spa Hotel in London
#125 Business Hotel in London
#144 Family Hotel in London
#155 Luxury Hotel in London
#166 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The May Fair Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious May Fair Hotel is located in sophisticated Mayfair, resurgent again as London's true luxury quarter. The May Fair puts you in a peaceful spot right in the heart of the West End, between all the great parks, theatres, galleries and attractions of London and with direct underground links to Canary Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TravelClick, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Escapio, LondonMarketing.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The May Fair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
May Fair London
Mayfair Hotel London
May Fair Hotel London
The May Fair Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The May Fair Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.