We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating Tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of British Library

British Library
96 Euston Road | St Pancras, London NW1 2DB, England
+44 1937 546060
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 2,327 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Owner description: Open to all visitors seven-days-a-week, this superb building by Sir Colin St John Wilson offers events, special exhibitions and a Treasures Gallery that displays over 200 items, including Magna Carta, a Gutenberg Bible and lyrics by the Beatles.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Fascinating Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We went on the 10.30am tour which I thoroughly recommend. You get to see behind the scenes of the British Library and to understand how they keep and catalogue a copy of every book ever published. Magazines and newspapers too. You see inside the Reading Rooms and are left at the end to explore the permanent exhibition on your own.

There's a cafe, a restaurant, plenty of toilets, a large cloakroom and a very nice bookshop.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    640
    254
    49
    13
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Council Bluffs, Iowa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Treasuries of the British Library”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This exhibit was amazing! Everything from the Magna Carta to the Beatles, from the Gutenberg Bible to Jane Austen's Writing Desk. Handel's MESSIAH original manuscript, etc. If you have an interest in any version of the written language, you'll find it represented here.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Terrible Treatment of Customers”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I forgot to leave this review until now. What a tragedy, that the most amazing collection of treasures and exhibitions are lorded over by indifferent, aggressive security staff. My partner and I were harrassed, simply because he stepped outside for a photo 1 minute to six. They yelled at him, acted like he;d stolen something and forced us to leave. The leader of security tried to say deceptive things, and we've sent in a complaint, only to receive a form letter of apology they the certainly keep on file. Funny how my taxes help fund these hostile places. I'd rather pay an entrance fee and be treated with general respect.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
285 reviews 285 reviews
105 attraction reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Magnificent Exhibition”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The exhibition of manuscripts is really wonderful. It is the type of exhibition that really deserves several visits. A special exhibition was also being offered but for our first visit for years we went only to the permanent exhibtion this time. I'll fit in another trip before the special exhibition finishes as, going by the standard of what I saw, it is probably well worth it.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Too much to fit in!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We visited the BL to see the Mughal exhibition - very informative and well-displayed though I would have liked to see a few more artefacts as well as the paintings and illustrated books - and had time to fit in a fleeting visit to the Treasures room - aptly named because it contains many fascinating original books and manuscripts. This was our first visit and we will certainly return on a future trip to London to see more of the permanent exhibitions - and they're free!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed British Library also viewed

 

Been to British Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage British Library, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.