We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Savoy

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Savoy to your Saves list
The Savoy
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Strand, London WC2R 0EU, England (Charing Cross / Trafalgar Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% OFF SEASONAL SAVER
Ranked #51 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

This hotel lives up to it's long reputation for fantastic service and style. My family and I spent a couple of days there to celebrate our 40th Wedding Anniversary. The welcome was fantastic, the rooms perfect and the service what you would expect of one of the truly great hotels of the world. Without prompting they realised it was a special time for us and pushed the boat out to ensure we had a memorable stay. Many thanks to the Savoy and the Fairmont Group. I cannot recommend this hotel more highly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiaran_MacDonald, Managing Director at The Savoy, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly, congratulations and I am delighted to hear that you celebrated your anniversary at The Savoy. It is great to hear that you enjoyed The Savoy experience. I look forward to sharing your positive feedback with my team who always appreciate kind words regarding their service and hope we are able to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Kiaran MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,759
    344
    149
    68
    60
See reviews for
454
1,143
90
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

My sister and I booked to take our mummy to the Savoy for a mothers day treat this year. Upon arrival we were told to wait in the foyer area by a lovely accommodating waiter whom took our coats to the cloak room. Around 10 minutes later we were seated, and were really taken care of. We had champagne to start with and had the traditional afternoon tea which consisted of a stand filled with mixed flavoured sandwiches, scones and some finger cakes with the most amazing yummy clotted cream and strawberry jam. The great thing about it was that they were constantly refilling the stand. My mum and sister had English breakfast teas and i had the jasmine tea which was delightful. The staff really were incredible and couldn't do enough for us. Mummy really enjoyed it and we will definitely be going back

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiaran_MacDonald, Managing Director at The Savoy, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on The Savoy Afternoon Tea Experience. It’s wonderful to hear your very positive feedback regarding the service and food. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Kiaran MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I absolutely loved this hotel! From the moment we arrived we were greeted by extremely friendly and helpful staff. We arrived very early and a very helpful lady Kate ensured we were able check in. We are at the Savoy grill; The food was amazing and we had a few cocktails at the American bar; fab! We smiled for our entire stay! The hotel is luxurious and service impeccable! Amazing hotel in the heart if London.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiaran_MacDonald, Managing Director at The Savoy, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. It’s a pleasure to hear you enjoyed a say at our iconic hotel, dinner at the Grill and cocktails in the American Bar. I look forward to sharing your review with the team and hope we are able to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Kairan MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

From the moment we pulled up to the door to the minute we regrettably left the Savoy we had a perfect experience. The staff is gracious, professional and friendly. Our room was absolutely lovely. Very well maintained and very spacious with a lovely sitting room. Air-conditioning worked perfectly (very important to my husband). Bathroom was well appointed with very nice amenities. Service was excellent at every level. The common areas are beautiful and the history of the Savoy is something not to be missed. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: If you have an issues with stairs make sure you ask for a room on the part of the floor where you wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiaran_MacDonald, Managing Director at The Savoy, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Your comments are praise indeed! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed a stay at The Savoy, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Kiaran MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We had a party at the Savoy a few months ago.The ladies toilet facilities were closed for guests due to drain blockage.We had to go all the way up to the next level so we could use toilet.Accordingly to one of the staff that I spoke to this happens quite often-:)
Food that was served that evening wasn't great and the event manager on duty wasn't at his best as he was unable to sort our problem with cold food that was served to us.He was appalling and unsure of himself(at least his English was satisfactory though with a strong German accent).

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiaran_MacDonald, Managing Director at The Savoy, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are truly sorry to read your comments and share in your disappointment for the service you experienced on this occasion. Whilst it was very unfortunate that the ladies toilets were taken out of service on this occasion, I am pleased to report that our technical team were able to quickly rectify the issue. I was disappointed to hear your comments with regards to the food on this particular evening, and have shared your feedback with the chef and events team for their review. Whilst your feedback is very much appreciated, please be assured that your experience is not representative of our usual standards of service. We very much hope that you will give us another chance to show you a true Savoy Experience.

Kind regards,

Kiaran MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

A lovely hotel, lovely room that was a double upgrade to a suite. Check in was in the lobby and we were escorted to our room. The view was fabulous, great bathroom with soaps and creams and everything you would need and a very comfortabe bed! However....no bottles of water until after 6pm which I found very poor indeed as water should always be provided. The service in the restaurant, The Savoy Grill, was very poor, the waiter took ages to take our order and then ages to serve our food. He was very apologetic but we were going to the theatre so were on a time schedule. Not impressive for this hotel. The service in the bar and at at the breakfast the next morning was very good. All the staff seemed to know what had happened the night before and were very attentive, friendly and couldn't do enough for us.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiaran_MacDonald, Managing Director at The Savoy, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Savoy. Whilst I was pleased to hear you enjoyed the upgrade and views from the suite, I recognise that there were some inconsistencies during your visit that needed addressing internally. I was disappointed to hear of your experience at The Grill, which is managed by Gordon Ramsay Holdings. Please rest assured I have shared your feedback with the team for their review. It was however reassuring to hear that you had a positive experience at the bar and breakfast the following morning.

Kind regards,

Kiaran MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I was fortunate enough to spend one night at the Savoy. From the moment you step out of the car, we had one sent by the hotel, to the gentleman welcoming us to the hotel, great experience! The staff we encountered was very friendly and welcoming and happy to accommodate any request. The hotel is beautiful and the room we stayed in had extremely comfortable beds and the rain shower head and heated towel rack in the bathroom were nice perks. We treated ourselves to afternoon tea, and weren't disappoint.

Expensive, yes, but it's a worthwhile treat and so enjoyable!

Room Tip: treat yourself to afternoon tea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiaran_MacDonald, Managing Director at The Savoy, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. It’s wonderful to hear your positive feedback with regards to The Savoy experience. I look forward to sharing your review with the team and hope we are able to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Kiaran MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy

Address: The Strand, London WC2R 0EU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Charing Cross / Trafalgar Square , Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in London
#34 Business Hotel in London
#37 Romantic Hotel in London
#42 Luxury Hotel in London
#54 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Savoy 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Savoy Hotel London
Savoy London
Savoy Hotel London
The Savoy London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Savoy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.